We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good fresh food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minishant Inn Restaurant

Minishant Inn Restaurant
28 Main Road | Minishant, Maybole KA19 8EU , Scotland
+44 1292 442483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Maybole
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Prestwick
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

it was our first visit to the minishant inn and we will definitely be returning. The food was very very good quality and at a very good value. The food and service are far better than most of the popular restaurants in Ayrshire.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    47
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr. Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Steak Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having been told by many of our friends how good this restaurant was, we booked for lunch on Friday last and were glad we did, as within 30 minutes of our arrival, it was virtually full. The two course special menu at £11.95 contained a huge variety of dishes, making choice all the more difficult. A starter of Black Pudding cakes on a bed of lettuce with bacon and boiled egg and Garlic Mayonnaise dressing was a great choice to begin with, followed by the most amazing steak pie I have ever been served. An abundance of mouth wateringly tender, chunks of steak, topped with crispy puff pastry and accompanied by Asparagus spears, diced swede, carrot and creamed potato, also complete with a bowl of French Fries. This has got to be some of the finest home cooking ever served in a restaurant. The meal, the ambiance and clever layout of the seating, giving most tables a degree of privacy, makes this venue a must for those seeking good quality food at affordable prices. Michael's warm welcome and attentive service throughout, completes the experience. We shall most definitely be returning very soon for more of the same.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Very good food and service at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have been to this cosy little restaurant at least three times now. There is an open real fire which adds to the ambiance. The food is good and even the half portions were too much for me. The service is very good and the prices are reasonable. Toilets are extremely clean.

We will be back sometime I expect and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean plates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

First visit but will definitely return. Food was excellent - tasted fantastic, good helpings and good value at £11.95 for a two course lunch from the set menu. Restaurant has been done up very nicely and service was warm & friendly. Its fairly small and was busy considering it was lunch time on a Thursday - would recommend booking at busier times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sublime..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booked a table for a 40th birthday. Our party had 4 different starters and 4 different mains and sent all the plates back almost cleaned it was that good. The food was sublime. I opted for the trio of meats in a peppercorn sauce and it was fantastic. All the meat was cooked to perfection. I was looking forward to a sweet but honestly couldn't manage it. You won't find anything better in Ayrshire and to top it off it was served by a pleasant stunning waitress.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minishant Inn Restaurant also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Maybole, South Ayrshire
 
Kirkoswald, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Minishant Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minishant Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.