We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing hotel, dreadful restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing hotel, dreadful restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here on September 3rd. The woman working the front desk the night of the 3rd and morning of the 4th was simply outstanding. Any Ritz Carlton would hire her immediately.

Yes, the setting is nice and the rooms are fine. The restaurant and bar staff are dreadful. The heat was on in the restaurant when it was 18C outside, making it feel like 30C inside. Our request to turn the heat off was ignored, so we did it ourselves. The food was average, except for the dead fly, really, in my entree. Salmon served skin side up with sauce on the skin. Had never seen that presentation.

In the restaurant, I felt as if we were In a Monty Python episode where the jokes were on us. Our caddies at Troon told us not to eat there. We were tired and didn't listen to them but we should have.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    402
    156
    75
    51
See reviews for
188
690
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I hoped to treat a friend to a luxury spa day! Two treatments were poor, a bit of nail polish and a mini facial. Lunch was even more disappointing with, soup and a baked potato. All for £88, no value for money there! I can't fault the staff as they were lovely. But won't be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr Scotland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were invited to dinner here a few days ago by friends who were staying there. The Hotel is very well known to us frequented frequently in the 1960-1980 period. We were disappointed to see its decline from these days when the food and the establishment was 1st class. It is in a magnificent setting looking out on to the 18th green at Royal Troon Golf Course and across the Clyde to Arran with magnificent sunsets. It is now a very ordinary Hotel and the food is ordinary and very expensive £29.50 for 2 courses at dinner and many surcharges for certain dishes even £5 extra for cheese and biscuits. This area in Ayrshire is well off for restaurants and the competition is keen and prices are reasonable and the food much better. We had chicken with black pudding and ice cream for dessert @ £29.50 each poor value. The dining room was quite busy but with residents. They must have poor response from locals at these prices. Sad to see a Hotel that has lost its former glory..

Room Tip: We did not stay over in the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potterspury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Well maintained with friendly and helpful staff ideal if you are a golfer. The rooms however are nearly all small and simply equipped, closer to a 3 than a 4 star rating. We asked for something bigger and paid extra for suite 222 which was superb. Location is great on the beach and a nice walk to the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a night away, the room was very nice and larger than expected. The bathroom was a let down but did not bother us much. I fixed the bathroom door handle but the staircase to the bathroom was wobbly and I did not have my tool kit with me! Breakfast was very good, the staff helpful and the choice is to be commended. The reception were helpful from check in to check out. Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a wonderful overnight stay at the Marine Hotel on a special deal rate. Excellent service and facilities. Lovely 3 course dinner and cooked breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a lovely night's stay here but a few niggles which could have made our stay even better. Our room was ready on arrival but housekeeping could be better. Discovered a dirty hand towel laying in the wardrobe and a half drunk bottle of still water by the bedside which should have been removed and replaced by a fresh one.

Bathroom was in need of an upgrade - broken handle on door and cracked floor tiles.

Meal in the evening was very good but marred by waiting thirty minutes for our starters to arrive and another twenty minute wait for our mains. Not enough staff in the kitchen to cope with a busy restaurant.

Breakfast was better with a good selection of cereals, pastries, juice and good choice of hot food which was ordered and brought promptly to our table by a smiling waitress.

Would stay here again but hopefully would not encounter these problems again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage.With the new Two Fat Ladies restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it’s the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.