We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a leisurely elegant break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Troon
glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a leisurely elegant break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Superb position, excellent views, very welcoming well trained amiable staff. Great for a leisurely break, with a pool and nicely laid out rooms.
Yes we found wee niggles, but the food selection and the bar were better than expected.

We were pleasantly surprised by the width of ages of the other guests dinning. (possibly not a place for children, as there was nothing organised for that age group).

Breakfast had a wide selection and would please most tastes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    596
    370
    133
    66
    46
See reviews for
165
645
19
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My friend and I booked this Hotel through Classic Britain, its was a fab deal, dinner bed and breakfast. Excellent welcome and room was ready 30 mins early. Full use of leisure facilities. Also booked Champ AFternoon Tea, waiting 30 mins for sandwiches etc and tea was served, but requested another fresh pot! This was also excellent. Choice of dinner menu and breakfast was excellent, again couldn't fault this. Room and facilities were very clean. Daytime bar staff, perhaps, could learn to smile

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room and window seat when dining, cause the view is beautiful especially if dry, br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I visited the hotel in March 2013 with my Mum for a 2 day break, we had a wonderful trip and would love to visit again one day!

When we checked in the receptionist was great and even gave us a free upgrade to a room with a wonderful view. The room was very spacious with bathrobes and slippers included.

We had a 2 night DBB, which included a 3 course meal each night, the menu had a wide variety of dishes which were all mouth watering. I am Gluten free and the Chef and staff were very accomodating!

We didnt visit the spa which was a shame but instead we went for walks which were great.

We would definately visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Marine Hotel is quite an imposing sea front building with decent views from the upper floor rooms. At least they would be if the double glazed units weren't full of condensation. Oh, and then there's drafts flooding in from around the ill fitted frames. The whole place was once grand, but at a guess that was about 20 years ago. It is now tired and well past its best. The walls are thin enough to hear the neighbours.

4*? Not in my book.

If it sounds bad, then I am afraid to say that from here it goes downhill. The restaurant menu looks good, and the food is reasonable but at £35 per head it is hardly great value. The main issue is actually getting the restaurant to provide said food. Upon being seated at a table, it took 15 minutes for the staff to organise drinks, and a full 55 minutes to produce the first course. If they are that busy, then woudn't it be sensible to put on enough table staff to cover the demand? Seemingly not.

Breakfast the next morning followed a similar pattern. Just as well we were up early, otherwise it is doubtful weather breakfast would have arrived much before lunchtime.

The spa was a bit grubby too. The sauna had no water facilities, so was more like a furnace. The alternative, the steam room, appeared to be housing fungus colonies in the tile grout and on the ceiling.

The management did waive our bar bill for one night, but it was too late. I didn't want my bill discounted. I wanted a good hotel with good service.

All in all, a complete waste of money and very glad to go home. You've been warned.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Visited this hotel with a group of ladies to enjoy a leisurely, get-away-from-it-all break and it certainly filled the requirements. From the moment we arrived, we felt like a valued customer. Concierge greeted and directed us to Reception. Very speedy and efficient checkin and rooms were ready before we had been advised to check in. Lunch very relaxed and tasty. Leisure facilities great (only gripe is it would have been nice to have loungers but we managed well on the adequate chairs!) and spotless. Spa treatments excellent also with plenty of time for chill in their tranquility room. Dinner very tasty (nicest meal out many of us have had for a while!) and efficient service. Rooms spotless but varied in size and facilities - some had showers only, some were 3x as big as others - but all very adequate. Checkout very efficent and quick. Fabulous service - even after when I had to phone up to locate some lost property. WIll certainly use again and would recommend entirely.

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms only have showers so ask specifically for bath if you wish one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently spent a couple of days at the Marine having done so frequently in the past. This hotel is set in a superb location adjacent to the golf courses and looking out to Arran. The public areas of this hotel are relaxing and well maintained - similar with most bedrooms we have stayed in over the years. Have occasionally used leisure facilities and seem more than adequate. Cannot specifically comment on the spa facilities as we have never used but seem very popular.

In the main staff we have encountered have been polite and helpful.

The only issue that I have with this hotel is with variable quality of food specifically evening meal. The restuarant is situated with beautiful views over to Arran and in my opinion has potential to be a most excellent and attractive offering. That is unfortunately the not always the case. On our last visit my wife (vegetarian) ordered a pasta & vegetable main course. This was not up to expected standard - in summary pasta one would purchase from any retail outlet poorly/over cooked along with some mixed roasted veg & piece of goats cheese on top. Too much oil/butter basically ruined this dish.

The above is only one example. I feel that with correct training meals could be of a consistent and higher quality.

Despite all of above I would recommend this hotel and would use again. At present however only on b&b basis i.e until consistent improvements in food are noted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a very enjoyable 3 days here,upgraded to a lovely suite with beautiful sea view but our parent room was at the back with no view and we had especially requested a walk in shower which in actual fact had a high step up to it and not handrails.We asked about changing them to a room with facilities for The Disabled but wre told those rooms only had wheelchair access and baths...confusing.
The food was great and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms at front with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage.With the new Two Fat Ladies restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it’s the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.