We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Gap Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Butterfly Gap Retreat to your Saves list
Butterfly Gap Retreat
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My son & daughter-in-laws wedding was at Butterfly Gap a couple weeks back and it was beautiful! My husband and I live in California so trying to plan a rehearsal dinner was not easy from far away. We decided to have it at Butterfly Gap Retreat. Laura, Mandy and Becky made it so easy to plan from afar. From using a caterer from their list (which we loved) to responding to every question, to helping me with details so that the venue would look different for the wedding... it couldn't of gone any smoother and we could not have been happier! Their enthusiasm and love for what they do is evident in every detail! The property is beautiful and the buildings are unique which made it extra special! The rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception was wonderful and my son and daughter-in-law also stayed in one of the cottages on their wedding night, which was a perfect end to the wedding. The setting helped to make the pictures we have seen so far, spectacular! If you plan on staying here or having your wedding here, it will definitely be memorable and unique!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We will return to this wonderful retreat. The house was cozy and perfect for two. The hosts were so nice and hospitable. The best part though was the breakfasts! So much food you really do not need to eat again until evening. Some of the best breakfast food we have ever had! Great place to relax and get away from it all!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just returned amazing location in the foothills of the Smokys -- peaceful, stunning views, great accomodations and delightful hosts. We couldn't have chosen a better retreat for our 30th anniversary. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This past weekend my wonderful husband and I got married at Butterfly Gap Retreat! Every little girl dreams of their wedding day but few can say their actually wedding was as wonderful as their dream. I can honestly say after my experience at Butterfly Gap Retreat that my wedding truly exceeded every dream I ever had about the day! The venue was indescribably beautiful! The unique architecture of the ceremony and reception locations invoked multiple comments from guests and provided for excellent backdrops to pictures. My husband and I loved looking out over the lake with the mountains in the distance as we said our vows. The opening of the reception hall walls not only provided a wonderful atmosphere for our reception but also allowed us one of the coolest entrances/exits we could dream of. Not only was the location absolutely beautiful, but the sweet, big hearted ladies who run the show at Butterfly Gap were amazing!! They were not only helpful in the planning, setup and take down, but were also amazing during the whole wedding and reception. They bent over backwards to provided as stress-free a wedding as possible! They gave suggestions when asked, to the point that a wedding planner wasn't even necessary. While this wonderful women work most of the time with adults (Butterfly Gap is an adult retreat to allow for a peaceful getaway) they were absolutely amazing with the children who attended the wedding. They entertained multiple children during the ceremony to ensure everyone was happy and keep the crying to a minimum during the ceremony. The ladies were present at the reception hall and as a bride I can tell you I never felt they intruded on any of the events. As the bride I was so thankful for all of their help I insisted they enjoy themselves and partake in the refreshments and buffet dinner. I do not know if they actually did or not, but even if they I don't feel like that was enough to thank them for all of their help! They definitely went above and beyond their contractual requirements!!! We had so many guest compliment us on the venue we chose and inform us they would be back!!

The night of our wedding my husband and I stayed in cabin 320. We absolutely loved it! We will definitely be visiting again for anniversaries and any other reason we can possibly come up with to make it back there. The cabin was seclude and absolutely peaceful after the wonderful whirlwind of the day! The morning breakfast that was delivered to our door was to die for!! On each plate were two quiches (homemade), a extra large cinnamon roll (homemade) and fresh fruit.

We absolutely loved Butterfly Gap Retreat as a wedding ceremony site, reception venue, picture perfect backdrop, and romantic wedding night location. We also love the ladies of Butterfly Gap and feel like they are close friends after the wonderful experience we had with them. Thank you so much for a dream come true wedding weekend!!!

Room Tip: Enjoy the peaceful location and definitely make it up to the lookout point!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is magnificent, can't wait to return. Becky, Mandy, Laura and spouses were there to make sure everything was perfect during our stay and for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding. The cottages are architectural masterpieces that were exciting to stay in and immaculate. Homemade ice cream awaited us in the freezer upon arrival and homemade breakfasts (better than any restaurant) was delivered to your table every morning. We had 4 cottages for our family members and we all agreed that this was the greatest place with a first class staff.. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Each cottage was unique with its own personality. All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Yesterday, we celebrated the marriage of our daughter and son-in-law at Butterfly Gap Retreat. Throughout the planning process, the entire family was kind, caring and extremely flexible. The day went without a wrinkle and everyone in attendance raved about the charm and beauty of Butterfly Gap Retreat.

Mandy, Laura and Becky could have provided impeccable service within the letter of their contract. However, they provided exemplary service that rose well beyond the limits of the contract. They contacted vendors to coordinate delivery times. They allowed us to deliver items for the reception after the rehearsal. They helped our florist dress the tables. They helped us onload our cars. If we had a need, they found a way to fill the void. Their website has vendor recommendations. We used several of these vendors and have no regrets.

On the wedding day, they were everywhere offering a helping hand. No matter how thoroughly a wedding is planned, there are always last minute issues. All of the women from Butterfly Gap offered suggestions and solutions to each minor crisis. They even made sure the bride's train was perfect before whe walked down the aisle. During the ceremony, Becky and Mandy even took on the role of baby charmer.

During the reception, they coordinated with the caterer and were a subtle presence throughout the evening. They made sure that everyone was comfortable and accomodated every need. As there were several small children present, a changing table was set up in the ladies' room for the comfort and convenience of the families. They laughed and cried with the every emotion of the day.

Several guests stayed on the property for the weekend. They all raved about the cottages and property. The breakfasts are amazing as is the pint of homemade ice cream that greets guest. Each cottage is unique and has its' own special charm.

We were exhausted at the end of the evening. The idea of cleaning up was daunting. Becky and Mandy insisted that we go home and come back in this morning. When we arrived this morning, everything was neatly packed and waiting for us at the door. The family helped us load our cars.

We have two daughters that are both now happily married. If we had a third daughter, Butterfly Gap would be the only choice for her wedding too.

Thank you all for making a magical day absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Any cottage is charming, unique and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently had our son & daughter-in-laws wedding at Butterfly Gap. We could not have been happier. The property is magnificent, the guest houses and buildings are unique and beautiful. But what impressed us most is the attention and TLC that this wonderful family showed us during our stay. They made the wedding and reception flow so smoothly and
everything went along without any problems. Becky got up early every morning and made us a
delicious and creative breakfast - we truly did feel like royalty. This resort is well run and yet you feel comfortable and very much at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
7.4 mi away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
#1 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#6 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
MainStay Suites Alcoa Knoxville Airport
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#8 of 16 in Alcoa
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Knoxville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Gap Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Gap Retreat

Address: 4366 Butterfly Gap Rd, Maryville, TN 37803
Location: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly Gap Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Butterfly Gap Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Gap Retreat Hotel Maryville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Gap Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.