We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been 3 times & planning our 4” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Isles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Summer Isles Hotel to your Saves list
Summer Isles Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Achilibuie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Have been 3 times & planning our 4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

A day has not past since our all to short stay that I have not thought about the sheer beauty peace & joy of our stay at The Summer Isles Hotel A little paradise, food out of this world. Service excellent & friendly. Room over looking the summer Isles breath taking I have started to plan next years visit . Thank you Alaister for you help & care Hope you find Brighton as lovely

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    57
    15
    13
    5
See reviews for
23
181
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Arrived in Achiltibuie after a long day's drive from Edinburgh in the pouring rain. The Summer Isles were invisible in the mist but we received a warm welcome from Alistair who was apologetic for the weather! he took us to our room in an annexe. Lovely room/bathroom. He showed us the menue for dinner that evening (£54 set menu) & asked if there was anything we didn't like. I didn't want the carpaccio of beef so he went off to find out what chef could do as alternative> he offered 2 choices. Food was very good and we went with wine selection to accompany each course: hake; carpaccio of beef (or selection of wild mushrooms for me); hand-dived scallops; pudding trolley and cheese trolley. All fabulous. I actually quite enjoyed the gathering in the lounge before dinner - everyone was so nice and were predominately from Edinburgh on our visit!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Beautifully situated, not too big and a wonderful place to escape to, the only downer was having to gather for dinner with the rest of the guests in the lounge area, before dining at the same time, 8pm.. Having said that, the food was out of this world - full marks to the chef, all the staff were friendly and very helpful. The scenery en route spectacular too!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I recently went on a north of scotland trip with my two children, which are under 5. We ate at the summer isles bar at lunchtime and evening, there is no childrens menu available but the chef was more than happy to do a childrens portion. The food was cooked to a very high standard and was delicious. It was reasonable priced considering the quality of the food and local produce. I would eat there again at a drop of a hat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Very unpleasant experience : we didn't stay there but went for coffee at 11am on a Sunday morning : after going into the main part of the hotel we were directed to the bar and told it was open for coffee, by someone who appeared to be the manager. We were told to go around (outside) and the bar did appear to be open with several very scruffy men drinking lager at 11am, only to be told by the equally scruffy barman that the bar was closed. When I queried this, saying we were told by the manager it was open the barman said they had no coffee ! In the end we had a good cup of coffee in the Piping Centre cafe just a little further down the road, where they also serve breakfast and lunch. The people in the Summer Isles Hotel did not bother to tell us this ! I would really not want to stay there after this experience (which is a shame because the main part of the hotel looked quite pleasant in a traditional Scottish house hotel style, though the bar seemed very downmarket), my recommendation is that there are several really good hotels in Lochinver.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

A beautiful place to arrive on a sunny day and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Gorgeous room and enormous bathroom. Bliss. Not a Scottish accent to be heard anywhere though - guests or staff - which seemed a shame. The menu was very meaty and so not good value for a veggie. Instead we had dinner in the bar which was perfectly nice, full of locals and much cheaper!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Having stayed (and eaten!) at the Summer Isles Hotel many times in the past, it was with some trepidation that we went back in the new era, since the departure of Mark and Gerry, and Bob and Mary. However, Duncan and Aurelie are a charming couple, the style and excellent hospitality are pretty much unchanged and, crucially, Chris is still cooking.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summer Isles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Isles Hotel

Address: Main Street | Achiltibuie, Achiltibuie IV26 2YG , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achiltibuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achiltibuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Isles Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originating in the 19th century as a fishing inn and crofters' bar, the hotel has been developed over the last 4 decades into an oasis of civilisation in one of the most remote and beautiful parts of Britain. Renowned for its fine food and wine, it is a destination for foodies as well as those who enjoy walking, climbing and exploring in exotic landscapes. There are 13 letting units ranging from simple log cabin rooms to a sophisticated cottage with 3 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summer Isles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Isles Achiltibuie
Hotel Summer Isles
Summer Isles Hotel Achiltibuie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Isles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.