We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Torridon

Save Saved
You added The Torridon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Torridon
Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Torridon
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little bit of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

As previous reviews state, although not cheap, the Torridon is a luxurious stay. Beautiful rooms with views over the Loch to match. We felt our bathroom let the room down, feeling a bit 'cold and uninviting' compared to the rest of the hotel and the luxury of our bedroom. The public rooms were warm and cosy on a dull and wet week. Open fires, warming whisky from a selection of over 350 and impeccable service. The evening dinner was a dining experience, served with charm and knowledge by the charming waiters. If you want something special on a trip to the heaven on earth that is Wester Ross then treat yourself to the Torridon.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    26
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
33
213
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we drove up the driveway to our reluctant departure, this hotel met with our greatest expectations and was the highlight to our twelve days spent in Scotland with our friends from Yorkshire. The welcome and attention of the staff throughout our stay, could not be faulted. Our accommodation incorporated one of the turrets into our en-suite bathroom which was modern,spotlessly clean, with every amenity to pamper oneself. The bedroom had a beautiful outlook of the sourounding area,furnished to the highest standard and quality, with all the luxury of a well maintained Boutique Hotel. We dined in every evening, which was a gourmet experience to look forward to. Here the staff too,we're exceptional and catered to ones every wish. The activities offered by The Torridon were well managed and our friends enjoyed the clay pigeon shooting and a guided hike. We walked to the nearby village for their famous Carrot cake, which fortified us for the return walk. All in all, a most wonderful stay and although not inexpensive, the Torridon would be a good choice for any special occasion.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. How wonderful to be the highlight of your trip to Scotland with your friends! We hope to see you again for another special occasion or indeed anytime! Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is absolutley knockout. Dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night was good, and made even more enjoyable by the great staff namely Mr Bonk and Luke.
The real highlight of our two days was the activities especially the gorge scrambling and archery. Ryan and Rich who ran the activities were professional and good crack.
We ate, and quaffed a few real ales at the inn on the second night which was bustling and had a great atmosphere.
Whilst not cheap, we felt the Torridon was good value if you make the most of what is on offer. This includes making the most of the ambiance the hotel offers, for example warming up with a hot chocolate in front of a roaring log fire after a mornings gorge walking is priceless.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed and took advantage of everything that we can offer here. We have passed your kind words on to Cameron (Mr Bonk), Luke, Rich and Ryan. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Such a lovely, comfortable place with superb views and walks in and around the hotel. We sadly only were able to stay one night but wished it had been for longer. The bed was really comfortable, the bathroom very large, clean and wow. The food was also very good, along with the waiter who was charming. The bar filled with 350 different whiskies and over 30 gins also had a really nice feel and the young lad created a fab G&T. Overall, we were so pleased having spent the previous 8 nights in varying hotels, that next time, we will make a bee line here and miss out the rest!!!

Room Tip: I think we were in Annat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a comfortable stay and enjoyed the whisky bar. Hofefully we will be able to welcome you back to Torridon sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Torridon was the first step on our Honeymoon trip, and it provided just the post-wedding relaxation we needed.

The drive to the hotel is amazing, and arriving at the front door of the Torridon we were in awe at the beauty of the surrounding landscape, and the impressive building in front of us.

Our room carried on the theme, with views across the Loch and the ground of the hotel. The room itself was very comfortable, and decorated to a high standard. Our bathroom was circular, part of a turret, and we had a roll top bath in the middle of the room. It was beautiful and very unique.

The highlight of our stay was most certainly the restaurant. Torridon serve a 5-course tasting menu which includes a pre-starter, starter, main course (choice of two options), pre-dessert and dessert course (choice of sweet dessert or cheeseboard) The staff are all wonderfully attentive, and bring you each course with pride and purpose, carefully explaining what it is, where it was sourced from, and how it was cooked. They are all friendly and talkative, ask you how your day was, and suggest itineraries for the next. The food itself is of an exceptional standard. Possibly the best food I have ever eaten. I am doubtful that we will ever experiencing a dining experience quite like it again. I recommend thoroughly choosing the cheeseboard – it’s magnificent and changes daily. Also – although you are taking a 5-course tasting menu, in fact you are provided with canapés before and petit fours & coffee afterwards too!

Another highlight is the Whisky bar which stocks 300 whiskies. The cabinet is so large they have a ladder to reach the top. I was able to taste most of the malts I had on my agenda, some that are difficult to find – especially in London. The bar is very well decorated, and relaxing.

The hotel staff were also very professional and attentive, although perhaps a little defensive at times when questioned about potential issues. My wife is not Scottish, and needed reassurance that the water was safe to drink, being quite peaty and discoloured. While the gentleman behind the reception succeeded in reassuring her, he did seem to misunderstand her intent, assuming she was complaining, rather than enquiring. We had a similar experience when following up on a request to have an item dried by the staff. The young lady (who was very good throughout our stay I should add), responded a little defensively when we asked for an update.
Neither of these encounters detracted from our enjoyment however.

The activities provided are a fantastic addition. We took advantage of the Kayaking, Gorge Scrambling and Archery. All were very professionally organised and great fun.
We were told pre-booking was not required, but frustratingly were told on arrival that due to lack of demand, the kayaking had been cancelled. This was top of my list, so we opted, begrudgingly, to book the kayaking as a paid activity. Another family then booked kayaking for the same time, and the hotel kindly removed the charge from our bill.

In short we had a wonderful stay, and will most certainly remember the Torridon when we are next in the North of Scotland.

Room Tip: Inquire in advance if there are activities you want to take part in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you ever so much for the kind review and we are so pleased hat we managed to start your honeymoon in such a positive way. We take your comments on board and I have reminded that team that they need not be defensive. While it is not essential to book activities we do send all our guests a prior booking form so that you can book the restaurant, amenities for the room and activities before you arrive. Bruno and his team work tirelessly to provide excellent cuisine and it is always great when it is appreciated so much. Good luck for the future and we hope that you may visit us again, maybe even an anniversary! Regards Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Torridon earlier this summer. The staff, especially Cameron in the restaurant, were amazing. We felt very at comfortable here and enjoyed the room, the meals and the scenery. We can not wait to return! We drove from Loch Ness, over Applecross and the scenery was spectacular. Did lots of local hiking and had a great meal at the Inn and the main hotel; both were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We pleased that you enjoyed staying with us an dining at the hotel and Inn. Cameron has being doing such a good job that he was recently promoted. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

You get what you pay for! Gorgeous hotel with very good food and service. Future Scotland vacations would feel incomplete without another stay at the Torridon, Even 'though the weather was horrible ...

We ate at the Inn (couldn't manage another 6-course set menu) and the food there was very good. Also liked the pub atmosphere of the Inn before settling for the Whisky bar (more than 350 to chose from) at the luxurious hotel.

Breakfast was excellent. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed both staying at the hotel and dining at the Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Dan & Rohaise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Torridon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Torridon

Address: Annat | By Achansheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Torridon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Torridon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torridon is a luxury hotel in the northwest of Scotland. We provide exclusive luxury with a personal touch to all our guests and we invite you to come and visit us and experience some of the best scenery and hospitality that Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Torridon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Torridon Hotel Torridon
Hotel Loch Torridon
The Torridon Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Torridon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.