We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coul House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coul House Hotel to your Saves list
Coul House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location for business event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Stayed at this hotel last year as part of a residential business course, and was really impressed with the standard of food and service. Returned to the hotel this year for another residential course, and yet again delighted with the standards and quality. Owners Stuart and Susannah provide the most helpful and attentive service, and special thanks to Chris and Joanna for their exceptional standards of customer care and service. The food was, once again, up to the highest standards, using a wide variety of local produce, all cooked and presented immaculately.

You need to try their home baked bread, the pastries and biscuits cooked fresh each morning, and their wonderful dinner menu - the only problem sometimes was what to choose - it was all superb.

Superb grounds and range of rooms for a business event location - giving privacy and intimate feel.

  • Liked — Customer care, service and food
  • Disliked — Some of the rooms could do with upgrading of bathrooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    59
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
93
269
20
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Booked this weekend stay for my girlfiends birthday. We were looking for a hotel close to some of the more remote mountains that would also offer us good food and a homely atmosphere. The Coul House exceeded both. Exceptionally welcoming hotel with superb food and plenty of log fires around to enjoy a dram after a fantastic meal. Cant recommend this hotel enough for a weekends escape.

  • Liked — Friendliness and food
  • Disliked — Shower in the bathroom pretty poor
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

We stayed at this hotel a couple of days ago while working in Dingwall. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. We had telephoned earlier to advise we would be checking in quite late and she immediately asked if we would like some soup and sandwiches on arrival- superb!

We were welcomed into the amazing hotel with warming open fires, a quiet bar and Julia (receptionist) took great pride in showing us arround, telling us about the hotel and seeing to us in the bar. It was such a great relief to stay in a hotel that was like this. They also have a free hotspot that was a bit tempermental but a great addition should you need email etc.

Sadly we had arrived well after the restaurant was closed but managed to get a look at one of the most exciting and tempting menus i have seen in a long time! As the night progressed we even met the friendly, experienced and professional owner Stuart and he told us some more of the history of the hotel and some of his plans for the future.

Our twin room was very spacious and we had a fantastic view of the grounds and mountains the following morning. If anything the room was too warm on our arrival but the heating was easy to change and refreshing with a bit of fresh mountain air to cool it slightly before shutting the window tight. The only slight draw back to this hotel is the shower in the bathroom- it was very old, weak and a bit changeable in terms of temperature. Do not let this put you off, it was merely like visiting a friends place that is about to make changes in their bathroom- it was easy to cope with for a night. Plenty of shower gel, toiletries etc so not a bother. My colleague had a bath anyway and said it was great.

I have to say the absolute highlight of this trip was the breakfast. It made it even more painful to have not arrived in time for Supper the night previous. We were seated in the astounding music room with an amazing panorama view of the grounds and the mountains. Delicate tableware and settings were complimented with great crockery (sounds weird i know but seriously it was noticable even to a couple of blokes!). The breakfast menu was amazing with each dish/option individually named. My colleague had The Poacher- eggs and smoked salmon on toast and I had The Gamekeeper, basically a full breakfast but nothing like the nasty fry or greasy mess you get in most places. This was amazing, superb bacon perfectly cooked, fresh tomotoes, local haggis and black pudding, yellow yoked egg and a crispened potato scone. It was heavenly- i also noted that the toast that came in a basket before our main breakfast arrived, was freshly cut bread, nothing like the nasty whitebread i have some to expect. Of course there was the usual selection of cereals, porridge, fruit, yogurt and juices but i could resist the options on the menu and couldnt eat it all!

With gentle string-quartet playing in the background, the stunning food and beautiful view, it was the hardest thing to leave that morning and go to work. This place needs to be visited and it can only get better. I really cannot give it a higher score. Well done and i cant wait to visit again and not have to leave for work in the morning- instead head off into the hills and enjoy the place!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — the shower, but its getting fixed
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

Booked in for a night at this fantastic Hotel and enjoyed the tremendous hospitality and service of the staff.
Following a very long drive from England, this place was a very welcome haven with a terrific relaxing atmosphere.
We were made to feel very special by the personal service we enjoyed (not always apparant these days in many Hotels) The food was excellent after which, we enjoyed a very sound sleep in our lovely quiet room with mountain view.
All in all our experience was absolute bliss - we could not have asked for more, just a pity we couldnt stay for a few more nights, but we will be back!

  • Liked — The setting, warm welcome and excellent personal service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

Fantastic location, fantastic food and service we can not fault!
We were made very welcome on our 4 night stay.
Rooms were of good size with homely facilities.
The owner Stuart and the staff were exceptional.
We enjoyed every moment of our break.
The food was of a very high standard. Slightly expensive but well worth the cost! The many coal fires and large dining/ lounge rooms give the warm feeling you desire and dream of!
Lots of local walks, a great forest and amazing view points.
Also well worth visiting Loch Ness and Ben Nevis region which is close by!
To end it - Hogmanay was full of fun and laughter. We danced and ate and enjoyed the company of people who have travelled across counties and countries for the same New Years atmosphere.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a good map from Hotel of local area and go walking!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

A beautiful building, great hospitality and wonderful food. The owners have very exciting plans for this georgian hunting lodge with it's stunning octagonal dining room and we will definately be making a return trip to see it.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

We went with friends for two days and were delighted with ALL aspects of the hotel.It was warm and comfortable with log fires and excellent food.Plenty of information about the area as we wanted to do some interesting walks.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coul House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coul House Hotel

Address: Contin, Contin IV14 9ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Contin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coul House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian house built 1821 loving restored to create a warm and comfortable country house hotel. Log fires in each of the public rooms, stunning mountain views and lots of natural light. A unique octagonal shaped restaurant that offers an extensive a la carte menu including several vegetarian options however, it is the service that the staff provide that is the most memorable aspect of ones visit to Coul House genuinely warm, friendly and relaxed. Even your four legged friend is made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Coul House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coul Hotel Strathpeffer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coul House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.