We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at Lochgreen House Hotel

Restaurant at Lochgreen House Hotel
Monktonhill Road | Southwoods, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
01292 313343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 restaurants in Troon
Price range: $0 - $206
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Lochgreen House Hotel is a 4 red star luxury hotel set in acres of manicured gardens with luxuriously appointed bedrooms, a stunning ballroom and award winning restaurant. Only the finest local produce and our highly trained staff make Lochgreen an experience to remember.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Don't often go to the Lochgreen restaurant but when we do we always enjoy it. The food is as usual very nice although it is very pricey. The hotel is beautiful and the Costley's keep the place immaculate. If you haven't been you don,t know what you are missing. Go on be a little extravagant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    77
    27
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“scotland at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

all very very good- the setting- the dining room- the staff -the food -the wine -none could be faulted -5 minutes from the beach

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“The decline is alarming...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Only our second visit, but will probably be our last. A beautiful house in a beautiful location, so they have a good head start. Lounge area by a roaring fire and a lovely dining room are all positives. The service is mixed. Some of the staff are trying very hard, some will just never make it. A small example - they want to pour the wine for you, but they just never notice when one or more of your party has an empty glass! Another small example - the girl at the reception desk never lifts her head from her computer as we leave, until one of our party says "thank you". She is the one who should be thanking us! I could take you to a cafe in Glasgow (D'nisi in Shawlands) where you cannot open the door without a greeting on the way in and a thank you on the way out. The C & C empire in Ayrshire doesn't match that.
The food was good without approaching greatness. Again, it's the small things that make the difference - my wife had to find her way through a decent steak without the help of a steak knife!
Prominence is given to the Costley vehicles in the car park and it would be nice to see more of them (the owners) in the places that matter. Please arrest this decline.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lacking flavour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been many times to have dinner here., and to stay . It used to be far better years ago , and more intimate too. The food was bland, and not worth the money. I really think Lochgreen has lost its way . The best bet now for me is coffee and a scone. If you are going to charge top notch prices, then the food has to be right . Its also way to expensive to stay B&B

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A return visit to Lochgreen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A return visit to Lochgreen for us, this time for a family celebration. And once again, Lochgreen didn't disappoint. From the moment you drive into the grounds, everything looks immaculate and fresh. First impressions do count, and even the flower beds looked like they had been freshly raked! Thankfully, the rest of the stay did live up to expectations, and it's exactly this sort of attention to detail which will keep us coming back!

The staff were - to a person - very friendly throughout our stay, the rooms were spot on, and the food was well above average quality too. Breakfast went down well and we enjoyed the fabulous views and setting (as well as the aforementioned immaculate gardens). Any minor comments? Could do with a slightly expanded beer/lager selection to enjoy a warm evening outside (especially compared to the huge range of whisky & spirits on offer).

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again - hopefully soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Lochgreen House Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Lochgreen House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.