We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maharani

Maharani
42-46 west portland Street, Troon KA10 6AB, Scotland
01292 311797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Troon
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
irvine scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Another amazing meal ( this time a take away). Never ever been disappointed. Worth the drive from Irvine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    21
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The curries on offer to suit every taste are superb and the Chicken Chat and Chicken Pakora mmmmm.

We have been going to the Maharani for years now and it never disappoints.

Sitting in or Taking away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ate at the Maharani Last night and, as always a warm welcome, followed by great service and a tasty meal at reasonable cost. Always high quality with a friendly reception !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hope it was just a bad day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Have eaten here numerous times and usually take friends when they are visiting, we went recently and it was not great in terms of the service, this really shocked me as it's always been a very well run and friendly restaurant. It was not busy when we arrived and the order was not taken for almost 30 minutes, there was about 40 minutes between starter and main course and we had not ordered anything out of the ordinary! At no point was the service anything other than slow and impersonal. I really do hope this was just a bad day for them as the food was delicious, they just need to focus on the service a bit more to make it the whole package

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

they have a large selection of indian foods on their menu. It takes not long for them to prepare your meal. The curries are delicious and come with nan bread, rice etc. You can get a deal for 2 where you choose 2 curries, 2 large nan breads, lots of rice( I mean like XXXL), Spiced Onions, and popodoms and a sauce. To be honest it could feed a family of 4 or 3 adult etc. it is a lot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharani also viewed

Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.