We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wake up feeling! Loved IT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiessimul

Kiessimul
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shieldaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiessimul
Save
You added Kiessimul to your Saves list
Shieldaig, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Shieldaig B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best wake up feeling! Loved IT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I loved it!
I absolutely disagree with comments comparing this place to Premier Inn. If you are looking for nice touches I recommend to find a five star hotel with a concierge in hand and a map with directions.
Pauline - the owner was the most welcoming and helpful - especially for us being stuck in Highlands without a map or cash!
We took the larger bedroom with on suite bathroom for £70 on a Saturday night - but I really didnt mind it as I was prepared for the costs - fair enough - breakfast was awesome!!
We also had free WIFI - which I mention on purpose as I know not all places offer this.
The only minus (not for me) was no TV - but hey, we where not there to watch TV but to enjoy and have the best time.
Pauline - Thanks again!
Ines

Room Tip: Pay more and get en suite especially when you like your privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent one night in this B&B.
The room was quiet, the toilet clean, the bed comfortable.

Although there is no tv inside the room, there is a guest lounge where there are plenty of books to read, sofa to rest and the tv. However, Shieldaig is a lovely small town to have a walk around.

The hostess will be able to recommend places for dinners. Do try the Shieldaig Bar and Coastal Kitchen for a lovely meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

... about sums it up. A modern house with thin walls, so not very quiet. If it were a hotel it would be a bed factory like Premier Inn. Missing the nice touches that make you feel welcomed and a stay enjoyable - having to ask for a hair dryer, milk, not enough tea bags for a cup in the evening and the morning, little choice at breakfast etc. They don't take credit/debit cards and the nearest ATM is 1/2 drive away. But reasonably priced and 5 mins from the shop/restau.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My second visit to this B&B, and worth it. Comfortable and clean, with a great Highland breakfast to set one up for the day. Pauline is a most pleasant hostess. A short stroll of about 10 minutes to the shop, restaurants etc. The village of Sheildaig is a quiet, picturesque place and there are many wonderful scenic drives to be made from there. I can highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A good B&B with a warm welcome and a very good breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and although on the edge of the village you are no more than 10 mins walk from the restaurants, shop etc.

Shieldaig is a delightful spot and a great place to "tour" from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for only 1 night. First thing we noticed was just how clean it was, smelled fresh as well. The lady that runs the b&b was welcoming and friendly. Loads of books around to read. The bedroom was a twin (no tv, but who wants one when in the highlands!). Best B&B!! Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiessimul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiessimul

Address: Shieldaig, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Shieldaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shieldaig
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kiessimul Shieldaig, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiessimul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.