We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansfield Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mansfield Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansfield Castle Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Scotsburn Road, Tain IV19 1PR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tain
osnabrück
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very friendly staff, very delightful food.Very great look from the tower up to the bay

Room Tip: WE stayed at the Tower suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    21
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
41
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed mid September 2011.

Good staff. Excellent breakfast. Vodka on the breakfast table to make a bloody mary. We didn't fancy one on this occasion but a nice quirky extra.

Rather dated decor. However, to be fair I think they are in the middle of a re-fresh. Thought the bed was huge until we realised it was 2 singles pushed together. Didn't offer us an upgrade to a bigger/better room even though the place was more or less empty - we should have asked I suppose.

All in all the place feels like it's had better days and hopefully has better days to come.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main old building rather than what seems to be some kind of extention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls., MN.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We recently stayed at The Mansfield Castle Hotel in Tain, Scotland. We were in the area to attend a family wedding. We were very happy with the authentic and attractive structure of the hotel and its lovely grounds. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We also felt that the food was excellent. We would gladly stay there again.
Kathy, Deephaven, MN

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had originally selected this hotel as we had a morning ferry to the Orkneys on the following day, and this property is 45 minutes closer to the ferry than would be an Inverness hotel. What a great find! We had the Tower Suite --- unlock the door then up a private flight of stairs to two bedrooms and the bath, then up a circular staircase to a sitting room, then finally up another circular staircase to the top of the tower and your own private battlements --- with views in all directions over the town, the valley, Dornoch Firth and the North Sea beyond. Rather than have dinner in the dining room, we asked the staff to deliver it to our sitting room, up three flights of stairs from the kitchen. They did great! The next morning we had an early departure to drive to the ferry, leaving well ahead of breakfast hours, but the staff set up breakfast for us anyway. They were also quite eager to pack box lunches for our drive. Really only one complaint --- while the room lines were freshly laundered, the blankets on the beds had dark hairs and stains. Of course most hotels do the same – change the sheets between guests but not the blankets.

If it helps, here are the hotel GPS coordinates:

Lat/Long N 57.80.40; W -4.05.67
Lat/Long N 57º48’24”; W 4º03’40”

Room Tip: Get the Tower Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

After a very nice 10-day vacation in Scotland with my family (wife and two kids), i am finally able to spend some time to write a review about Mansfield Castle Hotel.
During our trip to scotland, we stayed at 6 different (3 to 4 stars) hotels in Scotland, and I will only write a review about Mansfield castle.
There was nothing wrong about the other places but we loved so much our two nights at Mansfield that I decided to write a review on trip advisor. The fact that it is my first review on trip advisor should speak also a thousand words.

What we loved about the place:
1) Beautiful castle and garden. Bedroom (we were in Ross room) was spacious and stylish. Modern bathroom, Great view of the garden from our window. Beautiful stair case and dining room/bar. We felt the Scottish experience in this place.
2) Great for kids. The kids could play Frisbee in the garden and there was a play room with games (puzzles, board games etc..). So our kids got a bit of freedom after a lot of touring/driving in Scotland, which was good for everyone. The staff was very friendly to families.
3) We loved the food. We had twice breakfast and dinner (at 7pm) and it was great. Efficient service a good choice of quality (even sophisticated) entrées.
4) I enjoyed the conversations with the staff and owner at the bar. Great choice of whiskies.

In summary: a classy place but with a friendly atmosphere, in which a world-traveled owner will go the extra length to make you feel at home.

Enzo, Sandra and the kids (Switzerland)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My partner and I had booked to stay at the Mansfield Castke hotel in the last weekend of July. We were due to arrive on the Saturday but on the Friday night before I was involved in a serious accident that lead to a stay in hospital over the weekend. We were obviously disappointed that we could not make the trip but not as disappointed as I was to discover that they had charged the full rate of staying to my card. After I called the hotel to explain the situation they still charged me! Obviously I would have preferred a night in a castle to a night in the hospital but no lack of compassion at all was shown and now I am completely out of pocket. Completely disappointing.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Gorgeous room- huge & comfortable (loved the four-poster bed). Staff very friendly and warm, nothing too much trouble. Complimentary shortbread in room a nice touch! I loved the food, the restaurant & the bar. In short- highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansfield Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Castle Hotel

Address: Scotsburn Road, Tain IV19 1PR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Tain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansfield Castle Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mansfield Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansfield Castle Hotel Tain, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansfield Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.