We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic setting, staff excellent, food great, hotel beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coul House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coul House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coul House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Contin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting, staff excellent, food great, hotel beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We are just back from an overnight stay here and can highly recommend it. Staff are very helpful, polite and attentive without being overbearing. The building itself has been restored and is kept to a very high standard. The character of this nineteenth century house shines through and it is kept immaculately clean. You can tell it is a well-loved venue and feels homely, set in beautiful grounds. We had a lovely afternoon tea in the Regency room which was deliciously decadent. Dining in the evening was heavenly too, lots of choice without relying on any boring “old favourites”. A creative and highly skilled team in the kitchen for sure. The other thing that is lovely about this hotel is that it is family run, and it shows. No faceless corporate management team, just real hardworking people. We definitely plan to return here and have already been recommending it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    52
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
74
228
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night . It was fantastic. The staff were excellent, polite and very attentive. As well as breakfast which was delicious we also had a meal on the evening we arrived. What a delight the food was amazing. Would definately return. Beautiful Hotel with a great history and full of character.. The bedroom was nice and large, lovely and the great kingsize bed most comfortable. I loved the touch of Mackenzie tartan. There was a lovely roaring fire which added to the cosyness and comfort. There are some lovely local walks although we did not have time to do this. The owner gave us a personal history of the hotel which was very interesting. There are some fantastic artists paintings and so good to see the owners supporting all things Scottish. The octagonal dining room is beautiful and somehow enhances the ambience of the dining experience. Overall a most pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had been to the Coul House previously and thought it would be an ideal place to hold a family lunch celebration for my wife's 70th birthday.

Stewart kindly put together a varied menu which catered for all of our guests (a party of 14).

The food was beautifully prepared and served unobtrusively and everyone commented on just how good the food was.

We have never stayed in the hotel, but can certainly say that you will not be disappointed with the food and dining room service

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night after reading the reviews here. Was not disappointed. Very clear that Stuart, Susannah and their staff take great pride in making this an exceptional place for their guests. Lovely setting on the edge of Contin. Beautiful gardens with some amazing trees. Met by Chris and effortlessly checked in and shown to our room. Room cosy and very comfortable bed. Made to feel very welcome. Public areas very well presented with traditional decor. Very relaxed atmosphere and open fires in entrance and bar. Bar was nice place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. Menu had a seasonal feel, and the challenge was to decide what to have. The home smoked beef carpaccio was amazing; melt in your mouth tender with beautiful smoky taste. Spicy butternut squash spring rolls were wonderful. Main courses of beef fillet and lamb rump cooked to perfection. Puddings divine, though a challenge to make room for them. Overall, a fantastic meal. Presentation great, lovely flavours in every dish and good portions. Wine list extensive, and having followed a tip from Chris, enjoyed a lovely wine. Staff throughout were very attentive but not obtrusive. Just the right balance. Breakfast followed in a similar vein. Will certainly be going back to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a wonderful stay at the Coul House Hotel. The staff were attentive yet unobtrusive but extremely helpful when necessary. The room was really nice, lovely views and very comfortable. But what made the weekend was the absolutely amazing food - out of this world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Coul House Hotel, simply because I wanted to visit Ullapool. On searching everything in Ullapool, nowhere could accommodate us..
What a fantastic surprise this find was. Lovely spot, fantastic food, lovely room and the most accommodating staff .Fantastic warm cosy open fires,
The Hotel is approximately 38 miles from Ullapool. On visiting this beautuful spot we found everything closed for the winter.
We are so glad we found this amazing place, we will definately visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just returned home after 3 lovely nights at Coul House Hotel and are missing it already.
From the moment we arrived we felt warmly welcomed and that continued for our entire stay.
Our room was stunning, beautiful view, the bed was so comfortable and the champagne and strawberries were a wonderful surprise also!!
The food was exceptional, both breakfast and dinner faultless (no room for lunch!) and encouraged us to overeat during our stay!
Our dog thoroughly enjoyed her stay too, being made every bit as welcome as us at all times. She particularly enjoyed her breakfast sausages she received from Susannah!!
I can't recommend this hotel enough and will be returning again and again.
Stuart and Susannah have created the perfect place to eat and stay with the help of their team, so much so, we can't remember the last time we came home so well rested, fed and pampered.
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Address: Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coul House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coul House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.