We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back again and again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Marine Hotel to your Saves list
The Marine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back again and again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Marine Hotel. It is in a perfect location. You are on the edge of the town and have wonderful views of the famous Royal Troon golf course and the Firth of Clyde - with the Isle of Arran in the distance. There are bus stops just a few minutes from the hotel and if you have an over 60s bus pass you can take trips to Prestwick, Ayr etc absolutely free! If you are not on a DBB package then it is quite expensive to eat in the restaurant, although the food is lovely and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review and for your continued support of the hotel. I am delighted that you keep on coming back to enjoy the area and our facilities. I look forward to your next visit. Regards. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    402
    156
    75
    51
See reviews for
188
689
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here on an internet deal - dinner, bed and breakfast. Overall happy as comfortable stay in a stunning location (despite the rain!). Highlight was great meals in the restaurant. Lowlights were a bathroom that could have been cleaner and reception staff that bordered on rude with their reluctance to smile. We booked late and this may be why we were given a tired room (missing wardrobe door handle, loose tap in bathroom), but would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I have passed on your kind comments regarding the food to our team of chefs. I apologise that you found our reception staff to be not as happy as the rest of the team. I will of course look into your comments and have also passed on your bathroom comment to the housekeeper. I hope we can welcome you back sometime soon. Kind Regards. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Everything about our recent stay at this hotel was exceptional. We were very impressed with the suite that we stayed in. It was very large and comfortable with views on all sides of the golf course and across to Arran. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were excellent. Breakfast was also to a very high standard with a very good choice available. The views from the restaurant and also the bar area were lovely. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the extra space and views which our suites offer and also our food on offer at both breakfast and dinner. Thanks again. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights in June and was impressed with the hotel, fantastic country hotel with nice lobby, restaurant and friendly staff. Food was priced well and tasty with a great breakfast. Rooms were large, great beds and well equipped with decent en-suite bathrooms. It was expensive - around £150/night, but was good. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review. I have passed on your comments to the team and I hope we can welcome you back. Regards. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I booked a one night stay at the hotel for my husband and I. The staff were all so friendly and efficient in all areas of the hotel. We ended up with a fantastic large bedroom which was so comfortable. We also enjoyed a lovely dinner in the restaurant and nothing was too much bother for the staff serving us as my husband only likes very plain food and got exactly what he asked for. Breakfast was also lovely. We just wished we had been able to stay longer - can't wait till we get a chance to go back. Thank you.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and although there was a wedding on that evening, we didn't hear any no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience our hotel has to offer. I have passed on your comments to my great team and I hope next time you have the chance to stay a bit longer. Kind Regards. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were there on a golf trip, and I have grown to understand that European hotels are different than hotel in the US, but this place was bad. Granted we were at the Fairmont in St. Andrews before we arrived at the this hotel so it did suffer from comparison.

Rooms:
The rooms were TINY. I was sharing a room and we had two twin beds that were seperated by 18 inches(See Photo). The bathrooms were just as tiny and the only have a small piece of glass for a shower seperater. When you took a shower, they entire bathroom would be soaked. Anything you want dry, you need to take out of the bathroom before you shower. Our view was horrendous(See Picture) almost comical how bad it was. By far the worst was the lack of air conditioning. We happend to be in Scotland and it was dry and sunny. There was no air conditioning so you were dependent on having your windows open. Our windows(No Screens) were surrounded by walls and roofs so we would get no breeze at all.

Drinks:
As stated by another reviewer, the drinks were very expensive. While the bar is nice enough it is very expensive to drink there. They also offer "Free" internet service in the bar, but it is so slow it takes 10-15 minutes to bring up one web page. They are happy to sell you faster internet, but the free internet is not usable.

Breakfast:
The breakfast is exactly the same everyday. No real variaty. Every day we would order 2-3 eggs each and they always brought out 1 egg at a time. You had to keep asking for additional eggs.

Overall, there has to be someplace better than this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With regards to your room we do offer Executive rooms and Suites which do guarantee more space and a view to every golf agent who books. These do however as you would expect attract a supplemental charge. We are a hotel that is over 100 years old so as you have pointed out we are not a purpose built golf resort hotel like Fairmont. I would like to think we do however have more charm and history than a new hotel. I will look into your comments regarding the internet and breakfast service however i do feel that the variety we offer for breakfast each day is more than adequate. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review and I am sorry we could not satisfy your needs on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights with friends to celebrate a special birthday. After asking for a sea view with roms of the same floor we got exactly that. The rooms were maybe a bit smaller than we expected but realise after the other trips to foreign part we have been spoiled. It is one of the best trained staff I have ever come accross for efficiency and customer satisfaction. Nothing was too much trouble and there were always plenty around.
We played Lochgreen golf course which is a good half hour walk and five minutes in the car but visible from the hotel as is Royal Troon. The course is a good test and layout and condition are very good and thouroughly enjoyed it. We also ate in the hotel 1st night then the Lido in town on the 2nd night. I can thoroughly recommend both.
Showers were great and plenty of pressure. The pool though smallish has Jaccusi, steam room and sauna and staff there are very thelpful in showing you round as well as security conscious.
A well managed hotel and can say we can be proud to be Scottish based on this experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineGM, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that my young team looked after you very well during your stay. I hope you will return in the future to enjoy the fabulous sea views over to Arran. Thanks. Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage.With the new Two Fat Ladies restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it’s the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.