We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strathpeffer Pavilion Cafe Bar

Strathpeffer Pavilion Cafe Bar
Strathpeffer Pavilion, The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
1997 420124
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great space for events and it has a great cafe. It also has rooms available for team development days or meetings.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Five stars all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a fantastic place for lunch, afternoon tea or dinner. It has a warm, contemporary feel set inside a fantastically historic and beautiful building.The menu has been created with customers in mind (rather than chef's preferences!) - dishes relate to what we all like to eat 'now' rather than 10 years ago (which can be an issue as you venture beyond the metropolis).The prices are all easily achievable - good value for money and the interior decor really nice. Best of all the service is lovely with warm and friendly staff. Whenever we've been, its always been deservedly busy - another good thing in the Highlands where you can often find yourself disconcertingly the only patrons which I dont enjoy. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed meal before an evening performace in the Pavillion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Booked a table for 6 pm well in time for the Dingwall Gaelic Choir 60th Birthday Concert in the Hall at 7.30 pm. The Concert was a sellout. Being vegetarians we had checked the menu in advance and the filo parcels with roast vegetables, goats cheese, salad and tomato and coriander salsa sounded perfect. It arrived looking beautifully presented - and was delicious. On the table was a small card saying that Coffee and cake could be bought for £3. I suspected this was a lunch/afternoon inducement, but no, this was available as part of the evening meal. Carrot cake and cheesecake we chose, and they were generous portions. Cappucino was well up to standard. The meal for two came to £24 - a bargain for the Pavillion Restaurant is a very pleasant place to spend time in. We moved into the auditorium at 7.15 pm to a wonderful evening that followed.

I was sorry that there was only one other diner eating in the restaurant while we had our meal. Such a tragedy, that so well run an enterprise and so good a meal was not attracting a larger clientele, when possibly 300 people would be spending the evening being bowled over by the Mod Gold medallists of the Dingwall Gaelic Choir.

We will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

this place is best we have had in our weeks holiday, found this hidden away at back of pavilion first visit we had coffee and cake, then came back for evening meal which was superb, and on our last day we came and had the soup and sandwich combo just wish we found sooner as we would have came every day and night as a great selection on menu and also chefs specials each day
will sure be back on our next visit
ps/
also great staff who looked after us very well

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurso
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Give it a go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely food in lovely place. Good for pre show gathering with friends and good vegetarian options. Tucked in behind the show venue it can easily be missed but very nice friendly staff make it worthwhile

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strathpeffer Pavilion Cafe Bar also viewed

Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Strathpeffer Pavilion Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathpeffer Pavilion Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.