We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piersland House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Piersland House Hotel to your Saves list
Piersland House Hotel
15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Wales, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed for one Sunday night on a trio to see our new grandchild. The hotel was excellent and, with the Sunday Night Special of Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for £85, very good value. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent.

Room Tip: There is no lift so bear this in mind when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    107
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
95
197
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

First visit to this hotel in Ayrshire for a mid-week break. Fantastic value which included both dinner and breakfast. Hotel is beautiful and we were given one of the lodges situated in the grounds overlooking the Troon Royal Golf Course. Room was of a high standard, exceptionally clean and warm but more importantly very comfortable. Service very good in restaurant for lunch as young staff were very attentive and helpful. Dinner service was slightly slow but not making any complaints and standard of food more than acceptable. Breakfast service excellent and staff very personable and attentive. All in all a very enjoyable experience at a beautiful hotel. Recommend this establishment to anyone without doubt and will certainly be paying another visit here in the future.

Room Tip: Lodges are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed with a group of friends on the Sunday night deal rate and were very impressed with the level of comfort and good service. The hotel has an olde world charm and log fires add to the cosy feel. The dinner was excellent as was breakfast. The staff were very helpful and responded to all requests. Our room is probably on the list for refurbishment but was nevertheless clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived for the Sunday deal. Where do I start it was lovely from beginning to end. We were allocated the cutest room no 5 with beautiful view and lovely character and charm. The room was huge, It had big heavy curtains blocked out all light and lovely thick quilt on the bed. It was like a time warp but it was decorated with such quality and thoughtful detail that it really worked. I loved the bathroom it had a huge corner bath and shower.In the bedroom there was a desk for sitting with a big mirror this was excellent as I could sit and style my hair and get glammed up for dinner. There was a concealed tv that pulled out in a clever way.The room was clean, and had apples and water, tea coffee , biscuits and hot chocolate. Also a trouser press, iron and ironing board with a huge beautiful old fashioned wardrobe.The dinner was excellent, faultless, the service was great very friendly and helpful. Loved the Baked Alaska it was almost to pretty to eat. We had some drinks in the bar after and the lady serving us was so helpful on her knowledge of whiskey and really went out her way to serve us. Breakfast was served in a bright room with a roaring fire. Loads of choice cereals, pastries, fruit, juices , tea or coffee and a choice of cooked breakfast from the kitchen, it to was delicious. We will be back and are also considering looking at this venue for our wedding. Only 2 drawbacks I could mention however it didn't effect my stay. The welcome at reception was quite unfriendly no smiles or enthusiasm also didn't feel very welcome. Secondly we were charged £2.60 ish for something to our room when we paid everything the night before in cash at the time of ordering we hadn't put one thing on our room to charge, this however was just a mistake and on checking out was rectified. quickly.Loved our stay and will be back soon, excellent value for money! :)

Room Tip: If you want a old fashioned country feel, Downtown Abbey style room number 5 is brilliant, if you li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on a Sunday - booked direct with hotel using their Sunday special rate. This includes dinner, bed + breakfast for two at £85! We pre ordered a bottle of sparkly in the room and were delighted to find they had also included a box of chocolates and we had been allocated a superior room!!! Our room was in the main hotel and was beautiful, absolutely spotless. The lodges and cottages also look very nice and are not any distance from the hotel.
We had a walk just across the road to the beach in the afternoon, it literally is on the doorstep.
Dinner was excellent, we both had no complaints about our meals. This was also the case with breakfast - nice choice of cereal, pastries and fruit. With cooked breakfast to order the poached eggs were perfect.
The staff were a credit to the hotel everyone had a smile - seemed like a happy place to work.
So, overall we couldn't fault our break hence my title. This was our first visit to the hotel but I hope it's not our last.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel. Room gardens reception location. But just a few improvements please. 1 sort out your soft drinks on draft. Diet coke should be fizzy and mixed well. Not syrupy
2. Serve courses together. My warm goats cheese starter arrived at the table a full four minutes before my husbands pâté. Why ? No apology and why spoil what could have been do good


A few small things. But sorted could make such a difference but I would still visit again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, Scotland
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice location, 5 mins walk to Royal Troon and the beach. 25 minute walk to town or £4 in a taxi. We stayed in one of the cottages - very spacious with separate bedroom and living room and close enough to the main hotel. I liked the fruit and water in the room and free wifi. The hotel is a lovely period building built by members of the Walker family famous for their whisky. We enjoyed an excellent dinner as a large family group where everyone from 6 to 80 found something to their taste. Wine list was varied and good value. The bar had a good range of spirits but I would have loved to have seen some real ales. Staff were very helpful throughout our stay. We had a couple of small issues in our rooms which were resolved quickly and courteously. Overall, good experience and good value - would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piersland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piersland House Hotel

Address: 15 Craigend Road, Troon KA10 6HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Piersland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piersland Hotel Ayr
Piersland House Hotel Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piersland House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.