We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and it was the best B&B we have stayed in and we have visited many” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandhill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandhill House
Save
You added Sandhill House to your Saves list
Southwood Road, Troon KA10 7EL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
arran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and it was the best B&B we have stayed in and we have visited many”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Elaine gave us a very warm welcome, and we were shown into a huge bedroom with an adjoining single room with a large bathroom. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice including fresh scones,pancakes and muffins.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We have been visiting Sandhill now for a number of years, originally on a business trip when my husband had a project at Prestwick airport (very handily nearby.) We enjoyed our trips so much we persuaded our daughter to come along too!
Photographs do not do justice to this magnificent house and its fantastic location, nor to the beautifully decorated interiors. From the minute you arrive Elaine is incredibly welcoming, always prepared to 'go the extra mile' for you. Breakfast, with a great choice, is well worth getting up for, and I'm not a morning person! If you're not a golfer, the walking in the area provides lots of great scenery and interesting wildlife.
Having just returned from 3 nights away, I feel really relaxed, definitely an indicator of a superior holiday!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham, Lancs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We booked our stay quite a bit in advance and were told which room we would be staying in. Upon our arrival we were told that our room was not available due to there being a problem with the bathroom, but I actually believe that other people were using the room. We were put in another room which was not ensuite. The room was ok and served its purpose, but we would never book a room which was not ensuite. I did not appreciate the electric socket hanging off the wall and had to ask for a bed to be set up for our child as it had not been done by the time we went to bed. The quality of the child's bed was very poor and the pillow that he was given was stained. Elaine and her family were lovely and very welcoming, but overall the guest house was not what it claimed to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhill_House, Owner at Sandhill House, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
We were so disappointed to hear that your stay had not lived up to expectations.

Normally, we are able to guarantee that guests stay in the room of their choice, but on the particular day of your stay, a burst water pipe elsewhere in the house left us without some of our guest bathroom facilities. We were forced to swap round room reservations at very short notice to ensure that each group travelling together were able to share a bathroom only with other members of their own group/family. This was to prevent having to turn away anyone with a confirmed reservation.

We are genuinely sorry that our "plumbing crisis" spoiled your stay and hope that we will see you again at some point to experience Sandhill House at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed here for our golfing trip to Scotland at the beginning and the end of our trip. Elaine let us keep some of our baggage there while we left the middle of our trip. The view across the golf course was incredible. Elaine and her staff were so helpful and nice. The rooms are crazy big and really nice. I have already given thought to my next trip to Scotland and I would want to spend at least half my trip at Sandhill. Such an awesome place. Thanks Elaine for making it such a special trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Can't praise this B&B highly enough. As others have said it was a little tricky to find but once inside the house was fantastic. Ou huge room was beautiful with a great view over the golf course to Ailsa Craig.
Breakfast in the morning was perfect, and the only negative was we were unable to stay longer!
Also agree with others here that the price is an absolute steal. If you are going to Troon you must stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed for one night a chilly weekend in September as a quick fix really to get our heads donw somewhere for a night and I really wished we could of stayed longer to appreciate the house, the views and location and the hospitality of the owner. We may have to go back! It is ideal for a romantic getaway and the breakfast was lovely in a gorgeous dining room. Little touches in the room made it for us like takeaway perfume testers and the use of bath robes. Keeping the orignal bathroom was a good idea as i loved it so much i took pictures of the taps, sink and shower! Was difficult to find at first but wouldnt change that as it added to the setting of the place down a wooded track.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Although difficult to find, once found the setting is just gorgeous. A sprawling country manor with the tranquil surroundings of Troon Golf Course, horses, ducks, geese, kittens and a large friendly dog. We had booked all the rooms for a families 70th and boy was it worth it. It is such a big house it felt as if we were in a hotel rather than a B&B. There was a gorgeous large living room and beautiful dining room. Lots of original features remain within this period house, such as the huge taps in the en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was a feast! A large selection of cereals, juices and a big selection of cooked breakfasts to choose from. The lady in charge was delightful- relaxed, friendly and so kind. The bill was a lot lower than anticipated for the service we experienced. I have nothing but praise for this B&B. Thank you for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill House

Address: Southwood Road, Troon KA10 7EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANDHILL HOUSE ... Bed and Breakfast with style ...A huge Victorian red sandstone house with a warm heart, set in 9 acres of glorious gardens and woodland with spectacular seaviews. Sandhill House is an ideal location for visitors who want to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. Golfers find this a first class location, as it is a few minutes from Royal Troon Golf Course. Several other fine golf courses, including Prestwick & Turnberry being a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandhill House Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandhill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.