We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Gap Retreat

Save Saved
You added Butterfly Gap Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Butterfly Gap Retreat
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Nashville,Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a must stay retreat! Butterfly Gap offers 6 unique state of the art cottages. It's like a bed and breakfast, except its more private because you have your own cottage. Breakfast is delivered to your cottage. It is fabulous & ample (no lunch required)! You can truly rest and get away from the rat race. No one bugs you here, unless you need something.
Our first stay was for our anniversary and the second was strictly to getaway and rest.
You can enjoy private hiking trails, modern walk in showers, jetted tubs, fireplaces, gorgeous views, a stocked lake, and cottage 332 has an additional outdoor bed in the screened back porch. It's really cool!

We have stayed in cottages 332 & 142. We will definitely return! This is the only bed and breakfast that we have ever returned to. It is well worth the price for a couple of days of quiet, private, peaceful relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved our stay at Butterfly Gap! This is a beautiful place with wonderful hosts. The guest houses are private, clean and modern. There is hiking, a small lake, and lots of relaxing. Breakfast is provided everyday and it is wonderful!! Butterfly Gap is located about 8 miles south or southwest of Maryville which is a nice clean city of about 27,000 people. There is a decent selection of restaurants, shopping and conveniences. If you stay here you are approximately 16 miles north of Townsend which has access into the National Park. Both Gatlingburg and Pigeon Forge are about a 35 minute drive. We really enjoyed our stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My son & daughter-in-laws wedding was at Butterfly Gap a couple weeks back and it was beautiful! My husband and I live in California so trying to plan a rehearsal dinner was not easy from far away. We decided to have it at Butterfly Gap Retreat. Laura, Mandy and Becky made it so easy to plan from afar. From using a caterer from their list (which we loved) to responding to every question, to helping me with details so that the venue would look different for the wedding... it couldn't of gone any smoother and we could not have been happier! Their enthusiasm and love for what they do is evident in every detail! The property is beautiful and the buildings are unique which made it extra special! The rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception was wonderful and my son and daughter-in-law also stayed in one of the cottages on their wedding night, which was a perfect end to the wedding. The setting helped to make the pictures we have seen so far, spectacular! If you plan on staying here or having your wedding here, it will definitely be memorable and unique!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We will return to this wonderful retreat. The house was cozy and perfect for two. The hosts were so nice and hospitable. The best part though was the breakfasts! So much food you really do not need to eat again until evening. Some of the best breakfast food we have ever had! Great place to relax and get away from it all!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just returned amazing location in the foothills of the Smokys -- peaceful, stunning views, great accomodations and delightful hosts. We couldn't have chosen a better retreat for our 30th anniversary. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This past weekend my wonderful husband and I got married at Butterfly Gap Retreat! Every little girl dreams of their wedding day but few can say their actually wedding was as wonderful as their dream. I can honestly say after my experience at Butterfly Gap Retreat that my wedding truly exceeded every dream I ever had about the day! The venue was indescribably beautiful! The unique architecture of the ceremony and reception locations invoked multiple comments from guests and provided for excellent backdrops to pictures. My husband and I loved looking out over the lake with the mountains in the distance as we said our vows. The opening of the reception hall walls not only provided a wonderful atmosphere for our reception but also allowed us one of the coolest entrances/exits we could dream of. Not only was the location absolutely beautiful, but the sweet, big hearted ladies who run the show at Butterfly Gap were amazing!! They were not only helpful in the planning, setup and take down, but were also amazing during the whole wedding and reception. They bent over backwards to provided as stress-free a wedding as possible! They gave suggestions when asked, to the point that a wedding planner wasn't even necessary. While this wonderful women work most of the time with adults (Butterfly Gap is an adult retreat to allow for a peaceful getaway) they were absolutely amazing with the children who attended the wedding. They entertained multiple children during the ceremony to ensure everyone was happy and keep the crying to a minimum during the ceremony. The ladies were present at the reception hall and as a bride I can tell you I never felt they intruded on any of the events. As the bride I was so thankful for all of their help I insisted they enjoy themselves and partake in the refreshments and buffet dinner. I do not know if they actually did or not, but even if they I don't feel like that was enough to thank them for all of their help! They definitely went above and beyond their contractual requirements!!! We had so many guest compliment us on the venue we chose and inform us they would be back!!

The night of our wedding my husband and I stayed in cabin 320. We absolutely loved it! We will definitely be visiting again for anniversaries and any other reason we can possibly come up with to make it back there. The cabin was seclude and absolutely peaceful after the wonderful whirlwind of the day! The morning breakfast that was delivered to our door was to die for!! On each plate were two quiches (homemade), a extra large cinnamon roll (homemade) and fresh fruit.

We absolutely loved Butterfly Gap Retreat as a wedding ceremony site, reception venue, picture perfect backdrop, and romantic wedding night location. We also love the ladies of Butterfly Gap and feel like they are close friends after the wonderful experience we had with them. Thank you so much for a dream come true wedding weekend!!!

Room Tip: Enjoy the peaceful location and definitely make it up to the lookout point!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is magnificent, can't wait to return. Becky, Mandy, Laura and spouses were there to make sure everything was perfect during our stay and for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding. The cottages are architectural masterpieces that were exciting to stay in and immaculate. Homemade ice cream awaited us in the freezer upon arrival and homemade breakfasts (better than any restaurant) was delivered to your table every morning. We had 4 cottages for our family members and we all agreed that this was the greatest place with a first class staff.. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Each cottage was unique with its own personality. All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly Gap Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Gap Retreat

Address: 4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly Gap Retreat 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Butterfly Gap Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Gap Retreat Hotel Maryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Gap Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.