We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely time at the Applecross Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applecross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Applecross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applecross Inn
Save
You added Applecross Inn to your Saves list
Shore Street, Applecross IV54 8LR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Applecross B&B and Inns
giffnock
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely time at the Applecross Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

In October my husband and myself spent a lovely couple of days in Applecross. The Inn itself was lovely...a roaring coal fire was just right for the time of year. Food delicious and staff very friendly and chatty. When i asked what size of wine they served, the manager said there only is one size....and that's large !! Loved it. The bedrooms were small but very clean and breakfast first class.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    93
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
68
203
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week. The room was warm and tidy, a little on the small side but its an old building. Great bath and hot shower . The rooms have stunning views onto the Loch. A very friendly feeling from all the staff and nothing was too much trouble. Dined here everyday. Looked forward to breakfast every morning after a great sleep, freshly made and great selection. Dinner was the main event every night spending hours looking through the specials board. Really enjoyed my stay here and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent a week in the area and dined here many times - I think that between the four of us, we went through the entire menu! Everything so tasty ! The staff were so very friendly. Such a beautiful location. Thank you, Apple-cross Inn.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have eaten here a few times over the years and did so again while staying at a cottage near Applecross two weeks ago. The food is fresh and tasty, the portion of fish and chips was large enough to be filling but not too much which I thought was better. My husband had the scallops and rice which he thoroughly enjoyed. The service was excellent with Jude keeping an eye on it all and making sure we had drinks without being pushy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friendly, helpful people - our credit card wouldn't work which was highly embarrassing. My husband insisted on spending an hour in the bar sorting it out even though we had enough cash to pay. They were extremely calm about it - in inverse proportion to me who wanted to hit him - bringing us an unsolicited tray of coffee. We stayed a night in Applecross in a stone cottage down the road but had all our meals at the inn, half a lobster being the most memorable but the menu was really sophisticated and all meals delicious. We loved it. It was right on the water and a lovely village generally. Would return in a shot. With cash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecosse
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Jude and her Ist class team have got it pretty much spot on . The welcome is warm and genuine . The food and chefs are particularly good with a great menu to choose from .
Lovely cosy rooms overlooking the water and a wonderful breakfast .
The location is truly wonderful and as previous visits we had wonderful weather which even Jude cant guarantee we just seem to have been lucky .

The coffee is not the best funnily enough ??

Room Tip: they all face the front perhaps Room 1 but its not crucial
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'd heard so much about this place that I couldn't wait to visit. We went in early October as a present for my boyfriend's birthday. The place is breathtakingly beautiful. The drive there is phenomenal. The food is out of this world and the hospitality so very typically Scottish. This isn't just a place for the bucket list - this is a place to visit over and over. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applecross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecross Inn

Address: Shore Street, Applecross IV54 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Applecross
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Applecross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Applecross Hotel Applecross
Applecross Inn Scotland, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applecross Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.