We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking experience... Even with young children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EcoVentures

EcoVentures
Harbour Workshop | Victoria Place, Cromarty IV11 8YE, Scotland
00 44 (0)1381 600 323
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Cromarty
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience... Even with young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

What a brilliant surprise... Not only did we see dolphins and seals, numerous birds ... Beautiful scenery ... But we loved the whole experience... Despite pelting rain. The children were treated so well...as small adults. Even the 5 year old was transfixed for the two hours.

Have been coming tonthe black isle for 20 years and my wife is from the black isle. we both agree this was the best experience we could have wished for ... And was a massive highlight for us all this summer. Amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Up close with wild dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

inflatoffer a unique trip to see the dolphins in the Moray Firth. There are several trips a day in the summer months but advance booking is recommended as the inflatable boat only seats 12. The trip is very professional. The group meets at the Ecoventures shop close to Cromarty Harbour for a pre-trip briefing on where the trip goes and what you might see. You then get suited up in dry suits and head for the harbour. Once aboard the boat there is trip round Cromarty Firth round the resting oil rigs then out towards the Moray Firth, past bird nesting sites. We were very lucky and saw our first dolphins within minutes of leaving the harbour - and followed them out to meet up with a pod of around 25 dolphins hunting fish. Some of the dolphins played around the boat - leaping out the water and diving under us. We also saw harbour seals and plenty of sea birds.Sarah, the skipper, is very knowledgeable and informative - and slowed the boat to let us try and take photos at several points (much harder than it seems) . The 2 hour trip passed very quickly - we'll be back for another trip next year.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic trip - and waterproofs that work included!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Just got back from an amazing couple of hours on the water with Sarah at the helm. Our seven-year-old daughter (and us grown-ups) was absolutely overwhelmed by seeing so many dolphins so close. And you don't just go straight out to sea, but get a tour of the Cromarty Firth too - seeing the oil rigs and shipwreck site up close was pretty good too, as was the trip past the bird colonies. Sarah is extremely knowledgable and spotted the dolphins from some distance, so we didn't just go round looking for them, but went straight out to them and spent a long time just bobbing up and down as they swam round. Even got juice and a biscuit. An excellent and highly recommended trip.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Scotland at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We really enjoyed our recent trips with Ecoventures. The combination of the beauty of this part of Scotland and the opportunity to get to see the world's largest bottelnose dolphins in their natural habitat takes a lot of beating.

Sarah does a great job in pointing out the abundance of wildlife in and around the Cromarty / Moray Firth. Of course the highlight was to see dolphins, which we did on both trips.

This is the kind of trip which would add to any holiday and which shows Scotland at its best.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect trip - even in light rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

it was the perfect decision on a cloudy day with rain to come ...out on the Sea looking for dolphins. watching the waves with all the birds around, the special light on the water - even our daughter enjoyed every minute. and as we returned towards the harbour a big group of dolphins swimming and jumping around the boat was just the cream on top.
thanks for these two wonderful hours. (and of course the wee biscuit).

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoVentures also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Dores, Loch Ness
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Scottish Highlands, Scotland
 

Been to EcoVentures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EcoVentures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added EcoVentures to your Saves list