We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high praise for wonderful hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Highland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Highland Hotel
Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £83
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
N.Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“high praise for wonderful hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

One word...brilliant. The hotel is in a beautiful location. Good rooms with lovely comfy beds and super clean linen. The food chooses were excellent. Above all else I would like to thank the manager and ALL his staff for making our stay so nice. Considering that they had to cope with a power cut which was totally beyong their control we were looked after so well .....it only added to the holiday with a candlelit breakfast. Special mention for Michael at the bar..thank you. I did speak briefly to the manager on leaving the hotel who I believed was there on his day off...putting customers first and mucking in with his staff. Well done - we will be back Steve and Beverly Willims

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Steve and Beverly,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It’s great to hear you had such a nice stay.
It’s really nice that you take the time mention the staff. They worked really hard during the power cut and I’m very lucky to have such a good team. Glad to hear to lack of electricity didn’t spoil your holiday.
Hope you’ll come and join us again soon. The lights are on !.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    181
    53
    32
    14
See reviews for
44
227
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were too late to book for the German Xmas Markets so decided to try the Strathpeffer trip with Shearings. We travel to the North of Scotland quite often by car and it is quite expensive so were pleasantly surprised by the great value this trip was. The hotel needs a bit of a makeover but it is clean as was the bedding and towels and the rooms were well heated. We had good well cooked food with a choice and could order a steak or salmon for a supplement. All in all a great trip which would have cost us a fortune if we had travelled to the same areas by car. Well done Shearings and a quick thanks to George the driver.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We try very hard to offer great value for money and as you state some of our coach trips work out a lot cheaper than driving, and without the stress.
Great to hear your enjoyed your holiday and George looked you well.

Hope you’ll return soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Although parts of this hotel are a little bit tired, mainly the the carpets in the halls and bedrooms, the first class service and cleanliness more than make up for that. I stayed here in November with five friends dand we all agreed that the staff couldn't do enough for you. The bedrooms are warm, very clean and the bed linen was lovely. The food was hot and plentiful and certainly nothing to complain about and the entertainment was great. All in all a great place to stay as a base to see the highlands and the staff are just excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
The staff work really hard to try to ensure all of our guests enjoy their holiday and your feedback is appreciated. Great to hear they looked after you well.
You are right about some of the carpets been a little tired. We are refurbishing another nine rooms shortly and completed twelve earlier in the year. With 136 rooms to get round it does take a little while though. On the plus side thanks for letting us know you found the Hotel very clean, enjoyed the food and entertainment.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumnock
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and myself had a long weekend here with some friends travelling with Caledonian Travel.
I am not saying it was the Ritz but for what we paid it was more than acceptable.
Plus Side: Staff were very nice, food was very good and entertainment was passable.
Negative Side: Very cold the first night we were there and as I had been in Ullapoll before the driver got it right only stopping for an hour and half which is enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you taking time to write your review.
Great to hear you enjoyed the food and the staff looked after you well.
Sorry about the heating, we had problems with the boilers that were resolved the next day.
Hope you’ll return to join us again soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went on 18th November to this hotel. Got there about 5 o'clock and checked in immediately. Room a good size and lovely and warm. There was plenty hot water and although no shower, this didn't present any problems. Lots of storage space and the bed very comfortable and sheets spotlessly clean. Every day we had lovely brilliant white thick soft towels.

We got 4 drinks vouchers per day to use any time between 12 noon and midnight. Drinks on offer were premium brands and the shorts included a mixer as 1 drink. You were also able to upgrade to an extra choice of beers and spirits for either 50p or £1 depending on what you wanted.

There were 4 in our party and we couldn't fault the food. There were plenty of options for both breakfast and evening meal and everything was served to you piping hot. Our waitress was excellent no sooner had you sat down when she was asking you what you wanted to eat. There was a cream tea one afternoon and an extra sorbet course on the menu as the Gala Dinner the same night. We also bought food one lunchtime at it was very nice indeed. The menu was varied with plenty to choose from for snacks and full lunches.

There was no entertainment on the first night as most of the guests were with Shearings (This is a Bay Hotel which is owned by Shearings) Most of the people travelling with them didn't arrive until after 9 o'clock and were still having their evening meal at 10 o'clock. The second night there was bingo and a quiz then a Scottish dance troop performed for us. There was good entertainment on the last 2 nights.

The Highland Hotel has been magnificent in its time and still retains a lot of its original grandeur, beautiful wood panelling and a large sweeping staircase. There was tartan carpet on all of the stairs which just set the scene for a lovely Scottish break.

Strathpeffer itself must has been buzzing in its heyday. There are a few shops, a good museum and the Spa Theatre which has a lovely restaurant. There is also a coffee shop and a shop at the old station.

All in all we had a very good time and would recommend this Hotel to anyone. It was very good value for the price we paid for the whole trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
It’s great to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed every part of your holiday.
Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just got back from a Shearings 4 night stay mid November. i would like to say the staff were great couldnt do enough for you. Hotel was very busy 4 coach loads of tired travellers but we were all looked after very well.i stayed in room 214 nice family room overlooking the village.May i say Betty our waitress was a joy always their to help when needed. The hotel was a bit on the chilly side but saying that it was freezing outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for leaving us such a lovely review.
Sorry about the situation with the heating. We had boiler problems that are now rectified.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I’ll pass on kind comments to Betty. She always works really hard to ensure our guests feel welcome.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

With three coach parties having spent 5days at the hotel I do agree with what some of the other residents had to say .However, there was a water problem and the guys were working day and night to rectify it as half of the village were affected.when it was on I made use of my hot water bottle . the room was of an average size but cold due to heating being luke warm ,floor boards very creeky which can get on your nerves abit. Waiter service at meal times, staff friendly,Enterainment was ok ,the bingo caller was very funny .
Although dated it was okish. but could do with a make over. yes it is geared to coach parties mainly the elderly on regular basis (it is this method that keeps hotels going ) but take heed the young get old sometime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alastair-Grantham, General Manager at Bay Highland Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Sorry about the situation with the water. Unfortunately the whole village was affected. We had engineers working very hard to restore heating and water systems.
Great to hear you found the staff friendly.
Hope you'll return to join us soon.

Kind Regards
Alastair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Highland Hotel

Address: Strathpeffer IV14 9AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Strathpeffer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Strathpeffer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully set in its own grounds with lovely views over the colourful village square, this chateau style hotel’s traditional features have been carefully retained to strike just the right Highland note. A warm welcoming feeling comes as much from the friendly staff as from the fine wood panelled public rooms which have been carefully preserved. Strathpeffer itself is just steps away from the hotel and is renowned as an attractive Highland spa resort with fabulous Victorian architecture. Be sure to enjoy the scenic views of the village below from the open veranda. The massive peak of Ben Wyvis is the backdrop to this charming village. It’s a perfect base from which to explore Scotland’s dramatic Northern Highlands – mountainous countryside, sparkling streams, waterfalls and golden shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Strathpeffer
Bay Highland Hotel Strathpeffer, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.