We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Meal - just wish they would change the menu more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildings Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Girvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Wildings Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Harbour Road | Maidens, Girvan KA26 9NR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Meal - just wish they would change the menu more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Yet again another good meal at Wildings recently.. My wife and I like the drive down the coast to Wildings and are always met by Staff that are friendly and welcoming. My only criticism would be that it would be good if that menu changed a little more - But we are still looking forward to going back again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    14
    11
    4
    12
See reviews for
23
39
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

attended with my wife and parents in September 2010. Had read the positive reviews but was still taken aback at the standard. Excellent quality food and at a price that could justifiably be 50% more. I've dined at a lot of quality places over the yrs but this is up there with the best fish restaurants but at half the price of the rest!

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We had lunch at Blackaddie Hotel to celebrate one birthday at the weekend and were leafing through The Good Food Guide as we sat in their lounge looking at menus beofre lunch and found Wildings' listing. Having never heard of the place, and with a lack of venues locally, we thought it might be suitable for an event later in September.

As it was a bit far from us, we decided to drop by to maybe have a glass of wine, look at menu, and see if it would suit, as we were catering for a mixed age group etc.

We had already eaten out that night but made a 30 mile detour to have a look at the hotel. When we got there, we found that the entire ground floor is now restaurant only, no bar. We didn't want to eat, just to do a reccie to see if it would be suitable.

We weren't made remotely welcome so having driven a long way to get there, we were turned away at the door! The place was empty, most of the tables not in use. We were just asked did we have a reservation, no we didn't no we didn't want to eat, so basically go away. The staff were so unwelcoming that I didn't feel inclined to give them chapter and verse on why we had come, if that was the reception we received, then I'd rather go somewhere else.

It must be pretty annoying for 'hotel' guests having to go straight to the table with no bar or lounge - what if they don't want dinner just then, but want to sit and read a book with a drink rather than stay in their rooms. Not my definition of a hotel. Perhaps they should re-brand as a restaurant with rooms? So as not to mislead people into expecting the facilities you would think most hotels would offer.

Oh well, just lost a party of 20 for dinner, but never mind.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kildare
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed at The Wildings Restaurant & Hotel three years ago and found it to be very good. We were told then that some renovations would take place.
We stayed again for our last night in Scotland on the way to the ferry at Cairnryan. And my, have those renovations paid off! Our room three years ago was comfortable and adequate but the "new" rooms are just fantastic. Bright and modern and beautifully furnished with all mod-cons like flat screen TV, a huge and comfortable bed, automatic light in the en-suite bathroom, a very roomy shower and a heating rail for towels. Toiletries were also supplied as were an ironing board, iron and hairdryer. Strangely enough there was no phone in the room and I forgot to ask the reason for this.
We found the rates extremely competitive: £45 pps in the double-room and £50 for our friend who got a double-room all to herself next to ours.
The view from the window is just lovely (overlooking the bowling green and harbour) and since The Wildings is in a quiet location a good night's sleep was had by all.
My only complaint is that we couldn't open the window wider than it had been set to. After a day of blazing sunshine the room was quite warm. However, this is a very minor gripe.
We had booked a table in the restaurant and were wondering whether the food would be as good as remembered from three years ago. And yes, it was! There was the à la carte menu and a specials menu and you could choose any dish from both menus. Delicious starters, seafood and pork fillet for main courses and desserts (which we could barely cram in on account of being so full) were just yummy. Served with a smile. Again this constituted excellent value for money: £19 for two courses, £23 for three courses (if memory serves me right).
The Wildings doesn't have a bar as such but there was no problem with getting an after-dinner drink and since we were quite tired after a long day on the road we didn't miss a "pub" atmosphere.
Breakfast was just as good, again served by a very cheerful and attentive waitress.
Royal Turnberry golf course is just up the road. The Wildings makes a perfect stop for golfers and non-golfers alike.
Well done, The Wildings! We will definitely return and continue to recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our in laws and had a fantastic night.
The rooms have recently been refurbished and are immaculate.
The food is outstanding and the staff are so pleasant here.
There are loads of places nearby of interest and I would definately choose to go here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-July. I had pre-booked (after checking on this site) and we arrived after a long drive from Bedfordshire at about 5.30. Check-in was very relaxed, and as requested we had a sea facing room. The room was modern, well furnished and perfectly clean, a good size with a shower room. The bed was large and comfortable. The view is over the bowling green (for our American friend below the game is bowls (not 'balls')), with the small harbour on the left and the beach on the right. The village of Maidens is small with a Post Office, a small shop and only one other hotel. The food is absolutely fabulous and if you don't book for dinner you could be disappointed! Our only (very minor) criticism is that there is nowhere set aside to sit for pre-dinner drinks. I know this is not a Scottish thing (Scots go out either to drink or to eat, not necessarily both at the same venue). All in all this was the best of the 3 hotels we stayed in during our 6 day trip. We moved onto Malins Court, the 2nd hotel in Maidens.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Myself and two friends stayed at the hotel for one night when we were walking on the Ayrshire Coastal Path.

We were interested to see for ourselves what the hotel was like given the mixed reviews but we were impressed. We had a twin room and a single, and both were very comfortable, and very well fitted. We were the only people staying at the hotel at the time, so cannot comment on the thickness of the walls.

The restaurant was excelent, and was very busy as you would expect on a Friday. However, it was well staffed, and we enjoyed a relaxed meal with the table available to us for the whole evening.

Would recommend the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildings Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildings Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Harbour Road | Maidens, Girvan KA26 9NR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Wildings Hotel And Restaurant
Wildings Hotel Girvan
Wildings Hotel & Restaurant Girvan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildings Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.