We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Trip for Us...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast
7810 Wells Valley Drive, Maryville, TN 37801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Dream Trip for Us...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

There are no words to describe what a wonderful place Sweet Berries B & B is. As soon as we walked into the door Louise was so welcoming and genuine. Immediately John and I knew we had chosen the perfect place for our little get away. Our room was a perfect fit for us...everything from the décor to the linens...Darrell and Louise added so many perks from making us feel right at home, nice easy conversation, to helping us plan our days in the Smokey Mountains. The Tail, Kayaking, just sitting on the decks sipping wine, visiting local restaurants for dinner and soaking in the beautiful views. Louise's cooking is probably the best we have ever experienced at a B & B...served with incredible detail and loving care. On our last day when we were saying our "goodbyes" it felt like we were saying "goodbye" to family.. that is what wonderful hosts Louise & Darrell were. Thank you so much for making our trip so special for us. We highly recommend Sweet Berries! We are already talking about our next visit. X0 ~ Wendy & John

Room Tip: All the rooms offered where lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetberriesbb, Owner at Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi Wendy, thanks for the very flattering remarks. Louise and I loved having you stay with us during your vacation. We like to entertain and we make sure everyone feels welcomed and special. We treat all of our guest with respect and appreciate hearing that you felt that way too! The kayak rental is a new activity for our guest and we were glad to hear you and John enjoyed a great time on Lake Tellico. Please stop in if you come this way again.
Take care,
Darrell and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Overall an excellent visit.
Several B&Bs said they do not accept young children. Sweetberries was recommended by friend who owns property in Maryville. The location was away from the crowds, near the Tail of the Dragon and a moderate drive to the mountains. Breakfast will keep you going past lunch. Very unique and well presented meals. If I had a critique, and this is getting nitpicky I would change only one breakfast meal. All 3 courses were very sweet, my son gave Louise's meals 2 thumbs up (he is 4) and does not even give mom 2 thumbs up.
They do grace at each meal, it is not something we do so not to make anyone feel to uncomfortable I asked Darrel to lead it. It is his house and his tradition, we were thankful to have such nice hosts, it was a non-issue. We plan to go back next year for a little longer. Oh yeah, buy their coffee, bold and smooth.

Room Tip: We brought an air mattress for the kids, it leaked. Louise had an extra twin mattress we put on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetberriesbb, Owner at Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello again, thank you for leaving a wonderful review.
Louise and I both enjoyed the company and the life stories we shared. We also appreciate the dedication and service our armed forces commit to our country's way of life. We enjoyed your children and always try to make their time with us a blessing to all. Please come to see us again when you get the time.
Best wishes and happy holidays,
Louise and Darrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. It was a pleasure seeing Darrell and Louise again. They are excellent host. Louise makes the most amazing breakfast and desserts. They treat you like family and I just love that. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We will be back to take Sadie for a walk. God bless my friends.

Room Tip: You want go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetberriesbb, Owner at Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi ya'll, it was fun to see you again. Thanks for the nice review.
Louise and I always like to hear from guest who have been here a few times. It lets us know that you value your recreation time and we are making a positive experience with the time you spend with us. If you ride through our area please stop by for a cup of coffee and a piece buttermilk pie.
Until our trails meet again,
Darrell and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We returned from our second visit to Sweetberries just a couple of weeks ago. We had only stayed once before, this past summer, but when we arrived this last visit, we felt that we were being greeted by family. Louise and Darrell are caring, outgoing, welcoming hosts, and we were made to feel right at home...kind of like visiting a favorite friend or sister's house. If we hadn't had a little business to conduct while at Sweetberries this past visit, we would have loved to have stayed in bed all day to read a good book. The Tree Top bed is awesome!

Breakfast is huge, and the nightly desserts are amazing. Darrell prays for the morning meal, and the breakfast conversation is always entertaining and lively. Louise is so friendly and concerned about the well being of others. Her food quality and presentation is wonderful. Even the dinnerware is changed every day so that guests experience a different "look" each day.

We plan to move to the area in a few years, and look forward to getting to know Louise and Darrell better through the years to come. We think you are both very special! We can't wait to move up your way!

God Bless,
Ellery & Beverly

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Tree Top and the Enchantment, and really like both rooms. The bed in the Tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetberriesbb, Owner at Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you Beverly for such a pleasant review. We are always happy to see people return to our little place in the woods. It keeps Louise and I focused on what is really important in our lives. We enjoyed having you and Ellery spend some time with us again. We are excited for you that you will be moving here in the future and look forward to spending more time with you two.
God Bless,
Louise and Darrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We do not travel often, but when we do we have been trying to look for something nicer. We are tired of going someplace with a reputable name and finding out it is below average. This is absolutely not true of SweetBerries. This bed & breakfast out performed ALL of our expectations. This place is definitely a hidden gem of the Smokey Mountain area. What makes this place special is the beautiful accommodations, lovely views, gourmet style breakfast, and closeness to attractions. Although the one thing that makes this stay at a B&B exceptional are the homeowners. Louise and Darrell (and Sadie their dog) are without a doubt the nicest people we ever met in a B&B stay. They truly make you feel at home and very comfortable. We want to go back to this area someday and we usually like to try different places, but I know we will be back here as I can't imagine being treated any nicer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetberriesbb, Owner at Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello again,
thank you for your kind words. Louise and I enjoy providing a clean comfortable room and a wonderful breakfast for each of our guest. What really brings people back though is the warm conversations at the table and sharing of our life stories. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay and now have another slice of life to share with others along the way.
Have a Blessed Day,
Louise and Darrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, KY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sweet Berries Bed and Breakfast

Al and I enjoy the outdoors, nature and wildlife, away from hectic tourist areas. We seek quiet and relaxing places where we can renew ourselves. We found it all in this quiet, restful area of the Great Smokey Mountains; so reflective of God’s awesome creations, yet, we were in close proximity to a wide variety of activities easily within a day trip.
We have frequented B & B’s in a number of states but never have we encountered such warm, friendly hospitality as that provided by Darrel and Louise Johnson. Never have we been so pampered! The gourmet breakfasts were absolutely delicious – just so much one could forget lunch – and Louise even boxed the left overs for you. Breakfast included a large pancake or muffin, fruit, gourmet egg dishes, juice, and choice of drink. . My favorite breakfast item was Louise’s dark chocolate muffins. A wide variety of coffees, teas and soft drinks were available to choose from either in the dining room or upstairs in the living area. A selection of snacks was also available in the living area. In the evening a delicious surprise desert was served.
Everything about Sweet Berries was well thought out with attention to every detail and every consideration for the guests comfort. Our room (Treetop) had an excellent view of the sunrise over the mountains with a little dining area at the window and a refrigerator.
The large shared living area was well stocked with books, CDs’, DVDs’ and entertainment options.
The huge front lawn had a fire pit with wood and seating and enough trees for the feel of camping outdoors. We found a wonderful porch with a comfortable porch swing just perfect for reading and relaxing. The kitchen herb garden planted next to the porch offered up tantalizing aromas. A grill and outdoor dining area were also provided and necessary dining ware could be provided for the asking.
As if that were not enough, walking trails, trout fishing, kayaking and scenic drives were all around Sweet Berries.
In conclusion, if you are looking for a quiet relaxing get-away with good Christian hospitality and you want to experience the quiet outdoors, Sweet Berries is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetberriesbb, Owner at Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We always like to hear what we are doing well to make our guest feel welcomed and looked after. We enjoyed having you and Al with us and love sharing our life stories with fellow travelers. Louise and I look forward to seeing you two again, and please feel free to tell family and friends about your stay with us.
Best wishes and happy holidays,
darrell and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Louise and Darrell made us feel like family.
love Louise conversations at breakfast time, the breakfast time delicious.
love the smell of the clean sheets. Room is clean, spacious .
after the big breakfast, no need to eat lunch :) we will be back.
will recommend to all our friends and family.
coffee ,delicious... Iris and Bruce.

Room Tip: rooms are clean, bed comfortable, sheets smells really good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetberriesbb, Owner at Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Iris,
good to hear from you and thank you for your positive review. I am happy that you and Bruce enjoyed your stay with us at Sweet Berries. Louise and I like to think of our guest as part of the family and make sure you are comfortable and pleased with your accommodations at all times. Please stop by and see us again if you pass this way again.
Best Regards,
Louise and Darrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7810 Wells Valley Drive, Maryville, TN 37801
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Great Smoky Mountains of Eastern Tennessee at Sweet Berries B&B and make your vacation a treasured family memory. Your Innkeepers, Louise and Darrell Johnson, have prepared every detail to ensure that your vacation is a special event that you will long remember. Your experience starts with a spacious room, a large comfortable bed, and a spectacular gourmet breakfast. Sweet Berries Inn is nestled in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains with 11 forested acres, beautiful landscaping and stunning views of Wells Valley. Easy access to Smoky Mountain National Park and Tellico Lake for hiking, fishing, boating, horseback riding and internationally famous touring of the Tail of the Dragon, Cherohala Skyway and the Blueridge Parkway. At days end come back, put your feet up and enjoy all the comforts of home.A three course gourmet breakfast is served at 8:00 am with a hot beverage and juice, homemade muffin/breakfast bread, in-season fresh fruit/berries, and an enticing entree. For the early riser your coffee or hot tea can be enjoyed while taking in the scenic view from the second story deck. With advanced notice we will try to accommodate any dietary restrictions. After your busy day, enjoy a complimentary evening snack and beverage to help you relax before bedtime.On-site activities include evening campfires (on request), walking through our 11 acres of forested woodlands, star gazing, birding or relaxing on one of our porch swings. Enjoy edible landscaping in season, which include blueberry, strawberry, blackberry, raspberry, apple and pear fruit trees. Covered parking for motorcycles. KAYAK rental available to our guest at reduced rates, which includes a drop and pickup service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list