We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop at Lilac Bank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Bank

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maybole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lilac Bank
Save
You added Lilac Bank to your Saves list
Crosshill | Maybole, Maybole KA19 7RN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Maybole B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great overnight stop at Lilac Bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stopped here during our cycle tour of the area, using sustrans route 7 . Very comfortable B+B with secure storage for the bikes. Warm welcome with home made cakes, tea and biscuits. Lovely breakfast which really set us up for the big ride the next day. We've stayed in many over the years but this one is in our top five. Cannot be faulted, would not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula2Scotland, Owner at Lilac Bank, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and for taking the time to post it. It's always a pleasure to have cyclist guests with all their cheerful enthusiasm for life and you were no exception to that rule! You were friendly and appreciative and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you here. Glad also that your camera got safely back to you and hope if you are this way again, you will use us for your accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A very warm welcome awaited us at this lovely B & B in a most delightful village with open views to the countryside. Both Paula and Graeme were perfect hosts and could not do enough for us. Accommodation excellent and food first-class. A most relaxing stay in charming surroundings. An absolute gem - not be be missed. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula2Scotland, Owner at Lilac Bank, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for giving such a positive review and for those kind words. As you were here for a few nights while your daughter competed in a sporting event, you were able to relax and get to know the village and surrounding area and I know that you intend to return. We enjoyed our many conversations with you and will be delighted to have you stay here again. We will look forward to your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here in April of this year for one night to break up our journey. I only wish we could have stayed longer! Fantastic hosts with the warmest welcome. We couldn't have asked for more, were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. The rooms are lovely, an ideal place to relax. Breakfast was fantastic along with the cakes upon arrival! We will most definitely be revisiting this lovely bed and breakfast and hopefully for a little longer, can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula2Scotland, Owner at Lilac Bank, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
What a positive review, thank you so much for taking the time to make it and for those kind words. You were the perfect guests, making the best of your holiday despite being a family member short on your trip due to ill health. We both send our kind regards and hope everything is much better now. We were also delighted to hear your good news and are hoping your will come to stay again and make use of our new travel cot! Thank you again for the review and for choosing us for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A warm welcome and refreshments from two genuinely great hosts. The cosy little sitting room with a log burning stove was a joy. The clean comfy bed and bathroom was all that I needed. I was on business so did not expect any pampering. I was very pleasantly surprised that I could relax, enjoy the surroundings and would highly recommend the quality local, home cooked food. Excellent value for money, too good to share but only fair to give credit where its due. I would definitely use again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula2Scotland, Owner at Lilac Bank, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed the experience so much. You had had a very busy schedule, but took the time to teach us more about your subject and, I have to say, made us think more about our health! We are enjoying a lot more fish these days! You say you would use us again and we would be delighted to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

An excellent place to stay with a welcoming solid fuel burner warming the sitting room as I arrived and some freshly made scones and tea to enjoy on arrival.Great shower in bathroom and very comfortable bed in a large bedroom.Paula and Graham go to great lengths to make you feel at home,even offering a glass of wine or G&T of an evening! Breakfast was extensive and nothing was any trouble to make including scrambled egg to my own taste.They were very helpful with directions to my places of work and the best route given the times of day I was travelling.Stay here and enjoy hospitality that can sometimes seem to belong to a world long gone!

Room Tip: Ground floor bedroom closer to bathroom.Upstairs bedroom is snugger in feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula2Scotland, Owner at Lilac Bank, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for giving such positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I know you appreciated the fire on the two nights you were with us. Good to know you found the bed so comfortable and that breakfast was to your liking, we try to vary the menu and have introduced some new tastes since you were with us. You were the perfect gent and were so appreciative of everything we did. We do hope you will return if you are working in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at Lilac Bank after a gruelling cycle ride through the mountains to be greeted with a pot of tea and homemade cakes. The accommodation was lovely, clean and comfortable. The owners could not do enough to assist including booking a table at the local restaurant.

Highly recommend, not a bad point

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula2Scotland, Owner at Lilac Bank, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review. You were cold coming in from such miserable weather but very cheerful and grateful despite the outside temps! You were very appreciative guests and a pleasure to have staying with us. I do hope we will see you again if you are cycling this route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I only stayed there one night but what a wonderful stay. The welcome, food and accomodation -all were fantastic! I can thoroughly recommend the scrambled eggs! The location, in a small village was beautifully scenic and seemed to be very relaxing. Although I was only there for a short time I will definitely be back and probably for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula2Scotland, Owner at Lilac Bank, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for such kind and positive comments, it's always a pleasure to welcome such an appreciative guest . You were here on business and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay enough that you would consider using Lilac Bank again. Glad to hear you enjoyed the scrambled eggs and smoked Salmon. Thanks for using our bed and breakfast and look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilac Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Bank

Address: Crosshill | Maybole, Maybole KA19 7RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Maybole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maybole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in Maybole ,village of Crosshill on cycle route 7, great position for Culzean, Turnberry, cycling, walking and fishing in Ayrshire. You will find home baking, a log fire, lovely bedrooms, comfortable beds and relaxation! . Our accommodation consists of a ground floor double bedroom, first floor twin bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. We have secure covered cycle storage and can provide drying facilities for those wet days! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lilac Bank Maybole, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilac Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.