We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pinnacle of service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochgreen House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lochgreen House Hotel to your Saves list
Lochgreen House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The pinnacle of service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went back to Lochgreen House Hotel, for our 10th Wedding Anniversary as we had our wedding reception here all those years ago. For me Lochgreen rewrites the standards for service in the hospitality industry that even Gleneagles would struggle to keep up with.
Everything from the grounds, to the décor and the furniture is all neat and fresh in appearance. The standard of food is a genuine privilege and as mentioned the service knows no bounds with nothing ever a problem. Why do I not come here much, much more often......?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    50
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
52
115
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at Lochgreen on several occasions in 2013 and each time we were impressed by the high quality of the rooms, food and service. We are certainly looking forward to staying there again in 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at lochgreen for a wedding, nice place but very very overpriced, Central London prices for the heart of the countryside absolute disgrace for the price of a drink,the owners should be ashamed at charging that amount for a drink, if choosing for a wedding think again, far too expensive for a drink,(that's al anyone remembers)plus bar staff very ignorant. Rooms are nice but how long does one stay in a room? If u are rich stay here, if not go elsewhere for better value for money

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is my favourite hotel of all time. I have trained hotel staff all over the world on image, ambience and guest care - and there is absolutely nothing I would change in this hotel.
The lounge and public areas are comfortable and welcoming and although I don't like this expression- the bedrooms are "to die for!!" They are large and exquisitely decorated and you could host a ball in the large marble bathrooms!!!
The staff are guest- orientated- caring but non-intrusive and the answer to everything is "yes, certainly."
Whatever they are paying Robbie, front of house manager - they should double it - such an asset to the company- always so friendly and efficient, it's such a pleasure to be in this hotel and she epitomises it.
If you like up-to-date traditional, guest-looking-after hotels - book here - you will not be disappointed.
Lady McLean-Smith

Room Tip: there isn't a bad one - they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Have been to this hotel on many occasions and always found it a very pleasurable experience whether it was staying over or just for a meal. However, visited on Sunday 8 June for afternoon tea with two friends and found the service to be awful.
Greeting on arrival was fine and we were shown into a very comfortable sitting room where we ordered afternoon tea for three. We were asked about any dietary requirements and preference for sandwich fillings, so far so good but downhill from here. We were not offered any speciality teas and only given the choice of tea or coffee and whether we wanted this right away or with the food. We opted for with food, big mistake. After a reasonable time the food arrived, three tiered plate with the expected sandwiches, scones and cakes and a seperate plate with warm quiche and meat pastry, no explanation of what everything was and no tea.
10 minutes later, no tea, my friend asked a passing waitress and was told, "it's coming". Another 5 minutes, no tea, asked another waitress with same reply and the explanation that there was a, "back up" although others who ordered after us had been served tea. Starting to get annoyed and warm food now cold. Tea brought a couple of minutes later by last waitress we had asked and a cup poured for each of us leaving pot almost empty and although there was a pot of hot water brought she did not fill up teapot or even offer to.
Savoury food enjoyed and ready to move on to scones and cakes but no staff around to clear away cutlery and plates and bring clean ones so my friend had to go and look for someone. After this was done and more tea requested and brought we moved on to the sweet food which was fine. At no point during the time of eating our food did any member of staff approach us to ask how things were or if we needed anything.
By now I was very annoyed and feeling what should have been an enjoyable experience to celebrate a friend's birthday had been completely spoiled so when the person who took our order came to clear away and only then asked how everything was I stated the food was fine but the service was very poor and explained my reasons for this he gave me a dissmissive sorry and walked away.
On leaving the hotel my friend expressed our complaints to the receptionist and the dissmissive way they had been treated. She has taken her name and address and depending on how this is dealt with will determine whether we will return to this previously much enjoyed hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I went here on a corporate trip with a supplier of mine. I was completely blown away at how beautiful this hotel is.

The rooms are massive, the views are fantastic, the facilities are top notch and the location is perfect. The staff were great and unbelievably friendly and the whole experience was top notch.

I will definitely plan to come back here at the earliest I can manage.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left first class.Was there 2 nights for a wedding.The hotel is absolutely luxurious. The staff are friendly and always happy to go the extra mile for you.The day of the wedding was superb. Food was excellent. The grounds and surroundings first rate.Will definitely be returning. Thanks for everything. ......

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochgreen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgreen House Hotel

Address: Monktonhill Road | Southwood, Troon KA10 7EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochgreen House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly beautiful location for a relaxing break, a quiet romantic weekend away, a special celebration or a business meeting, Lochgreen House offers 38 bedrooms all en-suite with deluxe bathrooms, many have views over the gardens and woodlands, others over Royal Troon Golf Course to the island of Arran on the lovely Ayrshire coast. The original bedrooms of the house are decorated with beautiful traditional furnishings and fabrics to reflect the character of the house in every way and create a tranquil, relaxing environment. With every modern convenience for the expectations of the modern guest the rooms and bathrooms are of the highest 4 Red Star standards of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lochgreen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgreen Hotel Troon
Lochgreen House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochgreen House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.