We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tranquil Break in Applecross” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragged Acre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ragged Acre
Save
You added Ragged Acre to your Saves list
Creag Dearg, Culduie, Applecross, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Applecross B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Tranquil Break in Applecross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We were made very welcome by Janet who served us afternoon tea upon our arrival (with lovely chocolate cake!) The room and ensuite were very clean, warm and comfortable and had everything we needed. The fridge in the room was a nice touch too. Breakfasts were memorable occasions - Janet prepared delicious food and we enjoyed eating whilst gazing out onto the sheep and hills beyond. During our two night stay we ate at the Applecross Inn (evening and lunchtime) and the Walled Garden (in the evening). We had positive experiences of both. We would thoroughly recommend Ragged Acre to anybody wishing to stay in Applecross - you really get a sense of the surrounding countryside and warm hospitality.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
68
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We enjoyed three nights at Ragged Acre. Our room and bath were fresh and most pleasant, the food satisfying, and our host generous and kind. We had unexpected car trouble and she made calls around town to help us sort things out. We had plenty of privacy and enjoyed the quiet of being a bit 'out of town'. This area took my heart. In this small community people seem to look after one another and live in community. Dinners down the road are delicious and convivial. The landscape all around soothed my soul.

Room Tip: There is just one guest room to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Lived up to all previous reviews and would highly recommend it. Breakfast was as stunning as the welcome, we'll be back! (for longer next time, Janet!)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights during a week-long trip to the Highlands. This is quite possibly one of the best, if not THE best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. The welcome from Janet (and Lulu!) was warm and friendly. The bedroom was beautiful, spacious and tidy. The bathroom was modern and luxurious (with a great shower). Breakfasts were lovely and used locally-sourced and fresh ingredients. The homemade bread and biscuits were a lovely touch. Janet herself was full of useful information and helpful recommendations.

In particular, the location of the Ragged Acre is superb, a little way south of the Applecross Inn but with beautiful views and great for walks in the area. The sunsets from the cottage were amazing.

After two nights we came away feeling rested and refreshed. We'd both happily stay at Ragged Acre again and will be recommending it to any friends visiting the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Janet made us, feel so welcome from the moment we rang the door bell. The homemade cakes, homemade bread, choices for breakfast, and a lovely warm, clean ensuite room, sheer heaven and the location perfect. We were encouraged to walk over the mound and watch the seals sunbathing on the rocks. We could go back to the house anytime we wanted - the door was always open. It was the perfect place to stay and if we visit Applecross in the future, Culdie is the only place to stay for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed with Janet in April for a couple of nights and wished we could have stayed longer.Our ensuite room was warm, sparking clean, wonderfully comfortable and well equipped. Janet prepared a delicious, healthy breakfast and gave us different choices on both mornings. She shared her knowledge of the area and gave advice about where to walk and eat. The setting of the bungalow is idylllic and the beautiful sunny weather and stunning scenery made us feel we had arrived in a little corner of Paradise! A truly wonderful but all too short stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

What a fantastic, professionally run bed and breakfast/home from home this is! I arrived on a bleak November evening having come across the mountain through the mist to Culdie, near Applecross and to be welcomed by Janet with coffee and home made cakes-a truly warm and friendly start to my two night stay. The room was a wonderful haven from the cold with an excellent, comfy bed with plenty of cushions and pillows. Lovely touches include touch sensitive bedside lamps, a fridge with fresh milk, water and coffee, tea and biscuits/cake, plenty of storage space and all immaculately clean and tidy.
There is a digital tv, tasteful artwork on the walls, underfloor heating in the en-suite which also includes a mist free mirror and excellent power shower. I also noted that all the cleaning materials and air fresheners etc are eco-friendly. There is a range of interesting books provided along with copious amounts of maps and local guide books. Free wi-fi is also available. To top this you are provided with bathrobes and slippers-divine indulgence.
Particularly impressive was Janet taking the care to ensure I was ok with her wonderful family pets (dog and cat) before introducing them to me.
Breakfast is superb. It is served in the kitchen with excellent views to the surrounding countryside. There is an excellent choice of scrumptious, locally resourced food. Take the opportunity to have the Ragged Acre Muesli (made by Janet herself and recipe available).
On the first morning I had smoked haddock and poached eggs. On the second morning I 'went the whole hog'. I had a long journey home and used breakfast to see me through the day. What a spread- bacon,eggs,lovely sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, black pudding and fruit pudding-all done to perfection along with excellent coffee and toast. Janet is the perfect host- warm, welcoming, interested but always leaving time for yourself to enjoy the Ragged Acre facilities. I especially appreciated the open house nature of the house and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ragged Acre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Acre

Address: Creag Dearg, Culduie, Applecross, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ragged Acre Applecross, Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragged Acre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.