We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First coach trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mackay's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mackay's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mackay's Hotel
The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Strathpeffer
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“First coach trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Just back from Highland Weekend with David Urquhart. 3 Nights dinner bed and breakfast.
It will take weeks to divest myself of the extra weight from eating the delicious meals served here. An excellent choice of food and ample portions served by a pleasant staff.
On arrival the coach was met by the assistant manager, a very pleasant young man, who
gave each the key to their room and facilitated quick access to allocated rooms. He even carried my case up. As a single traveller and paid no single room supplement I did not expect too much so I was pleasantly surprised at the room, which was small but looked down over the village square, where Strathpeffer Pipe Band perform each Saturday night. There were minor problems with the room but it was fresh with spotless bedlinen and clean en-suite with a Mira Sport shower.
The only reason I will hesitate about a return visit is the lack of a lounge area. The public area
in Spa Lodge serves as the bar and is very dated and a bit shabby and was not very inviting but if a drink is important the prices are very reasonable.
Anyone who has missed being able to drink water from the tap should visit as this is so soft and very palatable. A nice touch in the dining room is the jug on your table with the delicious water and for those who have felt pressured into buying whilst dining are relieved of the pressure, although you can have a drink from that bar too whilst dining.
Farm fresh eggs are served each morning for breakfast with a very good choice from the full breakfast range,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    34
    29
    24
See reviews for
25
65
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel needs to be decorated its old and in some places needs a good clean. The room we had was small dirty with wallpaper peeling off the wall. carpet needs changing as does the furniture.

Food not sparse but certainly not any sort of thought or quality put into the evening meal watery soup very poor.

Staff ok but think fed up with people moaning. Its ok selling cheap holidays but someone from the company shoukld check them out first especially when Urquhart owns this hotel I think.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strathpeffer hotels

scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

went with david urquart for 5days. dont no how they do it was excellent value for money. staff very welcoming and polite food was excellent hotel could do with updating but was very clean will be back entertainment was second to none also a big thank you to aliaster our coach driver who kept us amused about his stories of steam trains he helped to make the holiday

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Just returned from 4 day David urquhart tour based at this hotel what a shock, rooms hadn't been updated since early 80's I was in main building I could hear people in the next room flushing the toilet was above the bar noise was unbearable went to have shower the previous occupants small bar of soap which is provided by the hotel was still in soapdish, food was awful I was considering going to local restaurant to have something decent to eat I have been on several urquhart tours in the past and have never experienced anything as bad as this I think management from david urquhart should go and have a look at mackay's hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011 via mobile

Just back from an urquhart tour staying at this hotel thought I had stepped back in time staff are excellent rooms very,very basic food was so bad I could hardly eat anything, worst of all my original room had no shower, was given room with shower and the occupant before me had used the small bar of soap provided by hotel had been left on holder in shower i have been on a few urquhart tours have always been happy but after the experience I've just had NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a David Urquhart deal which included transport, 2 optional outings and 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast for the princely sum of £102 each! The hotel is in need of redecoration (our room had woodchip wallpaper) but is very clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing, and you really couldn't find fault with them (special thanks to the assistant manager, a young man who was every bit as entertaining as the paid entertainment!). The hotel has a small pool, gym equipment and sauna, which were much appreciated after a rainy day exploring the area. My husband and i were in the hot tub at one point, watching large snowflakes come down outside which made for a very unusal treat! The full cooked breakfasts helped set you up for the day, and the evening meals ere good although a bit limited in choice- at this price however, we really couldn't complain. This was the first kind of bus tour we've taken, and although we were probably the youngest in the group a refreshing change!!) i can really see this type of holiday getting more popular with younger couples looking for an enjoyable and affordable weekend away. Still trying to fathom how they can offer the holidays so cheaply considering the quality of everything (we've paid an awful lot more for an awful lot less!) but i'd certainly recommend both David Urquhart Travel and Mackays spa Lodge Hotel for a relaxing, affordable and very enjoyable short break.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Went on a David Urquhart tour for the first time (driver English Allan) who was very good. The hotel room was very clean the only problem was our room did not have a shower On the Saturday morning I asked if we could chang rooms to one that had a shower and was given a room in the Lodge which was large and had a shower. The food was good and the service was quick in the diningroom. It was nice to have the use of the Spa and pool.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mackay's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Hotel

Address: The Square, Strathpeffer IV14 9DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mackay's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Strathpeffer
Mackay's Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackay's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.