We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely luxury retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Torridon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Torridon Inn to your Saves list
The Torridon Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   By Achnasheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Torridon B&B and Inns
Inverness
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A lovely luxury retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

A rare weekend off meant that we could go to the Torridon Inn for a Saturday night. Our room was off the small courtyard and although we were promised parking outside the room, someone else had taken the space, so we had to stay in the main car park - but that is less than 100m away so no problem.

The room was beautifully furnished with lovely big bed and fresh white linen, nice pine wood, and good lighting. Large bathroom too. Tea and coffee facilities included different teas including Rooibos which was a nice touch.

We ate in the Inn in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed excellent food with really good, friendly service from the generally young and vibrant staff.

We had an extremely comfortable night's sleep, and woke very refreshed.

Breakfast was a bit of a guddle at first and we struggled to find a clean table -there just weren't enough staff on - but once we were seated it all came well enough and the food was very good quality.

All in all a superb weekend destination and we thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: A lochside view is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    88
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
abu dhabi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in the lodge for 3 nights and it was excellent. Great value and you could either go casual to the lodge or go to the main house for a more formal dinner. Great soups for lunch and the even arranged a packed lunch for you if you were heading out hiking. Extremely enjoyable and good value. It is remote so, make sure you are prepared!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were fortunate enough to get an extremely large loft-style room, with several windows in the roof providing breath-taking views of the mountains close on either side (and the fresh snow in the morning). Good service and a range of interesting activities offered on-site (extra cost). Definitely try the restaurant attached to the hotel building!

Room Tip: Ask for a loft room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just back from a lovely 2 night stay at the Torridon Inn. As we were lucky enough to have been treated by family to a voucher for the Hotel restaurant on the first night, we also glimpsed how the other half live! Accommodation in the Inn is spacious, comfortable and cosy. Great food and ale in the Inn itself, and despite the rain we had a fab time, and can also recommend Torridon Activities, who we booked an hour of Clay Pigeon Shooting with. The grounds as a whole are really beautiful, and the setting really takes some beating. Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stopped for dinner at The Torridon Inn last night and were extremely impressed with the service we received. I have a gluten intolerance and despite having eaten at The Inn on only two previous occasions, the bar manager not only recognised me and recalled my dietary requirements but consulted with the chef regarding gluten free options and alternatives prior to even serving us! The meal was fantastic and the staff were professional, efficient and could not have been more accomodating.Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our B&B contacted them on Friday to confirm food available until 6pm on Saturday, 24th March. Then at 5pm, this was rescinded, forcing our B&B to provide an evening meal.

With no other option (as we were carless) we popped past at 1pm on Sunday the 25th March to confirm food would be available until 5pm that day, at which time they would be closing for 3 days. However, on arrival at 4pm, we were told there was no food. Upon complaining, they begrudginly provided a basic ham sandwhich, but this cost over 5 quid!? We were told the soup had been thrown out. The coffee machine was switched off and cleaned by 4:30pm, so we missed that too. To make matters worse, we saw the barman eating soup and a hot meal as we left!?! My opinion is that the young staff were demob happy and couldn't be bothered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. From Nov – Mar we have limited opening times due to the seasonality. I think there has been a misunderstanding between being open and when we serve food until during the day.

All winter we have only served lunch from 12-2pm and dinner from 6-8.30pm. On Saturday we were open until 6pm as then there was a private party after this but we were not serving food after 2pm. On Sunday we were open until 5pm but would not have been serving food after 2pm. I am sorry that this was not made clear but all the local B&Bs would have known this policy as it has been in place since November. At 4.30pm on Sunday, Donald requested one of his off duty chefs to make you a sandwich as he did not want to turn you away with nothing as you were walking and would not have been able to get to anywhere else at that time.

Apologies that the service wasn't what you expected but the team were operating as instructed. They did make you a sandwich as they did not want you to have nothing to eat. Should you wish to return we now serve food all day until November.

Kind Regards,

Daniel Rose-Bristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed two nights hillwalking in the area with friends. Most of us shared a six bedded room - warm, spacious, well equipped for six except only two glasses. The food was generally very good in the Inn restaurant, both breakfast and evening meals. The only exception was the hamburger - only average. This was counterbalanced by the excellent porridge.

Overall a very good place to stay for hillwalkers

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon Inn

Address: By Achnasheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Torridon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern convenience meets cosy surroundings at The Torridon Inn which is situated 100 metres from the hotel, on the shores of Loch Torridon. Whether you use it as a base to enjoy some of the many activities on offer at our activities centre, or simply as an informal place to unwind at, you can be guaranteed a most memorable stay at The Torridon Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Torridon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
The Torridon Inn Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Torridon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.