We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Lodge Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathpeffer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birch Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Birch Lodge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Strathpeffer IV14 9BA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Strathpeffer B&B and Inns
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We recently stayed at Birch Lodge for a family wedding in Strathpeffer. It was a delightful stay and the owners and accommodation were excellent. Having a guest house of our own in Scotland, we sometimes wonder how Visit Scotland decide on their ratings as we have stayed at many 4 stars guest houses which could take a leaf out of Birch Lodge's book. The accommodation was lovely and spotless and the owners were helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was beautifully presented and of high quality. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to Strathpeffer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011 via mobile

This b&b is an excellent place to stay : very large nice  room and bathroom, perfect breakfast and great hospitability ! We're French from Lyon.
This B&B is rated 3 Stars... After our long trip in Scotland... After testing many B&B it has to be rated 5 stars!
PhilEtFred

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We can only endorse the good points from the previous reviews. If you have had a long journey north then this is an ideal stop before the Morning sailing from Ullapool to Stornoway. Thank you for your hospitality

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here so much that it was difficult to go back to a budget backpacker hotel the next night. The owner is a gracious hostess and a wonderful cook. Try her scrambled eggs with smoked salmon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-shire, Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Staying for 2 nights upon arrival we received a warm welcome and shown to our twin room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. En-suite shower room modern and supplied with toiletries. Tea, coffee, still/sparkling water and shortbread on offer in room. Breakfast was fab. Travelling with a 2 year old isn't always easy but a travelcot can be supplied if required, although we took our own, and a highchair was available at breakfast. We would highly recommend staying here as we found it faultless.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Great welcome. Very large and well equipped bedroom. Unbelievable, large en-suite bathroom, with sunken bath, separate shower cubicle, 2 washbasins and shower robes. Excellent breakfast. 5 star quality at 2 star prices. The only drawback had nothing to do with the accommodation. We arrived on a busy Saturday night and had great difficulyty getting an evening meal. We had to tag along with a coaching holiday party and have dinner in one of the large hotels rather than the smaller more intimate restaurant reccommended by Betsy. I wish we had to stay in Strathpeffer more often.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Have stayed at this B&B a few times now and would highly recommend. Large family room - double bed, chairs, tea and coffee facilities, another bed, cot supplied if required, with bathroom off, his and hers wash hand basins, toilet, bidet, shower and sunken bath. His and hers bathrobes supplied. Breakfast is all home made or home grown. And reasonably priced. What more could you want!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birch Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9BA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Strathpeffer
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Birch Lodge Bed & Breakfast Strathpeffer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Lodge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.