We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Old Loans Inn to your Saves list
Old Loans Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Troon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Largs, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Myself & my wife were given a voucher for an overnight stay evening meal & breakfast.

On arrival we were greeted at tne reception desk, checking in was very straight forward.

Entering the room, it was spotlessly clean and well laid out. A bottle of water and 2 apples were laid out for us, a nice touch. The only thing in the room that bemused me, was when my wife went to hang here coat in the wardrobe. Inside the wardrobe was a chest of drawers with the tea & coffe facilities on it.
Then i came across the reason for this, the ceiling at the window had water marks on the paint & an upright heater standing near by.

On retiring after the evening meal. I was woken early in the morning with back pain. This was due to the bed being a tad uncomfortable. My wife was of the same opinion. The bed was the only fault we had with the room.

Evening meal: We couldn't fault the Service, the staff were very poliet. The food was of an average standard, i suppose what you would expect from an overnight deal.
The breakfast was much the same as the evening meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    79
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
191
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Loans which we purchased via a groupon deal

Pros
* great value deal
* Food is fantastic
* Hotel very clean and rooms decorated to a good standard
* Great shower

Cons
* I can't underestimate how uncomfortable the beds are!!! The mattress is so hard and i had the worse sleep I’ve had in a long time!
* After being awake from 630 am we went for breakfast just after 7. We were literally the only people there. I asked for a latte, and the reply i received was "We don't do lattes in the morning". Even if that were the case it's not as if the waiter "George" was rushed off his feet. Poor customer service if you ask me. Think he was more interested in reading his paper.
* Checked out before 9am, no "how was your stay" or anything remotely pleasant. Lacked a personal touch.

Disappointingly i won't be staying at the hotel again but i cannot fault the food, so would return for dinner.

If you change the beds then let me know.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse Lanarkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Well after a busy Christmas and New Year with the family and friends it was just what we needed a nice quite night away.
Booked through itison.
Lovely room and lovely bar area with a relaxed feel to it so we just had to sit and a have a few wee drinks.
We then had dinner in the restaurant where there was a mix up with our order so we were given a complimentary drink for the delay.
Food was lovely but felt a bit cheated by the £8 supplement for the fillet steak.
Would I recommend it to my friends and family a big YES.
Only complaint was the bedroom was very warm and yes I turned the heating down. but still warm.

Room Tip: 106 really warm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We found this hotel using a voucher deal and WOW. When we arrived we shown to a newly furbished room and the decor was outstanding. We booked our dinner time and relaxed for a while. We headed down for dinner, had a drink in the bar before being shown to our table. There was a great atmoshpere in the restaurant and the staff although busy were fantastic.

The meal was lovely and we headed back to the bar for a few more libations after dinner before turning in.

The following morning, breakfast was fantastic and again the staff were polite and helpful.

We loved our stay at Old loans so much we have booked to stay at one of the sister hotels "The Gailes" at the end of March.

I hope its as good as the Old Loans and we will be very happy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is an ideal place to stay and eat, whether you pop in for lunch or stay over and have an evening meal we spent the 30th December here and had a great time fantastic choice of food on the menu and equally good choice on the wine list. The staff were very attentive the room clean and tidy with fresh fruit and bottled water in the room on arrival the breakfast in the morning was excellent and plenty of choice yet again would not hesitate to return keep up the good wok

Room Tip: we were on second floor next to the outside patio and seating area room overlooked front of inn but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

what a great w/end we had 1st the food was tremendous .and plentyful.great choice on offer.a great big thankyou to all the staff.they are all great.2nd the rooms are big and very clean .housekeeping are doing a great job.3rd the drinks great choice on offer .so keep up the good works ,and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonny Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed in the Old Loans for two nights to attend the new year base at their sister hotel the Gales, lovely and clean with friendly helpful staff and big warm rooms, our room was on the ground floor facing the road so we had a bit of traffic noise also the windows should have some sort of net curtain on them because if you are in the room with the light on anyone passing on the street can see in as my wife discovered when she opened the blind and there were two drunk men waving at her. When the mini-bus arrived to collect us the driver first could not get the door open then when he got it open he could not get it to shut, not his finest hour but he had never driven it before and no one had shown him how to work it, That apart we had a very nice couple of days thanks to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as front ones face a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Address: Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Loans Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Loans Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.