We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View-tastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dundonnell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dundonnell Hotel to your Saves list
Dundonnell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dundonnell, Little Loch Broom IV23 2QR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greenwich, UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“View-tastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Located at the beginning of an amazing loch, and in stunning, remote countryside, you can't beat the setting . Rooms were a good size and clean, but the decor was a bit busy for my liking and quite pink in one room! Bed not the best, just used extra duvet for padding. We were the only ones staying in the hotel but dinner was available (very good qualiity) and breakfast great too. Lots of parking opposite.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Although remote there seemed to be plenty of regulars at the bar in the evenings. The music nights on Monday and Wednesday were very good.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who were very helpful and friendly. The food was good although if staying for a few nights there was no change to the menu and the restaurant seemed to give priority to the daily coach parties that arrived.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

The first room had a very dusty headboard above the bed and dust on mirrors, above pictures and behind TV. The second room had an avocado green bathroom suite (modern in the 70s) with a broken but sellotaped cistern lid. The hotel had a musty smell which was not concealed by the air freshner. The food was good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

You could not fault anything in this Hotel, it was very clean and the rooms were comfortable, the food was good and the staff were all very attentive. The views from this Hotel were something else and its certainly worth a trip to see this. We will be going back next year as we were made so welcome at this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We have just returned from our thrid stay in this hotel.
Both my partner and I ride motorcycles and the run to this hotel from Inverness is truly stunning and great bike roads to boot.
The hotel has ample flat parking.
The hotel itself is in a fantastic location between Ullapool and Gariloch.
Everytime we have visitred, the staff have been friendly and efficient. The food is great and well priced whether in the bar or in the dining room.
The comfortable King size beds are a great plus point.
Can't praise this hotel enough and will be arranging our fourth visit soon.

  • Liked — friendly staff and excellent service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POOLE, DORSET
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

The hotel is ideally placed to enjoy the scenery between Gairloch and Ullapool - or climb An Teallach! It must be the only hotel for about 20 miles in either direction and fully justifies the good reviews that it gets.

We stayed there for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good and the lounge/bar areas very comfortable. We were in room 12 upstairs at the front of the hotel overlooking the loch and it was spacious and comfortable. The prices for accommodation and food represented very good value for money.

All the bedrooms in the hotel itself are upstairs although there is an adapted ground floor bedroom in the adjacent annexe.

We would certainly stay there again!

  • Liked — Location, friendliness, good food
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Stumbled across this hotel on during our tour of the Highlands.
The drive down to the hotel is spectacular, the real Scotland!!

The most amazing setting alongside the Loch, and the Sunset was to die for!!

The hotel is nice and clean, the bar and staff friendly and hospitable. We had an evening meal and also breakfast and could not fault either.

I would go back at the drop of a hat, and am so glad to have found it.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dundonnell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundonnell Hotel

Address: Dundonnell, Little Loch Broom IV23 2QR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Little Loch Broom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Loch Broom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundonnell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dundonnell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundonnell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.