We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for walking trip to Torridon.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Torridon Inn to your Saves list
The Torridon Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   By Achnasheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent base for walking trip to Torridon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good value hotel on Loch Torridon in the grounds of the more expensive hotel. We stayed for 3 nights in May 2013. Rooms comfortable and relatively large with a small TV that shows Sky sports if you are interested in keeping up with such things. Wifi is available in the lounge and bar but not in the rooms. Hotel is in a fabulous location for walking and other outdoor pursuits but don't underestimate the Torridon mountains. They look pretty formidable, even in good weather ! Due to wind and rain we kept down to low levels but there is still plenty of good walking to be had. There is a good bar selling a selection of local beers and a large collection of malt whiskey. Food can be taken in the bar or in the adjacent restaurant and it is of a perfectly adequate standard although we were struggling to make choices on the 3rd night. It is possible to eat at the hotel at £55 for a 5 course dinner, compared to ~ £20 for 3 courses at the Inn. There are relatively few other places to eat nearby as the location is so remote, so the food might be an issue if you are staying longer than 3 or 4 days. Having said that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would certainly visit again. The main star though is the local countryside which is absolutely magnificent.

Room Tip: Room 23 is large double with large flat screen tv. Our friends stayed here and it was much nicer Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback – next time you visit you may wish for one of our guides to take you up the mountains – not so formidable. Appreciate our menu is not so extensive but we can always offer an alternative choice from our specials board if you are staying longer. Glad you enjoyed the Inn and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    88
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the Torridon Inn with a group of guys on a hill walking trip on 3rd May 2013. Accommodation was perfectly acceptable; one room slept 6 guys, the other slept the other 4. Rooms were clean, tidy and, given the weather, thankfully warm!
Bar and restaurant are attached to the Torridon Inn.
Bar was cosy. Not a huge range of real ales but the few on offer were perfectly drinkable. Nice range of malt whisky.
Excellent evening meal in the restaurant and the breakfast also comes recommended. Food hit the spot.
Be happy to stay here again. Can't say fairer than that.
Pleased to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back – dram by the fire waiting for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Returning to Torridon after many years, our first day was a complete wash-out with the weather, and so we had a delightful, though expensive, afternoon tea in the nearby very posh Torridon Hotel. We lingered on in front of the fire, enjoying the views out over the windswept loch, with occasional bursts of the evening sun giving some spectacular rainbows. By this stage, we couldn't face a long drive looking for a B and B, nor the hotel room prices, so we walked 50 metres up the hill to the Torridon Inn and booked a room in the stable court. Delightful, warm, cosy, well-appointed, with a view out over a field of drookit Hielan' Coos. A lovely meal in the evening. OK, the menu wasn't very extensive, and I would have welcomed some sea-food, but it was hearty and delicious. The staff couldn't have been nicer, breakfast was delicious, and the whole experience was first-rate. We'll definitely be back. (Oh, and our second day in Torridon was beautiful, and we had a wonderful walk up to the Triple Buttress.)

Room Tip: Ask for no 27, with a good window overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed the Torridon Inn and that the team looked after you well – first rate is what we are aiming for. Certainly will get our coos to smile. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A group of us were staying nearby in self-catering and had decided to eat out on one night and chose the Torridon Inn as it was not far from our accommodation. Our organiser had booked in advance and we had even chosen menu items in advance. We arrived to find that they had got the time of our booking wrong. We had booked for 7.30 and they were expecting us at 8.00. We were happy to have a drink in the bar first (except for the German lady in our party who couldn't believe the inefficiency). I was first to the bar and ordered a pint of the local real ale which was OK although it was a very dark beer and wouldn't have been my first choice; had there been one. There was no choice of real ales; despite the place having Cask marque status and a sign above the bar saying 'Try one of our selection of real ales', this was the only one and it immediately went off after I'd ordered my drink; leaving the rest of the mainly beer-drinking group with a choice of lager or Guinness. They didn't have any decent bottled beers like many pubs in NW Scotland. About half an hour later, another real ale did come on but it was another dark beer; similar to the first. This place definitely deserves to have Cask marque status removed. The staff were not very efficient and seemed hassled. The place didn't seem exceptionally busy. When we finally got our food, on the whole it was very good but the prices had all gone up from the menu we had been sent in advance. In my case, the scallops starter was over £10 which, whilst I wouldn't expect scallops to be cheap, is well over the top. This was rather annoying. Although the food was pretty good, the service wasn't and I wouldn't recommend it. On the whole , we wished we'd chosen one of the other eateries in the area; even if they were a bit further away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to The Inn which appears to be with the fact that there was a mix up with your table time. Unfortunately there appeared to be confusion, as the organiser had booked 8pm but the rest of the group had thought it was 7.30 pm. The arrival of a large group early, did mean that the kitchen and team were not quite as prepared as they should have been but I am pleased to read that once the food arrived you enjoyed it. The feedback form the majority of your group was very positive and so we were sorry to read that after a lovely evening some of the party were disappointed. We take all the comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked in at the inn for a couple of days mountain biking & was very impressed by the chap on reception who was very amiable & in the middle of a meal, but he made us very welcome.
Our twin room was very clean, spacious & warm with all the facilities you'd expect (The tv was small but hey ho). The bar wasn't too well stocked with local beers as they'd had a very busy Easter & were waiting for more, (for which the barman apologised profusely) which didn't bother us as the one 'real ale' on tap was lovely. The menu wasn't very extensive but I find it usually means your'e gonna get something freshly cooked & not 'ping ping chicken' & i was right, the food was excellent & not too expensive (apart from my friends salmon which was quite small)
All in all we had a great stay & will be back at some point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and the limited menu does allow us to ensure that quality of our food is our focus, we are pleased to have our full summer menu on now and the mussels are delicious. Apologies again for the dip in our real ale stock but we will have lots of variety on your return visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I and our five month old Border Terrier pup (Hamish). recently spent four nights in the Inn at the Torridon. We have a busy life style and now and then love to go walking in mountains just to get away from it all.
This was our first visit to the Torridon area, and on arrival our eyes lit up and our jaws dropped. The location is spectacular, I have stayed in many beautiful places in Scotland but I suggest this is one of the best.
We were greeted by friendly, accommodating, relaxed staff who were amused by the antics of Hamish, The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and serviced every day when we were out on the hill.
As we had the dog we had to eat in the bar every evening. The food was excellent pub fayre although the choice was slightly limited. The bar staff were excellent and friendly and they did the best they could to make the experience comfortable and enjoyable.
The only slight draw back was the seating in the bar area. There are two large rustic tables with some stools,and a selection of coffee tables and hotel chairs not really suitable for dining. I mentioned this in my feedback to management and I have since had a reply stating that the bar will be refurbished within the next twelve months.
It is such a pity as I would have give the Torridon Inn full marks if the bar had been slightly more comfortable. This point however would not stop me from going back as everything else was such a delight. Thank you Torridon Inn for your part in a wonderful stay in the Torridon area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful area that we live in – it is jaw dropping you are right. Very pleased to read that you enjoyed the comforts of the Torridon Inn. Agree the low tables are tricky to eat from and as part of our continuous refurbishment the Inn tables are being replaced this year. So on your next visit you can relax in comfort with Hamish at your feet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesey, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

food was lovely, cant deny it but there was no variety... You could only choose between something like 6 choices, none of them i wanted so had to settle for spending alot of money on a burger because the rest wasn't anything i like... The servers gave us our food in good time but forgot our starter, so ended up eating it after the main!! Great tasting food that is all it has!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit to The Torridon Inn. We do operate a more simple menu in the winter and quieter months. We now have our full summer menu available with a wide choice which we have had positive feedback on. Let us know if you plan to return to the Inn and if you contact me I am will ensure that you have something else than just the burger to enjoy. Our chefs would be more than happy to make a special for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Address: By Achnasheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Torridon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.