We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far too busy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan

The Swan
39 Portland Street, Troon KA10 6AA, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 41 Restaurants in Troon
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“far too busy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

hated it ...the staff are crabbit faced...as thery were busy....walked out as that was enough for me

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    13
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap prices and cheap quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

If cost is your most important factor then head to The Swan. If however you wish to get quality food then give it a wide berth. Had an extremely competively priced breakfast but extremely disappointed in the quality of product used.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

this is a lovely welcoming place with a very varied menu. The staff are very good and the meals are basic but tasty what I feel is lacking is there standards of cleanliness, on general its fine but its the little things like dust on light shades toilets not been freshened up, salt and pepper needing a wipe over. All in all iv ate here on several occassions and enjoyed it so yes I would recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“LOVELY FOOD LOVELY STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was going with friends to the Swan in Troon on the 2nd of October I read the reviews and decided not to go .2 other friends told me it was a lovely meal so the following week I decided to take my husband for a Birthday lunch.What a lovely meal we had could not believe the amount of food on the plate my husband had to ask for a bigger plate!!; it was supposed to be a pensioners portion.The 2 girls were very pleasant and although they were very busy took time to talk and the service was quick it was very busy and I am going back with 3 friends next week!! I would definetley recommend the Swan to anyone.P.S we had roast beef and it melted in your mouth

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst restaurant ever!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

food was awful staff were so rude and the owner is just a joke he has terrible customer service skills will not be back in this place again would suggest no one goes to this place I will be spreading word of mouth to my friends and family. food was horrible tasted like microwave food pretty sure they buy things from the farmfoods across the road as we seen a ataff member go acroas to it and come back with bags of stuff and charge 4 times the price for it. would rather go a walk down the beach with a bag of chips from chippy than eat in this horrible little place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Troon, South Ayrshire
Troon, South Ayrshire
 
Troon, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.