We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carnegie Lodge Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carnegie Lodge Hotel
Viewfield Road, Tain, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Tain
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visiting family in Dornoch, and we wanted somewhere to go for Sunday lunch so we booked a table for four at the Carnegie Lodge a few miles away. We had seen the sign for this hotel many times but had never visited before. The hotel is in a lovely situation, slightly elevated with beautiful views over the Dornoch Firth. We were very pleasantly surprised - the dining room was quite large and nicely decorated and furnished with loads of staff on hand. It is obviously a popular venue with the locals, as the restaurant was full. The menu was large and quite varied, with an excellent choice of starters and main courses. We all ate different combinations, and the food was very good, with very generous portions. The roast dinners that were being served also looked excellent, and the wine list was quite good too.

We finished off with desserts and cheese and biscuits and went home for a much needed walk on the beach!

It was a great lunch and I would certainly recommend the Carnegie to anyone staying in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dornoch
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Carnegie Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent service always, extremely large portions well worth a visit. We took my Mum for her 90th birthday Dinner and could not have chosen a better place. the staff were great, the quality and quantity of food perfect. When they bought our cake out with the coffee all staff sung happy birthday, she loved it

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Works night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Overall - excellent service - food was good, hot and plentiful. Disco laid on for all in attendance. Had a great night out. Thanks to Heather and her staff. Will be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great service every time food lacking flair.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had a great time with great customer service as usual.
Staff are amazing.
Food was a mixed bag to be honest and I don't want to say it as I love coming here.
My starter was lovely mussel and smoked haddock chowder so was my sisters haggis filos
Rest were mediocre at best.
Mains were mainly a let down specials board of sweet chilli beef at 14.95 at tops were only worth 8-9.99 we'll overpriced Hungarian goulash same price was awful again only worth 8.99
The gammon was beautiful I was told your roast beef dinners are best but beef is a little hard.
Your sweets are your biggest let downs I'm afraid you need to vastly improve on these.
I won't stop coming here but will be selective on what I eat and hope you listen and change these areas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We took my Mum for her 90th birthday lunch and could not have chosen a better place.
the staff were great, the quality and quantity of food perfect. When they bought our cake out with the coffee all staff sung happy birthday, she loved it

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnegie Lodge Hotel also viewed

Tain, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Carnegie Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnegie Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.