We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK.........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Loans Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Loans Inn to your Saves list
Old Loans Inn
Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Troon B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Just OK.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spotlessly clean,functional but souless.No assistance with luggage which you have to drag through the bar.View was of the main road a few feet in front of the window so no privacy.Food was OK but restaurant was uncomfortably hot.When I asked if it was alright to move (away from the open kitchen) I was informed "it is the same temperature everywhere" which was rubbish as it was much cooler when we moved nearer the bar and the welcoming a/c.Staff at breakfast were much chirpier although dining area was still too hot.Nobody on reception all the time we were there so no hello/goodbye/thanks for your money.A place to stay rather than a place to enjoy.

Room Tip: Get way from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    71
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
171
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from an over night stay in oald loans inn. We booked a deal for dinner bed breakfast cost of £69.00,we opted to upgrade our room for an extra £10.00each which was well worth it, we stayed in room 111(royal troon) which was a very large and spacious room, large bathroom with overhead rain shower and jacuzzi bath. Dinner option was two course from the set menu but we chose to have dinner off the main menu we received £20.00 deduction of our final bill, Food was nice and the service and atmosphere in restaurant was very good there is also a lovely bar lounge where you can sit and relax after dinner.
Breakfast was nice, help yourself to orange juice and cereal and Toast, the toaster machine is another story there was only one side of toaster working and the other side takes for ever to toast, please!please!please! Invest in a decent toaster, we also had a lovely cooked breakfast made fresh to order.
We had a lovely night away and we are looking forward to our next stay,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at The Old Loans Inn as we were attending a wedding, close by, in Scotland. The Old Loans Inn is a fantastic hotel, as it is: clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Moreover, the staff are friendly and the restaurant food is first class.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine as the main road is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back from a overnight at this hotel, our second visit. This is a gorgeous small hotel in the village of Loans, just outside Troon. Had a very nice room overlooking the outdoor seating area/car park at the back of the hotel. We had booked on a package, BB and 2 courses for dinner, but what was not said was that the dinner had to be taken from the much smaller 'Lite' menu. We were handed this menu at check in with no mention made of the larger menu. I asked later if we could eat from the other menu and would we receive an allowance against the price and I was told that we would receive an allowance of £10 each (the cost of the Lite menu) against our total bill. Guess what....we were charged full price, although this was rectified very quickly by the waiter. If we had not checked the bill.........!!!!!!!! Bar prices are quite expensive and the toaster in the dining room at breakfast seriously needs to be updated to something that will actually toast bread properly and quickly........perhaps this should be done not by the customers, but by the kitchen staff then breakfast will not get cold while waiting on bread being toasted to 'barely brown'!! The rooms were a little too warm for my liking but other than that this is a gorgeous hotel that just needs to iron out a few problems in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel as the ground floor front facing rooms have no privacy as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This had been recommended by a relative who lives in Troon,and a very good one it was too.
It's a little gem. We stayed overnight on our way back South.
On the outside it looks like a large well-kept cottage, but step through the
front doors and it displays its contemporary side. Modern clean cut reception
and bright corridors. There's a lift available too.
Our big double-deluxe top floor room was clean and very comfortable. Loads of space, great size bed. A small en-suite modern bathroom with shower over a bath was sparkling; bit of a irritating squeak in the floor though.
Big TV with sufficient programmes for our needs. This room overlooked the road outside but we were not disturbed by any noise.
Breakfast is downstairs in the restaurant with a selection of cereals and juices. The toaster wasn't flipping the toast out before burnt to a crisp, but that's a minor moan.You can order a hot breakfast to your liking, which is something we much prefer. Much bigger hotels than this still dish out a tepid, cooked, buffet breakfast, so to have it freshly cooked scored highly for me - and it was good too.
We had already eaten before we arrived here, so sitting there at breakfast we saw some very nice sounding dishes on the chalkboards. If we ever come this way again, dinner will be included.
The outside terraces to the rear are well kept and, I'm sure, very inviting in summer. Parking is alongside.
All staff were welcoming and cheerful. All-in-all a very pleasant stay for a reasonable rate, and it's perfect for golfers.
Give it a go, I'd be surprised if you are disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask reception. They told me what was available and described the ameneties of each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Piersland Hotel right in Troon and I have written my review of The Old Loans as it was one of two hotels we stayed at on this trip, but I would not like anyone not to read what I wrote about The Old Loans, and so would just like to add this referring only to this hotel.


I rang The Old Loans Inn and was fortunate, as time was getting on, to get one of the only two rooms that were left for that evening, and HOW fortunate it turned out to be. This establishment is absolutely gorgeous and whoever has been responsible for the design/refurbishment, has done it not only with great taste and imagination, but in consideration of every thing in mind for the comfort of the guests. The rooms/en suites are superb - and I don`t only mean `for the money` ! Although it is ostensibly a pub/restaurant, with hotel facilities it is great for a comfortable stay within two miles of Troon. What is lacks in close proximity to the sea is made up for by the facilities and amenities within Old Loans, without having to take a step anywhere else. Sadly, the reason for our trip and our eventual destination that we were heading for,was The Turnberry resort to stay there for two days to play golf, - Well, I can plan all sorts of things by reading reviews, etc., but I cannot plan for the weather...............and have managed to pick the worst four days (weather wise) in 50 years, so we have headed back home with the snow on our heels all the way back home... - -Tomorrow is another day.and hopefully I shall pick three days in a row when we return to Scotland when the sun is shining and the wind isn`t blowing a hooley !!...and when I am in the area again, I shall most certainly stay at The Old Loans Inn.

Room Tip: Room 104 - good enough for me, though I would have asked if they had one larger - but then I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friends and I went or meal n had the chicken on skewers. Tasty time. However all 3 of us were I'll after leaving. When we advised the manager the next day he told us to go to our doctor with a stool sample! No apology. Will not be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Address: Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Loans Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.