We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland to your Saves list
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SCOTLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Was given a night here as a present . A bit of hassle about my Groupon voucher which spoiled the first few hours of our stay . Dinner was superb but £5 for six chips I think was a bit expensive ! Room was lovely and bathroom was huge . I think to come here you must have a big wallet ! The hotel has been refurbished and is stunning . It's just a shame that it is just so expensive . I think there was actually a bottle of wine for £895 ! Needless to say I didn't buy it !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your most recent visit to Turnberry. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience here at the resort. I have passed your comments on to our teams- your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to Turnberry in the future where a warm indigenous welcome awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    187
    76
    42
    17
See reviews for
125
432
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday with a groupon voucher I got for my Xmas from my fiancé. The deal included a standard classic resort facing room and either dinner for two or a spa treament, both up to the value of £90. As it was my Xmas present I selfishly decided to get a treament! As did my fiancé. The girls were very proffesional and polite and the massage was lovely.

We had dinner in the 1906 which was unbelievable. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and felt really looked after. The wine list on he ipad is a nice touch. We also had drinks in the lounge. The cosmopolitans were lovely, although the drinks are a tad pricey so be prepared to shell out!

On the Sunday we were booked in for afternoon tea. Again the service was so lovely. The lady wheeled round a massive selection if twining teas and explained them very well. The afternoon tea had a lovely selection of sandwiches, pastries/cakes and a lovely shot of soup. Once we were finished with the two bottom tiers the middle one was replaced with fresh scones and banana bread. So yummy!

To conclude, we had an amazing time. The staff are so polite and nothing is too much trouble. The food was gorgeous and the so are the surroundings. We are having our wedding here in 2014 and it has cemented our opnion that it is the perfect venue!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing massage, a few drinks in the Ailsa Bar with views of some of the most picturesque views in Scotland as well as indulging in a meal in our 1906 restaurant and experiencing afternoon tea. It is an immense pleasure to hear such kind words, please be assured that I have passed these on to the teams. With your wedding taking place at the resort next year, I am sure Turnberry will hold memories which you will treasure for a lifetime. We look forward to welcoming you back where a warm welcome will await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for one night
Airconditioning in the room would not turn down from 24degrees

A number of our group had tepid showers and the duty manager's comment was that this was because of health an safety and the temperature was set because of this
What a ridiculous answer!
They need to up their game in a lot of areas to meet the expectations of their customers or they should lose their 5 star rating.
It just isn't managed well enough

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit to Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort. I was sorry to hear that on this occasion you were disappointed due to the temperature of your room and of your shower. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any upset or inconvenience caused- it is never our intention for any of our guests to leave dissatisfied. I have taken the time to investigate these issues and can confirm that the air conditioning system cannot be turned to below 24 degrees from a guest bedroom. Had you brought this to the attention of our front office team during your stay we would have been able to lower the air conditioning temperature in your room. With regards to your comments on the shower temperature, I can confirm that all of our showers are fitted with an anti-scald mechanism meaning that the water temperature will not go above 30 degrees. This is to ensure the health and safety of our guests, which I am sure you will appreciate, is of great importance to us. I would like to thank you once again to our comments which I have personally passed to our technical services manager. If you would like to discuss these points any further, then please do not hesitate to contact our executive office. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Turnberry in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Loved the 3 nights we spent at Turnberry and cannot wait to return. The hotel is lovely. Great rooms, luxurious large bathrooms with ocean views. The breakfast spread was awesome. Played 2 rounds of golf which was challenging but great fun . The swimming pool and hot tub are great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Turnberry as your destination. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are fortunate to have some of the most remarkable views in Scotland and there is no better way to enjoy them than from one of the timeless roll top baths which can be found in some of our exquisite deluxe ocean view rooms. On behalf of all Turnberry ambassadors I would like to thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Turnberry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

had an overnight stay as a christmas present from my daughter,it truly was a wonderful experience,nothing was a problem for them ,from front door to dining, they were all exellent,The only problem we had was our food was not hot ,the dinner or breakfast,when this was pointed out it was dealt with promptly and curteously I dont know if we were just unlucky or if there were other complaints.It will not stop us from visiting again,hopefully by then kitchen will have addressed this problem,perhaps heating plates would help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at Turnberry. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable visit and intend to return in the future. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with the temperature of your food. We are glad that you did bring this to our attention during your visit, meaning that we could rectify this. I have personally passed on your comments to our kitchen who will address them to ensure that this issue does not re-occur. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort where a warm welcome will await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wonderful three day stay here.we had a suite which was beautiful, just a shame that we hardly made any use of the long area. The view was amazing and we had a beautiful balcony to enjoy it from.had afternoon tea v nice but I felt the sandwich collection could have been better. Dinner in 1906 was lovely but would agree with others that service slow.overall had great time and will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at Turnberry. Offering the most enchanting views, our speciality ocean views suites really are the jewel in the crown here at the resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience- perhaps next time you can relax on your balcony, enjoying some of the most breathtaking sunsets out over the Ailsa Craig. I have personally passed on all of your comments to our teams for us to address. On behalf of all Turnberry ambassadors I wish you all the very best for 2013 and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was a 2 night stay with extended family staying in a sizeable Deluxe Ocean View room. We arrived very early at the hotel but were immediately allocated a room and my Gold SPG membership was immediately recognised and benefits were confirmed which I appreciated.

The Turnberry is a great hotel overlooking the ocean with exceptional staff. Every member of the team we encountered was helpful, chatted and made a real effort with our 16 month old son who was travelling with us.

We ate around the resort and the food & drink was of a good standard in all venues. We ate in the Tappie Toorie on the first night which had a nice casual golf club atmosphere. On the second night we ate in the 1906 restaurant where I indulged in some Escoffier-like dining - think Steak Diane and Crepes Suzette. This isn’t fine dining per se but it is good fun and makes for an entertaining evening. Breakfast consists of a large buffet of cold foods and fresh hot food which is cooked to order.

We used the pool which is a of decent size but didn’t use any further Spa facilities nor did we partake in any golf which is what this hotel is renowned for.

This is a relaxed hotel with people dressed casually at all times of the day, even in the evening, which gave it a real resort-like feel. This, coupled with the great staff, makes this place a hotel I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Ocean View rooms are large modern rooms with great views across the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your visit to the resort. We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us- it is always a pleasure to hear such positive comments. I have personally passed these to our teams. We hope to welcome you back to Turnberry in the future where a warm welcome from our ambassadors awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within an 800 acre estate with views overlooking the rugged Ayrshire coastline, Trump Turnberry Resort is an enchanting destination. Trump Turnberry is the world's original golf resort with over a century of hospitality and tradition. It is scene of some of the most memorable moments in Open history, the championship Ailsa course is a legend in the game. Complimented by The Turnberry Performance Academy, an outstanding teaching facility offering a holistic approach to the game of golf; Trump Turnberry Resort is one of the most magnificent destinations for golf breaks in Scotland. With a range of outstanding accommodation, championship golf, a relaxing ESPA spa, six restaurants & bars and thrilling outdoor pursuits at Turnberry Adventures, Trump Turnberry Resort boasts a myriad of activities for travelers, golfers and families. The resort enjoys a spectacular coastal setting with breathtaking views of the Isle of Arran, Ailsa Craig and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turnberry, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland Hotel Turnberry
Turnberry Westin
Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Turnberry, A Luxury Collection Resort, Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.