We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Honeymoon Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Gap Retreat

Save Saved
You added Butterfly Gap Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Butterfly Gap Retreat
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Honeymoon Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I would highly suggest this retreat. My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The cabin was more beautiful than the pictures show (if that is even possible) and the shower...what I wouldn't give to have that shower... Anyway, we stayed in #332 which was very private. As other guests have mentioned, the breakfasts were spectacular. However, what my husband and I really enjoyed the most was that we avoided doing "processed tourist" stuff because Maryville is not nearly as big of a tourist destination as the nearby Sevierville. We loved everything about our stay and are hoping to make it a yearly trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Butterfly Gap Retreat while visiting my husband's boyhood home (Maryville, TN) and family. We stayed in Cottage #332- beautifully decorated, comfortable and private. Loved the 2-person shower and the floor to ceiling windows. So quiet and private. The breakfasts were awesome and Becky and her family are very warm and welcoming. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels and B&B's but never have we fallen in love with a place like we did this one. Butterfly Gap is a jewel hidden in the mountains east of Maryville, TN. The 5 cottages are luxurious, unusually designed and very comfortable. The abundance of windows made it feel like we were all alone in the woods. Privacy was a welcome relief compared to a hotel in a busy city.
The hosts are very friendly and treated us like they had known us for years. They brought our huge, delicious, fresh breakfasts to us each morning. Breakfasts were so large that we often ate the leftovers for lunch. The kitchen is well-stocked with dishes, etc. The huge 5-head shower in cottage #332 was astounding! Plus, there is a large jetted tub if you prefer a bath to a shower. The screened porch overlooks a mountain stream which will lull you into a nice nap on the pull-out double bed. If you can't relax here, you may need to see a doctor!
We were so relaxed in Cottage 332 that we couldn't stand to leave when planned so we extended our stay for an additional day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Butterfly Gap was beautiful. Close to everything from dining to Cades Coves - We just returned from a 4 night stay. The hosts are all wonderful - helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast - as others have stated is fantastic and bountiful - we had no need to worry about lunch as breakfast was plenty for both meals. Our cabin - 320 was well appointed, clean, bright and airy with a wonderful fireplace, two balconies a huge tub and large shower with two shower heads - one a hand held (love that)
We watched the most amazing sunsets from the top of property -
And as a retired couple - we really appreciated the 'no children' policy.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For anyone looking for peace and quiet, great service, excellent breakfast, and a unique stay, visit Butterfly Gap Retreat.

A while back, Southern Living had an article featuring Butterfly Gap Retreat, and I clipped it out and placed it in my files. Knowing we were going to Nashville, Tennessee for a wedding, my husband and I booked a couple of days at this unique Bed and Breakfast as a nice break in our traveling schedule. We stayed in Cottage 142 which is a round, almost entirely glass enclosed structure. Apparently, the inspiration for this cottage was a weeping willow. My husband and I enjoyed the charming interior as well as the exterior which offered three different sitting areas. We thoroughly enjoyed the total privacy this location offered. The bed was very comfortable (the bamboo sheets were fabulously soft) and the ability to lie in bed and have an outdoor view was special.

Each morning, a scrumptious breakfast was promptly delivered along with carafes of juice and milk. Waiting for coffee is unncessary since it is already in the cottage along with a coffee maker. The cottages are equipped with a kitchen and if you desire, you can make your own lunch and/or dinner.

Becky and her family went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and were eager to make our stay memorable. Becky is exactly the type of person I would love to call my friend. She is energetic, quick witted, and downright fun. The only thing that would have made our trip even better (if that was at all possible) would have been a trip to visit Becky's llama. We told her that would be a must on our next visit.

My husband and I very much want to return to Butterfly Gap and experience the setting in different seasons. We even like the idea of staying for a week and trying Cottage 220 for half the time and then return to Cottage 142 the last half. Keep in mind, each cottage is unique in style and decor. Also, the cottages are not close to each other. Breakfast is an experience and plentiful in size.

Butterfly Gap Retreat....a jewel in Tennessee!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhills, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

this was our second time staying at butterfly gap, and won't be the last.First time (10/12) we did the tourist thing. Went to cades cove riding bikes( thought it was when they had trail closed to traffic for awhile, but its only in summer) gatlinburg, smokies, maryville bike trail( got sidetracked wasn't fun ) packed, and planned to much in for two days.
totally surprised when we first pulled into property and saw how beautiful it was! took a bottle of wine and watched the sunset from the overlook.clear night all the stars and could see airplanes going to tyson/mcghee airport. we slept in the most comfortable and fabulous bed ever.can't say enough about breakfast. we stayed in cottage 320 which has a screened in porch, deck off the master bedroom, and washer/dryer
this time we did it right. stayed on the property most of the time. hiked the trails saw the baby lambs, just spent a lot of great time together as we celebrated our 17th anniversary.we did go to maryville for lunch and dinner vienna coffee house is fabulous!! one lunch i went to "the market" in maryville, to get carryout salads for us, and ate on the front patio area. we stayed in cottage 142. we didn't go to overlook as we were able to watch sunsetting from our back patio area( we could have seen it from the bed as it is a wall of windows facing out.)
you are not a guest here . you are treated as if you are old friends. what i really like is the journal. seeing who else stayed there, what they did, where they were from, and the reason for being there.there are many repeat visitors, and we are part of that group. can't wait to go back again
another highlight for us is visiting clinton tn and their antique shops. there are about 20 in their historic district. clinton is about 10 miles north of knoxville off I-75

Room Tip: cottage 142 is high up and cleared out somewhat perfect for pulling up a lounge chair and gazing at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in home 142..Wow! It was like coming home! We brought our own food. We ate, we slept, we watched TV, we ate, we slept. It was a beautiful long weekend. The breakfasts were wonderful! I can't say enough about the great hospitality from Becky and Laura. This place is #1 on our list and will be a must-visit for years to come!

Room Tip: Home 142 is very modern, spacious and has heated floors! All glass, but very very private. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly Gap Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Gap Retreat

Also Known As:
Butterfly Gap Retreat Hotel
Butterfly Gap Retreat Hotel Maryville
Address: 4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly Gap Retreat 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Butterfly Gap Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Gap Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.