We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept for special occassions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacCallum's Oyster Bar

MacCallum's Oyster Bar
The Harbour | Harbour Road, Troon KA10 6DH, Scotland
(01292) 319339
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Troon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kept for special occassions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Been many times never been disappointed Lobster is great and a wide range of fish.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    44
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Giffnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful food, locally sourced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fabulous lunch. Environment was perfect, cosy. 3 courses with drinks for £105, given the quality of the food, friendliness of the staff, and popularity of venue, such good value. House prosecco was very drinkable and a pperfect match for the seafood, and a mention must be made for the stunning Manzanilla sherry offered as an aperitivo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmyllie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the second time we have eaten here and it lived up to expectations yet again. I don't do oysters but all the other options were delicious. If you are catching the ferry to Belfast make a point of eating here if possible

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Four and a half”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

First class service and food. Starters range £6 - £10, mains start the same price as a steak course. Yes you'll pay slightly more than other places but the freshest sea food served in the perfect setting makes it worth while. A special thank you for the generous malt measures. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most Fantastic Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We Went to Macallums Oyster Bar expecting something exceptional and that is what we got.

The quality and freshness of the seafood was impeccable. For starter I had tiger prawns and my partner had oysters and both were amazing, best seafood I've had outside of Penang, Malaysia.

For main course I had a whole seabass and my partner had a lobster, which came full of eggs, a real treat!

The white wine we had was good and very fruity whereas the red wine was decent, but a bit of a let down considering the price (~ £20) and the quality of the food, and this was not the house wine.

For dessert we had homemade ice cream and it was reasonable but a bit lacking in flavour.

However the quality of the seafood, the fast service and the friendly atmosphere made this one of my all time favourite meals in the UK.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacCallum's Oyster Bar also viewed

Troon, South Ayrshire
 
Troon, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to MacCallum's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacCallum's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.