We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Torridon

Save Saved
You added The Torridon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Torridon
Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Torridon
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing place in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After a long and arduous drive over Scotland’s single lane highways we arrived at the most wonderful sight of The Torridon Hotel. A grand place with magnificent surrounding. While the building dates to the late 1800s, the rooms are modern and comfortable; yet retain the quaintness of the Victorian era.

The selection of single malts can result in closing one’s eyes and just pointing. You cannot go wrong. Having drinks in the main sitting room by the fireplace is a delight, as is dinner. While the selection is limited, it is beautifully prepared from local ingredients. The wine list is quite nice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our roads must be very different to those in the USA, the single track roads can take a bit of getting used to! We hope they didn’t detract too much from your enjoyment. Regards, Dan and Rohaise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    33
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
221
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Don't know where to start...... This is beautiful hotel in a stunning location. The staff are really friendly and will do anything to help. We enjoyed every aspect from the stylish bedrooms, amazing food, cosy log fires, to the complimentary activity programme. Highly recommend gorge walking and kayaking - we had an absolute ball! In fact we enjoyed it all so much, we stopped an extra night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do try to be a friendly and relaxed place for our guests to enjoy all that we have to offer in what as you say is a stunning location. We hope that you will visit us again. Regards, Dan and Rohaise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our stay began well, with a friendly greeting and the staff offering to take our bags to our room. The decor in the bedroom was beautiful and contemporary but respectful of the building's heritage, and the bed was huge and comfortable. As it was October, the heating was on high to keep the place warm, but this was a bit much for a comfortable sleep. Perhaps partly our mistake, we should have turned it down a bit as well as opening the windows.

Afternoon tea was provided, then it was on to dinner - after some time spent chilling out in the roll-top bath. The bathroom in our room was generous and the shower excellent and powerful (We booked a Superior room, and got Room 5 - Beinn Eighe, which has great views over Loch Torridon to the village and the western flanks of Liathach.)

The 5-course dinner was superb, without being overly rich or simply too much. A real showcase for local ingredients and subtlety. Point for consideration though - has the food become too complicated if every course needs the waitress to talk you through it before eating? (This is a general issue and affects many more establishments than just The Torridon.)

The bar is extensively stocked, not just with malt whisky but also with a range of well-chosen quality gins.

Breakfast provides everything you could possibly need and again you needn't lift a finger - service is comprehensive.

We decamped to the Inn for our second night on site, and the staff arranged to have our luggage awaiting us in our new room there when we arrived back from our day trip. Our bill was also transferred over accurately and without fuss, allowing me to pay it all on departure from the Inn - joined-up working. I had visions of this becoming a debacle (it's happened to me in other hotels with more than 1 restaurant) but in fact it couldn't have been easier and everything seemed to be correct when I checked it. Well done to the staff!

Lovely setting, wonderfully peaceful and relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just back from 2 days at the The Torridon celebrating our 10th Wedding anniversary with our 3 children. We were made most welcome and looked after by the friendly and helpful staff. It was great to be in a special place (both the hotel and Torridon itself) where one felt was being somewhat pampered but in a relaxed atmosphere. I believe the owners and management have got the balance right with regards to it feeling special but you can also let your hair down a bit. Great food and an excellent and interesting wine list. Just wish we could have stayed longer. Recommend: Yes

Room Tip: If you have children the Diabeg room (17) is great with a decent sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed celebrating your 10th Wedding Anniversary with us and that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. We hope to see you again. Regards, Dan and Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just had an absolutely fabulous two nights stay- had high expectations of the hotel and were not disappointed. Warm welcome and shown to our room (15) which had great views over the loch and mountains. Dined in the restaurant both nights and the food was divine. Breakfast was scrumptious - the porridge with a wee dram a warming treat ... Location terrific - try the hill walk to the ridge of Ben Damph for great views out to Skye and then head back to the hotel for afternoon tea... Will most definitely return again !

Room Tip: Room 15 - for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you had such a fabulous time and will return again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan and Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

In accordance with the previous “Poor” review I would like to adopt and underline some passages in this text which share my mind completely. There are surprising parallels to our stay a couple of weeks later which I cannot express better.

We had stayed at The Torridon in 2006 and loved every minute of it. However, this time we just did not “get it”. Management seems to have lost its way. We had booked a 3 days arrangement incl. Gourmet-Dinner. From the very arrival till the return of the key, there was no personal attention towards us from any person in the management. There was never any employee present at the reception-desk when we happened to appear. We were checked-in by a man (foreign origin) we never saw again. He presumably thought us to be non-resident dinner guests, sent us to the bar to wait for further service. Then he realized the situation, searched our room assignment, fetched the key, and helped with the luggage to our room. The room was the same as in 2006, yet refurbished. The bathroom became much bigger and modernized, however its attitude is very sterile and not really inviting. The downlights look nice, but lack brightness. Difficult to shave with the mirror behind the basin and poor light from above. A first unpleasant impression was due to the fact that the suite was bitterly cold! Heating was not completely turned on (obviously started too late before our arrival), so we turned on full, with the result that after dinner it was hot and sticky, until late in the night the small open windows had allowed the heat to escape. Turn-down service did evidently not mind the temperature.

The previous atmosphere, of a friendly family-owned hotel, was entirely absent. However, in the room we found a hand-written Welcome-Back-Again-Letter from the management.
An inappropriate tone of self-congratulation is reflected in the questionnaire in the bedroom, with its references to exclusive luxury and the personal touch. Examples of the matters on which the hotel seeks feedback are “What exceeded your expectations at the Torridon?” and “Who went the extra mile for you?” Sorry, we cannot report observations of any such kind from our side.

We felt the service at breakfast and in the evening in the restaurant was generally poor. For example, after being served the hot breakfast plate we were told “the toast is on the way”, but it wasn´t for a long time. No waiter was present, almost until the cooked food became cold. At that point, we thought that the quality of the service was a matter for the managers, but none of them ever appeared. Strange enough, we learned from the waiter that it is necessary to make a prior reservation, if you like a neat table at the oriel-window for breakfast although you are the first in the morning!

Once in the mood for it, we noticed other things, too. Years ago turndown service provided hot-water bottels in the beds. This much appreciated custom seems to have ceased. They indeed hoovered daily while the guests were having breakfast. They know very well that the guests are annoyed, therefore they close the usually open door during the procedure. Why not do the job 2 hours later? The Bar was heavily visited by guests from other accomodations than in the main building, making the stay not as cosy as years before. Same is the case with the restaurant, resulting in a certain lack of intimacy.

After the messed welcome the farewell was equally disappointing. On leaving the place, nobody asked if we enjoyed the stay.

We will not dispute that The Torridon is still an unrivaled upscale hotel in this very remote area of the Scottish Highlands. But once having experienced the lack of personal care, there do appear alternatives. Maybe, a lot of people still feel happy with the basic service provided in relation to the stark prices demanded. Sadly, the management does not seem to be aware of the imminent decline. We agree, the hotel has gone down a certain road. We also shall not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Recently we went to the Torridon for dinner. Starting in the bar we were offered a choice of 270 single malt whiskies. the bar looked out over the loch and provided an intimate spot to relax before dinner.
Dinner was served in an adgacent dining room. Service was attentive. Food quality and variety was excellent and this coupled with a fine choice of wines from their cellar.
Coffee was served in an adgacent room.
A beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Look for loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us following your dinner at the hotel restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed it so much. It’s a long trip over from Canada but maybe we’ll see you again. Regards, Dan and Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Torridon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.