We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Golf break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodland Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Farm, Girvan KA26 0HP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Cumbria
1 review
“Open Golf break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My son and I discovered this little gem by pure accident. what a lucky break. The standard of the rooms and friendliness of all the staff was excellent. The quality of the scottish breakfast was again, equally to a high standard. The packed lunch provided for our golf days was spot on, last but by no means least was the chauffer service to and from the Turnberry course was excellent. Everything that could be done to make our stay easier was no problem, and carried out with a smile. Booked again for September with my wife. We are both looking forward to visiting the Woodland Bay Hotel again for my part and the first time for my wife

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    49
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
178
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

My son and I greatly enjoyed our stay at the Woodland Bay Hotel. The staff are exceptionally friendly and provided better customer service than received at a Ritz-Carlton resort. The rooms are comfortable, clean and HUGE! The hotel is very accessible for anyone with mobility issues and our room had a barrier-free bathroom. My husband is disabled and does not fly, but when I can get him on an airplane I want to go back to Woodland Bay as I know that he would be very comfortable and would have a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

The hotel portion of the property was brand new, had just opened within a week or so, so everything was in pristine fashion. I need a lot of help making arrangements prior to arrival and the hotel owner was more than gracious to accommodate them all. It was a very personalized experience, the beach is right across the street. I would stay there again if I ever needed to visit the area!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We spent an amazing 5 days watching The Open and the hotel was spot on in every department. The service was second to none and the cleanliness and location was perfect. Would love to come again but spend the time taking in the scenery.
Thank you to the Forbes family for such an unforgetable stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

The hospitality at this hotel was outstanding, the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to welcome us! The rooms were great and much bigger than we expected. The hotel is in a beautiful location, right on the sea, and the sunsets were amazing. We were there for the Open at Turnberry, its a beautiful part of Scotland. We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was super - great menu, lots of choices. Don't worry if you forget to bring something with you...there's a farm shop on the property and the drive into town is only a couple of minutes. We'll definitely go back to this place again :-)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Bay Hotel

Address: Woodland Farm, Girvan KA26 0HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Girvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Girvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine being lulled to sleep by gentle waves and exploring rock pools in the bay. Far enough from the city for complete relaxation, yet near enough for easy access to all major transport. We are a people friendly, dog friendly and horse friendly hotel. Everywhere at Woodland is wheelchair accessible with a range of helpful facilities, including accessible bathrooms and walk-in showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Bay Hotel Girvan, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.