We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked at rude staff!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Cromarty

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cromarty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Save
You added Royal Hotel Cromarty to your Saves list
Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Inverness
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shocked at rude staff!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Myself and family thought we would try this place for a coffee before heading home, NEVER AGAIN!! The reception we got when we enter was DREADFUL and we were treated as if we were nothing but a massive inconvenience. The member of staff which served us was RUDE and very very LATE with our order of drinks (we think this was perhaps on purpose) and also made a point of going round other tables asking how people were but did not ask us. We didn't have a friendly word the whole time expect a very flat thank you on the way out. We happen to be local to the area and will be making a point of telling everyone we know NOT TO GO THERE!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
35
61
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I travelled to the Black Isle, and initially were planning to dine at Suters as the Highland guide had recommended their fresh locally sourced seafood dishes. Unfortunately, it's pizza ONLY on Monday and Tuesday nights, which we weren't interested in. The gent at Suters recommended the Royal restaurant. We were not let down!! The dining area is small with a lovely wood burning fire. We arrived at 5:30 so were seated right away, but the restaurant did begin to fill up quickly after 6 pm, for obvious reasons! The menu was well-rounded, and they offer daily specials. Portion sizes were extremely generous (I couldn't finish) and everything was absolutely superb. Seafood was fresh, accompaniments splendid, and very tasty!! High marks for waitress Jenna. Friendly, attentive service without hovering. I would expect to pay at least twice the amount (if not more)for a similar meal in Edinburgh. I highly recommend the restaurant, and should I ever be in the area again, would definitely return again and again. Cocktails were well priced, too. Just a shame we had no room for dessert!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Never stayed here but had lunch and dinner. Can get quite busy which shows its popular . Always found staff very helpful and polite. Food very good and always "home made" not the usual freezer stuff. Extensive menu so something for everyone. Most ingredients are locally sourced and specials board usually has a good selection of seafood dishes. Well worth a visit if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stopped in for a drink with some friends and family and found the bar to be well stocked with black isle ales and fantastic looking food. The bar is very modern and has a great outlook over the bay and harbour. Prices seemed to be reasonable and the service was very quick and friendly. Will definitely come back formthe full menu.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

popped in for lunch on a busy Sunday and staff were so accomodating.
The food was fab and great value. There were a wee bunch of Mums in with their young children and the staff were great with them as well.
I had the sea bream which was very tasty and him indoors had the steak pie-
the service was excellent and the place was spotless and the prices were great

highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Enjoyed a Pub lunch here on a beautiful sunny day in July 2013. Because it was such a beautiful day, we chose to dine outside at one of the picnic tables directly opposite the Harbour, and with stunning views of the Firth. The lounge bar is attractive and modern with a fair priced, good choice of menu. Our light lunch was excellent. The staff friendly and attentive. Cromarty is an interesting and historical village for a wander round - well worth a visit.

Would recommend The Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had the most delicious sumptuous seafood dinner on a beautifully sunny evening overlooking the sea from this delightful hotel/restaurant.
Menu is packed with local fresh seafood dishes with several specials on offer, no nasty burgers or pizzas here!
Staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the menu. They couldn't have been more kind or helpful. Service was top quality. Well done on creating such an oasis of quality in Cromarty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Cromarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Cromarty

Address: Marine Terrace, Cromarty IV11 8YN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Cromarty
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cromarty
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cromarty Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Cromarty Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Cromarty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.