We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding at the perfect venue....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland to your Saves list
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding at the perfect venue....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I only ever bother reviewing places I love on Trip Advisor and Turnberry has to be up there with the best. We had our wedding there at the end of February and couldn't have asked for a better weekend. The function suite is new and very elegantly styled in mainly white which means none of the mismatching carpets and curtains you so often see in hotels. It also means your colour scheme for the wedding will always match the room. The public areas and some of the bedrooms have also been fairly recently refurbished and are simply beautiful. We were incredibly lucky with the weather all weekend so also got to take advantage of the views out over the sea and to Ailsa Craig. We had all of our wedding guests staying at the hotel so it was like a big house party which was such fun. The food, from the family dinner on the Friday night to the incredible wedding breakfast on the Saturday, was simply delicious and many of our guests commented on the fact they had never tasted better food at a wedding. They also accomodated the few children that were there really well with appropriate food and drinks which was fantastic for the kids and their parents!! All the staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly but professional and were quick to offer assistance where needed to keep me calm! All in all a fantastic experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Turnberry for a wedding or any occasion. They think of everything so you don't have to and make it an event to remember. Thank you to all the team who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Many thanks for choosing Turnberry to be part of your wonderful wedding day – we are delighted to see we helped to create the kind of memories which will stay with you, your family and friends forever and we will pass on your kind comments to each of our staff. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    166
    68
    39
    15
See reviews for
112
378
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed for one night with my parents and cannot fault it. The interior is stunning and bedrooms huge and again beautifully decorated (we were in one of the renovated rooms). I had a massage at the spa and it is one of the best that I have had. We did not eat at the hotel but breakfast was great, with every taste catered for.

The main thing that made this hotel stand out for us was the staff, who were fantastic. This was our first time staying here but we loved it and will definitely be back. If you are looking for a special weekend of relaxation and a bit of pampering then it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The overall look of the hotel is great, and the sense of history is there... but the actual rooms, food and service let the place down.
rooms - old fashioned, in need of renovation with big cold bathrooms. Noisy corridors and banging doors.
food - after the warnings of the 1906 quality and price, we chose to eat in the bistro/bar. Unfortunately so did everyone else, and the place was busy and the staff barely coped. waited an eternity for an expensive chicken pie and salad. Probably not as long as some though by the looks on many faces. Not enough tables so forced to crouch over coffee tables to eat. Breakfast was much better and the service was very good.
service - unless you identify yourself as a starwood preferred guest or arrive in a Bentley i think you will find the check in staff a little snooty, and irritating. No information or advice as to playing the course was offered which was annoying.
Excellent gym setup and heated pool on site which was great though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Many thanks for your comments and observations. While our breathtaking Championship Golf Courses are one of the reasons many people seek to visit, Turnberry has a great deal more to offer; from the relaxing Spa and gym which you kindly mentioned, to our exciting and varied Outdoor Activity Centre, which has a great selection of breathtaking activities and caters for all ages and levels of ability. We also have a range of Food and Beverage outlets to suit every mood, whether it is formal fine-dining, sporty clubhouse atmosphere or a more relaxed lounge-bar ambiance you require. Our team of gifted chefs are delighted to create dishes to suite anyone with specific requirements or dietary needs or will strive to create a dish for the guest who just has a special ‘something’ in mind. Our staff always welcome the chance to assist each and every one of our valued guests throughout their stay, from arrival to departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helens
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our room was above the Spa and was very spacious and clean. We ate in the 1906 restaurant both the food and service were impecable. All the staff were courteous, very helpful and nothing was too much bother. We also ate in the Ailsa bar which is less formal than the 1906 but every bit as good - again nothing was too much trouble. Raphael made up several delicious blind cocktails for my daughter.
We went horse riding twice and thoroughly enjoyed riding along the beaches. We played both the Kintyre and Ailsa courses. Both of which were in excellent condition for the time of year, therefore we were able to play the full courses with no winter tees or greens. Food in the Tappie Toorie after our golf and horse riding was again the of the same high quality. The atmosphere everywhere in the hotel is very friendly and relaxed and not too intrusive or stuffy. We relaxed each evening by going for a swim in the pool which we thoroughly enjoyed. We found the pool area and changing rooms very clean and there were unlimited towels available.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for your comments and observations. You certainly have made the most of your time here at Turnberry by discovering and indulging in the dynamic layers of rich experience offered to suit every mood and whim of our valued guests. We hope you will be able to return and add to your memories very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Play golf at Turnberry as the courses are amazing, do not stay at the over priced and over hyped hotel. Everything is dressed up to look the part but they dont back it up The 1906 restaurant is the biggest joke in the world, ive eaten in top restaurants all over the world and can not describe how this does not compare. Simply justify £32 for a Steak Diane, which came with Meat and Sauce, any veg or Potatoes were £5 each on top. so to have a full main course would have cost £42.00, and it was a small battered bit of meat in an over powering sauce...JOKE!!!,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and observations and your kind words regarding our Championship Golf Courses. We are disappointed your dining experience did not reach your expectations and would always ask that any problems with service be highlighted to our staff immediately, in order that we may take action to address the situation and ensure satisfaction for our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Rooms were the wrong designation-not good for teenage boys having to share a bed. Staff couldnt get us a decent alternative.Room was supposed to overlook "grounds"-in fact it looked over a roof with chimneys! Bar meal tiny portions very expensive my sons pasta freezing cold. Went on a golf break Sunday night to Tuesday morning but no one knew why the Ailsa course was shut on Monday. Next morning we were told it was shut every Monday in Winter! Went to the gym to be thrown out as my sons arent 16. There were no signs but it is Starwood Policy. No one else was using the gym! Went to the swimming pool no kids under 14 sign for the spa bath. When I went in there were 4 under 10s in ! At breakfast had to wait in for 10 minutes for a seat and service was awful- orange juice ran out etc. When I complained duty manger did nothing. I have been to dozens of 5* hotels and this is the worst by far.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and observations. We are disappointed to see your visit did not reach expectations and would like to apologise for any upset or inconvenience caused. We do advise that whenever possible activities are booked prior to any stay to ensure availability and avoid disappointment. During the winter months our Championship Ailsa Course does close for one day per week to allow specific servicing by our tireless green-keeping staff. This helps them to deliver and maintain the exceptional quality of a course which played in all seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at the Turnberry for a short break with my wife and children and were delighted with our stays, we spent a few nights over the week end, rooms are amazing, staff very helpful and friendly and obviousy great location near to the sea coast,Breakfast was definitely the experience we enjoyed the most , the main dinner room is amazing and overlooking the coast.

Hugues Leccia

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celifox, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Turnberry takes pride in the service and choice of experiences we provide to each of our guests and we are delighted you all enjoyed your family break. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon for more luxurious relaxation and exciting adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.