We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Loans Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Loans Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Loans Inn
Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Troon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for the first time and will be back again. I found the staff at the Inn extremely polite, friendly and approachable. From the moment we entered the Inn we received a warm welcome. The food at the restaurant was of high quality with a wide range to suit all tastes. The rooms were very spacious and clean and I had a great night's sleep. The breakfast in the morning was also perfect. I can't praise this Inn enough.The House-keeping staff must work very hard at keeping this place spotless. If management are reading this then please thank your hard working staff, they are a credit to your business.

Room Tip: We were in Room 215, if your tall then you might want to be careful of the sloping roof in this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    61
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
154
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we have stayed here since it opned nearly 3 years ago. as always it is fantastic. the staff are so friendly and good at their jobs. they have alwyas made us feel so welcome. be back soon. xxx rooms are lovely, beds comfy, modern, bathrooms are perfect. best hotel, and so homely and modern.

Room Tip: there is no fitness or pool. but that is not a prob. we would not want that. its a great time away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Old Loans Inn and delighted to say it was still great.

We arrived on a wet and wild day and were quickly checked in, bags dropped in our lovely room and then down to the bar area and plonked ourselves in front of the lovely open fire with hot coffee and home made pastries. Lovely.

The food in the restaurant was superb and great value as we chose from the "light bites" menu, which is allegedly smaller portions for a cheaper price. The portions were plenty big enough for us.

This trip for us was simply an overnight stay for pure relaxation, with no intention of leaving the Inn; and that's exactly what we had. We enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar and read our books and the papers then retired to our room to freshen up before enjoying dinner in the restaurant. We then headed to our room to watch a movie with a glass of wine. Sheer bliss.

Staff very attentive, prompt and professional yet again. We will go back (soon).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Booked a 2 night away stay for Xmas. Reviews looked great. Room was good value and staff were brilliant!

Food - Monday evening complained about 'steak' left most of it as it was tough. Nothing done. Rest of food excellent.

Xmas Dinner. Main course of beef - dry, tasteless and 50% fat. Complained - no action taken.

Breakfast - really good.

Probably didn't see hotel at its best - Xmas. Disappointed at lack of interest regarding my complaint. Bill was £350.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Manager at Old Loans Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Further to your review I am sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of the food that you received on your recent visit to the Old Loans Inn. From previous reviews I am sure you will see that this is certainly not the norm for our food quality. As a privately owned business we do welcome feedback and I am sorry that the issues that you raised once highlighted to our team were not resolved whilst you were at the hotel. Please be assured that we will raise your comments with our team. I would be obliged if you could contact me, Gill Gallagher at our head office, The Gailes Hotel on 01294 204040 as I would like to restore your faith in our product and resolve the issues you have highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent Saturday night in the hotel, could not fault the place in any way. The food was good, extensive menu, room bright, clean and well eqiped.Exellent value for money especially on the Groupon deal. Would go back again and would also recommend to friends and family. Staff very helpfull.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel very noisy when the weather is wet and windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

have been going here quite a lot ,great meals and service friendly staff lovely atmosphere and very good value for money a special place for a good night out have recommended to friends and family all ways seems busy worth booking in advance

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel through groupon which was excellent value for money! Not expecting much for what we paid we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was bright and welcoming from the outside, on the inside the interior was modern with a Scottish twist. The rooms were large,well equipped and very comfortable,the decor being of a high standard. There was a restaurant and a bar area on the ground floor which was more suited to the restaurant.both being comfortable clean and of a high standard suitable for any occasion. We had booked for dinner which was part of the deal. The menu was extensive enough to cater for all tastes having being spoilt for choice we decided on our courses which were excellent and big portions,the service being excellent. The only gripe was the cost of drink was overpriced which you normally expect in a hotel but in a hotel of this size and in this location you would expect better! Overall would strongly recomend especially if you get a deal!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Loans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Loans Inn

Address: Main Street | Loans, Troon KA10 7EX , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Troon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Old Loans Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Loans Hotel Troon
Old Loans Inn Troon, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Loans Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.