We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Dull Scottish Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Strathpeffer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Strathpeffer Hotel to your Saves list
Strathpeffer Hotel
The Square | IV14 9DF, Strathpeffer, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tired and Dull Scottish Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked with National Holidays for a 5 day AI break at the Strathpeffer Hotel. Arrived after a 9 hour coach journey from the North East, tired and looking forward to a shower, a nice evening meal followed by a drink at the bar and some good Scottish entertainment. What a disappointment. The hotel is tired and in need of some serious renovation. The rooms are poor quality with mould in the shower cubicle wood chip paper hanging down from the ceiling no lock on the sliding toilet door and a toilet seat that a drunken plumber must have fitted. The food is a mixture of frozen and fresh vegetables served with mostly pre-packed processed meat. Overall the food was bland and unappealing . Off we went after the meal for our AI drinks from the bar (Only available between 7pm and 10 pm) only to find a limited choice for those guests on AI. The entertainment (only on three of the four nights) started off bearable but quickly went downhill as the week progressed to the point where the guests were looking for seating away from the bar where all of the entertainment takes place. On a positive note the staff were all friendly and helpful and tried their best to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. The day trips from the hotel all arranged by National Coach Holidays were good value and enjoyable. So come on National its time to review your holiday accommodation before more customers like me look else where for our coach holidays. (review written on behalf of the 6 guests in our party)

Room Tip: Look for alternative accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    28
    23
    22
See reviews for
19
60
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Please don't choose to stay in the Strathpeffer unless you want to punish yourself for something really bad you've done.

The food is terrible, my room was the size of a toilet cubicle and didn't smell much better and worst of all was the attitude of the owners.

Guess they are just seeing big pound signs with all the offshore people staying there at present but they need to remember that it won't last forever and if they want any future business lidl cornflakes and maxwell house coffee for breakfast is not the way to get it.

Come on folks do this lovely wee village some justice and buck up your ideas please!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like Anne below we booked this hotel months ago via booking.com. On arrival we were also told that there was a wasps nest and were moved to the awful Highlands Hotel. Had I known what awaited us I would not have accepted the compensatory bottle of wine. We later found out that the wasp story was a barefaced lie! What had actually happened was that oil workers were staying in our rooms and double occupying them. Obviously this was good business for the hotel but in terms of customer service was appalling. It was a busy weekend due to the Runrig event so we had no alternative but to accept our fate. As soon as I saw our room at the Highlands Hotel I sent a complaint, not surprised they haven't replied. They're either too embarrassed or more likely don't care.

Room Tip: Don't book there, you're not likely to even end up staying there and the alternative is drea...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked room 8 months ago through booking.com. On arrival, during an exceptionally busy weekend, we were told they'd been trying to phone me for 2 weeks to say there were room 'issues' ('wasp nest'). We discovered that at least 4 other couples were also moved to stay at the Highland Hotel (a large impersonal hotel) next door.

None of the couples moved was happy and all of us, individually, complained about the room quality, and the atmosphere in the Highland Hotel which is aimed predominantly at coach parties and does not cater well for individual travellers.

The reception staff at the Strathpeffer hotel were friendly (and bottles of wine were given as a form of compensation) but they were unable to provide us with any suitable alternative to the Highland Hotel due to a very large music festival. On our second visit to comment on our disappointment, the receptionist did admit that overbooking at Strathpeffer Hotel was fairly commonplace and that there was an arrangement with the Highland Hotel to take the overflow.

So what you see is not necessarily what you get.

Room Tip: we did not get to stay here (see review for Highland Hotel, Strathpeffer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband walked in and asked if had any rooms and we got one no problem it was amazing staff could not do enough for us I'd go back in a Minute food was great the place was clean lovely and relaxing just what we needed .

Room Tip: Does not have a swimming pool but we did not care if you wanted to keep fit there are bikes to hire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First on the scene , an old hotel. very shabby outside with dirty filthy water in pond and unkept gardens. Filthy curtains hanging on windows. Hotel staff very pleasent and helpful.
Our room was ok but would have expected a lot more. Food was terrible. All thrown together and either overdone or hit and miss on food that didnt go with one another. Was frozen veg most of the time cold. If i was to go to Strathpeffer again , would definately choose a better hotel. Village is Beautiful with pipers playing every saturday at 8 in the evening. Golf course up the road and very nice places to have coffee in such as the old railway station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and i went on a National coach tour and after reading the reviews were expecting a bit of a dive. The tour itself was brilliant and we realy enjoyed it. The check in was quite smooth,and the room was adequate and most of all it was clean with bedding being changed daily. The Bathroom was quite small and the Shower over the Bath was only about 2 feet above the Bath with no screen or anything rendering it useless.My wife had to return her meal on 3 occasions as it was not warm enough.The staff were quite friendly and the entertainment on an evening was good.The bitter in the bar was well kept and was not a bad pint of Tetleys.Breakfasts were good although sometimes not as warm as they should be,and one dissapointment was that there were no Kippers on the menu which i would have thought there would be being in Northern Scotland, I heard them being asked for a few times.After all that the Hotel is in a wonderfull Village and settings and we had really good weather so that made up for the down side and so enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Front rooms seem to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathpeffer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathpeffer Hotel

Address: The Square | IV14 9DF, Strathpeffer, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Strathpeffer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathpeffer Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathpeffer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.