We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great breakfast, great couple - great b&b!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunbius Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunbius Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Dunbius Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Morangie Road, Tain IV19 1HP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Tain B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great breakfast, great couple - great b&b!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at Dunbius. It was our 1st stay at a B&B, so we had no idea what to expect. But we were very pleasantly surprised.
The bedroom was very clean and comfortable - with a great view. We really enjoyed breakfast on all of the 3 mornings we were there. (the scrambled eggs were yummy!)
The house itself was lovely - good location and close to local amenities.
Carole and Kelvin made us feel very welcome. They are both really easy going and pleasant to talk to. We enjoyed our little chats with them after breakfast.
We will definitely be staying there again the next time we visit Tain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
37
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying for two nights @ Kelvin's and Carole's B&B. Dunbius House was the first B&B either of us had stayed at and the bar has been set quite high for other B&B stays. We were made to feel very welcome, and also received slices of a fresh loaf. Our room was immaculate and tidied every day. Breakfast in the dining room, with views over the water, was a great way to start the day, both for the meal itself and the location. We found that Kelvin and Carole are terrific hosts and really enjoyed meeting them. The house is well situated with easy walks to train station, restaurants, and the Glenmorangie Distillery. Both my husband and I would highly recommend Dunbius Guest House to our friends and family and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

An exceptionally clean & well positioned place to stay. Beautiful panoramic views from the house - especially the dining room where we ate one of the best breakfasts we have ever tasted - all local produce to include eggs laid that morning!!! Carole and Kelvin went that extra mile to make my partner and i feel very comfortable indeed. We had busy days with touring the beautiful East coast of Scotland to return to a heartfelt welcome from Kelvin and Carole who always had a chilled bottle of wine for us to enjoy in the evenings. Excellent choice of B&B which we would thoroughly recommend and, we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Have stayed here a couple of times. Kelvin and Carole are both very friendly and welcoming, I have always been very well looked after, breakfast is excellent and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay, that's why I go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Only spent one night here but Carole and Kelvin made us feel very much at home. The room was very comfortable (only wish bed had been softer) plenty of choice of herbal teas etc and home baking in room.Breakfast was great, again plenty of choiceand freshly cooked.Would definitely go back again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
,,,ol,ko,k
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

This was a really nice B&B to stay at. Although we arrived earlier than expected we received a warm welcome. The rooms were immaculate, and being left the fruit loaf was a nice touch. Kelvin was very helpful and recommended a place to eat on the eveining, which was also excellent. The breakfast was lovely and what was even nicer was that their was a vegetarian option. A lovely B&B that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

What a great find. My partner and i were traveling from the North. We happend upon Tain and we found Dunbius guest house. How lucky could we be Carole and Kelvin gave us a very warm welcome, we felt at home straight away. The room was very comfy with lots of extra touches. the breakfast was great , we only intended to stay one night, but we enjoyed our time so much ,we stayed a extra night . I woud highly recomend this loverly B and B and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunbius Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbius Bed & Breakfast

Address: Morangie Road, Tain IV19 1HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Tain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tain
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 3 Star graded Bed & Breakfast within 10 mins walking distance of Tain. All rooms en-suite with complimentary toiletries, LCD TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Large, private car park with lock-up storage for bicycles, golf equipment and motorbikes. Free Internet access available for all guests. A full Scottish breakfast is served in the conservatory overlooking the Dornoch Firth and Sutherland Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunbius Bed & Breakfast Tain, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunbius Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.