We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was not enough........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
South Beach Hotel
Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One night was not enough........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for one night en-route to isle of arran with our two little dogs. The accommodation was perfect. We had a large, ground floor room which had patio doors leading onto a little seating area; which also allowed easy access to our car, hence we did not need to walk through the hotel with the dogs or luggage. The hotel is very clean yet warm and welcoming -The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was superb. Sadly we only stayed the one night but wished we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend this hotel highly to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
41
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed two nights to break our trip home from Fort William. It is a brilliant place to stay.
We had the executive double room, ample space, lovely ensuite, patio doors leading out to a little seatng area.
Private parking onsite.
All the seating areas are furnished to a high standard. Dining areas are lovely. Bar area with tv. Excellent food beautifully presented. Lovely staff. About five minutes accross small road and there is the seafront. A walk into town probably fifteen minutes, not much too see in the town, but the grassy areas and beach are great. Troon is known for it's golf courses. Some nice eating places in the town .

Room Tip: Definitely the executive double ground floor. It is quiet , althuogh there is no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just spent last weekend playing golf in Troon and stayed at the South Beach. This is an excellent hotel, with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are good, clean and well furnished - tea/coffee making facilities, television etc. En suite bathroiom was small, but adequate and very clean. The food was excellent, varied and plemtiful. The bar areas were excellent, with a great atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of March 2013. I had always known that the South Beach was something of a Troon icon, but was nevertheless delighted with the quality of the accommodation, the frendliness and efficiency of the staff, and the superb food. Well done to all. I hope that the owners are proud of you. For discerning travellers, request the ground floor room 229, if it is available. The most comfortable hotel room in which we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, plenty of parking, good food - in fact sometimes too much. Return visit so I requested the same room! Good value for money. Room was spacious, comfortable and the facilities were good. Hospitality tray & quality toiletries provided. Housekeeping was very efficient and made sure that the room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location with plenty of parking and also close to railway station.
Our room was light and airy with plenty of storage options for clothing as was the en-suite shower room. The staff were very friendly but at breakfast you sometimes felt under pressure to gulp down cereal as the cooked food was delivered too quickly. Evening meals were often the opposite with waits between courses. The food in general was very good and plentiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent location being close to the beach, shops and railway station. The food was plentiful and of good quality and choice. The room was a good size and very comfortable. All in all very good value for money.

Quite a bit of noise from traffic outside during the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Troon KA10 6EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.