We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacKenzies'

MacKenzies'
Cromartie Buildings, Strathpeffer IV14 9DG, Scotland
+44 1997 421166
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Tea Room, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Description: Small family run business serving coffees, teas, home baking and light bites including homemade soups, open sandwiches and smoked meat platters. Open 7 days, 11am - 5pm. Evening hours to be confirmed as the summer season demands.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Popped into this local coffee shop with my family and friend for an afternoon treat.
I tried the homemade raspberry sponge cake it was delicious best I have tasted. The rest of the party just had drinks but everything was lovely and they pay close attention to detail serving tea in proper cups and saucers. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant clean and welcoming.

A great new addition for the village of Strathpeffer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good home made food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This little hideaway with outside eating welcomes you with homemade fresh food.We had soup and bread that was so delicious we went back twice travelling in from Garve with the dog who sat patiently under the table.A place to remember and revisit and not to be missed.The staff made it a pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth waiting for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little eaterie.
Soup & savoury scone was delicious, the mushrooms in parma ham was a lovely eat! A really nice, small choice of food but it all looked really tasty! It was a trillion times tastier than the typical bacon buttie we expected!
Very limited selection of drinks which was disappointing, the coffee though was Fabulous!
The cakes were amazing, absolutely out of this world!
Considering "everything" was homemade right down to the mayo, we can't really complain about the service being a little relaxed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Yes, people still want soup, even on hot days in July - well, I do - and the Coffee Shop delivered. Unassuming little place but great food - tasty soup and interesting rolls to go with it, nicely presented. Excellent service from friendly staff. Shame I had no room left for coffee and cake but I'll make an effort to get back there again to try those out some time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish highlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped in strarhpeffer on friday looking for somewhere to have lunch.noticed the a board by the shops advertising the coffee shop down the road a bit.sat outside in the sunshine.our order seemed to take a wee while,but was worth the wait as it was obviously freshly made.i had the filo haggis parcels with the kind of salad that you actually want to eat.my husband mentioned to the lady thet the chutney on his open sandwich was delicious,she told us the bread,chutnies etc were all home made and proceeded to give my husband a small sample of the three chutnies available for him to taste.the tea was served with loose tea and with paper thin tea cups which was a lovely change from a chunky cup or mug.well done to the coffee shop and the staff.perfect standards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacKenzies' also viewed

Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to MacKenzies'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacKenzies', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.