We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great self catering accommodation with access to Turnberry Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turnberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages
Save
You added Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages to your Saves list
Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great self catering accommodation with access to Turnberry Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with friends for a 4 day break in February and had a fabulous time. The apartments are extremely spacious and very well equipped for self catering. The lovely open flame gas fire was a welcome bonus at the end of the day. We used the spa every day which was lovely and quiet midweek. Shame the joint sauna was out of action but not too important. The staff were wonderful especially a lovely door man whose name I've forgotten,an older man who had full regalia including feather cap ( apologies for what is no doubt the wrong title! ) he made a six year old very happy with a wee gift bag and was very entertaining. He was happy to have pics taken too.

We ate in Tappie Toories after our husbands played golf....we were the only ones there very late in the afternoon and the lady behind the bar was extremely accommodating. We all had steaks which were fabulous and fairly reasonably priced for being part of Turnberry. Our husbands played both Kintyre and Ailsa and loved it! ( even the 50 mile an hour winds on the Ailsa! )

Large supermarket is only a few miles way for stocking up and the views from our apartments were amazing,as was the view from the hotel and spa! I would definitely recommend!

There's a local restaurant nearby where the food was amazing....huge portions and all freshly made. It also had a huge selection of ice creams,cakes and chocolates for sale along with other goodies. The place was newly reopened and was absolutely spotless! It was so good we went back twice for lunch.it's called Johnnies Souter Inn.

One small gripe was slight issues with the apartment not being totally clean...fireplace not cleaned,and inside cupboards too. We also had to call for dishwasher tablets,loo roll and bin liners....very very minor point though and they were delivered very quickly. Would definitely return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My family and I were really looking forward to our stay at the self catering apartment after reading the positive reviews but, unfortunately, we left feeling slightly disappointed.

Pros:
Spacious, warm apartment with great bathrooms and bedrooms;
Comfortable beds;
Swimming pool and changing room facilities were very good;
Great golf courses with very helpful staff at the clubhouse;
Access to a playroom within the hotel, although the rather wide target age range of 0 - 12 doesn't quite work.

Cons:
Unpleasant smell upon entering the open-plan kitchen/dining/living area. We immediately contacted the hotel to see if we could change apartment but was told that that was not possible. They eventually sent a house-keeping staff who came with a can of Febreeze. Needless to say, I sent him away as I was not prepared to breathe in chemicals on top of whatever was causing the smell;
Disappointing views with the main view from the living room looking over several gas storage cylinders;
External appearance of the buildings indicated a lack of good maintenance eg peeling paint, condensation within double-glazing;
Some oddly placed items reflecting a lack of good planning, eg tumble dryer randomly sitting in the main hallway, large bin in the dining area as the kitchen clearly could not accommodate it. (The bin was placed on a carpeted area, which could possibly explain the smell from previous spillage around it?);
No outdoor play area for toddlers/young children;
TV/DVD player/docking station really not user friendly - ended up using our computer to watch our DVDs;
Had to pay for wi-fi, which is unusual for a 5-star resort;
Poor access from hotel to beach, with the beach having a surprising amount of litter.

Probably better for families with older children (ours are 2 and 5). Otherwise, not much to do within the hotel or around Turnberry, especially during low season when there are far fewer activities provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed at Cruden Bay apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very spacious apartment- comfortable beds, excellent bathroom and decent shower, perfectly adequately equipped kitchen and conveniently located to hop across to the golf course or beach. Exceeded expectations.
We ate at the hotel just once and were enormously disappointed - uncooked food and cool service when we had to return our food twice. The spa treatments were super but again the experience was ruined by sniffy tea room staff - perhaps it was our freshly scrubbed faces and 'spa hair' that made them direct us to a corner rather than more lovelier tables? Either way if we go back we'll contain our Turnberry experience to the apartments and go local for everything else which by the way is very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great apartments, really quite good value for a spring break. Huge living area and comfortable rooms all en suite. No milk or really anything to start you off but a nearby Asda in Girvan. The Golf is needless to say exceptional and the clubhouse fantastic. Friendly welcome and a good bar and food for after a round. The Ailsa championship course is immense and a real struggle in the wind .The views are glorious and the Kintyre course was quiet when I played and , although not as spectacular as the Ailsa ,was still in fantastic condition and has some quite superb views. Grouse pecking around some greens were entertaining. The practice facilities are superb too and pro shop tempting.
The staff in the hotel are impeccable, still just get the feeling that Turnberry hasn't quite made up it's mind who it caters for. Clearly very high end food with real quality and true white linen service and an awesome wine list ,but not many more casual areas for a meal after a round. Service on our visit was very slow and there was a hurried atmosphere amongst the staff, although slightly aimless. The views from the 1906 and the Ailsa bar are fantastic . The decor a funny sort of modern/ traditional fusion with Art Deco features which don't always work with the grandeur of the plaster work and a bit minimalist. Could do with some more pictures and a bit of " warming up" .
The walks out to the lighthouse and beach are lovely. The pool and spa are lovely and it has a smallish gym too. All in all would love to come back. Think a stay in the hotel would be a very expensive trip but the apartments are highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma S, On behalf of the Management Team at Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your most recent visit to Lands of Turnberry Apartments. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a most enjoyable stay amongst us. All of your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments and will be taken on board. Now that we are in to May, the opening hours in our Tappie Toorie Restaurant have been extended and our sports bar- Duel in the Sun- is now open for the season meaning that we do have more casual dining options for the summer. We hope you welcome you back to the resort in the near future where further Turnberry adventures await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family spent a week in one of the Tunberry apartments over Easter and benefitted from the facilities of the world class hotel and Spa (as well as access to the golf courses if required).The apartment was very well equipped (though we never quite got to grips with the DVD player). Our children were well entertained with board games in the apartment and a host of organised activities in the hotel. Splash time in the pool was a firm favourite.

The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive. Food in the hotel was very good, if slightly pricey. This was as expected however for such an opulent establishment.

The apartments are also very dog friendly and the nearby walks ton the beach and lighthouse were enjoyed by usnall on a daily basis.

Bear in mind that this is just as it states on the tin - self catering. There is no maid service and beds have to be made and towels laundered personally.

Nonetheless the flexibility and extra space make this a great option for families. We shall most definitely be back. The accommodation is also very good value indeed.

Room Tip: the sea view apartments are especially well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at one of the apartments for a 3 night stay at the beginning of March. There was 6 females sharing the apartment. The apartment was fabulous one of the best I've stayed in. It was kitted out with everything we needed for our stay and had lovely views of the golfcourse. The kitchen was excellent, we only used this at breakfast time and ate out in the evenings. The only downside was the sofa bed which was hard leather if there had been a spare duvet to sleep on that would have been fine but it was rather hard with only a sheet below.The other two other two bedrooms were very spacious. The spa area was lovely and having this facility was a bonus.
We dined at Soutar Johnnies restaurant in Kirkoswald which we didn't rate too highly. On the Sat evening we ate at Wildings restaurant in Maidens which was fantastic, food and service both excellent can't wait to go back. You need to book this restaurant in advance.

If I get another special deal I will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in MacNaharish apt facing the golf course which was lovely and also liked being on the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Manager at Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments about our Lands of Turnberry Self Catering Apartments. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed the space and luxury and we have noted your comments about the sofa-bed. As well as the Spa facilities all of Turnberry Main Hotel Food and Beverage outlets are also available to our Lands of Turnberry guests and can cater for a light, relaxed snack to intimate fine dining. We will look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We took an apartment here at Turnberry for a mid week break. We had been here before for an adults only night so this was the first we had been here with children. It was a risk that was worth taking.
Being term time it was very quiet. We had the beautiful pool to ourself which we used every day. Our five year old learnt to play golf on the pitch and putt. I got some time to go to the gym.
Best of all was hot chocolate in the hotel after a quick play in the Creche. Perfect for the under 5's.
Out apartment was large with two double bedrooms. All newly decorated. Large living room with open plan kitchen. Perfect for cooking and watching TV!

Room Tip: The apartments are quite and detached so families don't have to worry about making too much nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages

Address: Maidens Road, Turnberry KA26 9LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Turnberry
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Turnberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lands of Turnberry are ideal for a luxurious self-catering holiday on the west coast of Scotland. Across from the famous golf courses and next to the world renowned hotel, the self-catering apartments and cottages include: 2 bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, living room with sofa bed, modern kitchen, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TV with Freeview and DVD, and free internet. Guests will enjoy privileged unlimited access to the spa, outdoor activity centre and champion golf courses at Turnberry. Lands of Turnberry welcomes you all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lands Of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lands of Turnberry Apartments & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.