We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Around Loch Ness

Around Loch Ness
Lower Knockchoilum, Whitebridge IV2 6UR, Scotland
+44 1456 486675
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Around Loch Ness is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to the Highlands of Scotland. You can walk in the footsteps of our ancestors, get up close to the rich natural heritage and history of the area, or simply relax and take in our spectacular scenery. The choice is yours. We offer tailor made and pre-planned day and half day tours for small intimate groups of up to 8 persons. Our knowledgeable and cheerful local guides will be happy to welcome you on board and share with you an experience you will never forget.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An awesome day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were actually referred to George by another company I contacted for a private tour guide. I found on his website that George offers ready made tours…along with custom-made tours…which was what we were looking for. From the very first minute to even now, George has been the most excellent travel professional I have ever dealt with. I contacted him to see if he was available for the date we needed and began an email conversation with him that hammered out all the details of our day with him. As we were unfamiliar with the area, he tailored a day for us from asking questions about our interests and what we wanted out of the tour. The itinerary he came up with was amazing…and we were excited about this tour long before we actually took it. We were NOT disappointed. We found George to be a perfectly charming gentleman with a biting sense of humor…and a wealth of knowledge about the Inverness area. He obviously loves the area and loves his job..it shows in everthing he says and does. By the second stop of our day, my husband said to me that even if the tour stopped right there, the money we spent would have been worth it…and we still had a good eight hours to go! George is an excellent driver, has a nice vehicle and has a head full of stories that he is happy to share. At no point in our entire day did we feel uninterested or bored. I wish I could give a higher rating than excellent…he is that good! You will not regret a day with George!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Around Loch Ness, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for a great review and I really appreciate your taking the time for this. I was so glad that you wanted to 'get off the beaten track' and to appreciate some of the natural interests of the area as well as its history. A little disappointed at the Falls of Foyers (where's that rain when you need it!) but overall the weather was kind to us on the day and the wildlife accommodating. I need to thank you also for providing the outstanding image of the month! Hope to see you again in the Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

George Polwarth operates excellent tailor-made tours from Invergordon. He is very knowledgeable, drives carefully, has a fine vehicle, and speaks clearly through a microphone so all passengers hear him well. Among over seventy guides we've had in many trips to Europe he ranks number 1 in every category, including reasonable prices!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Around Loch Ness, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record these very positive comments and I am glad you enjoyed your day out in the Highlands. Now we just need to work a bit on our weather. Hope to see you again. Best regards, George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“George is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

George Polwarth and his Around Loch Ness Tours is a fantastic way to see the Inverness region of Scotland. He is completely knowledgeable about the area around Loch Ness (we saw the city, Cawdor Castle, Clava Cairns & Culloden) and gives you excellent value for your money. Double or triple up with other travellers and your pound goes even further. His brand new VW van holds at least 7 passengers and George has many years experience as a professional driver.
He will customize your tour to your needs and there is no rushing around seeing things. He takes it at your speed.
10 in our books. JJ

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Around Loch Ness, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Many thanks for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your afternoon out with Around Loch Ness. Cawdor Castle is always a fantastic place to visit and its gardens a great place to chill out - and we were blessed with great weather. Hope to see you again in the Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Completely Enjoyable Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

George Polwarth was a very accomdating, knowledgeable tour host. He was very prompt for the morning of pick up at our B & B. We had a very full day of travel and cites on our schedule that day. George explained every point of interest thoroughly as we proceed on our travels, suggested other points of interest that we might wish to visit on another day or another time. He went out of his way to make certain that we viewed as much as we possibly could during the day that we spent with him. He stoped along the way as we requested in order to take photos. We were very fortunate to get him on short notice. We could not have asked for a better versed in Scotish history host, more accomodating tour guide, and excellent driver. We were an all adult family group of eight and we were seated very comfortably in his eight-passenger plus driver van. We all had a wonderful day with George in the Scotish Highlands.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Around Loch Ness, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your day out and hope you managed to get many great photographic images of the visit. Many thanks for taking the time to record these comments. Best regards, George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fabulous day with George to the Skye Highland games”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

George took our family of 8 adults to the highland games on the Isle of Skye and provided sightseeing stops along the way both coming and going from our bed and breakfast in Inverness. This was a fabulous way to see the Scottish countryside and experience the beauty of the Highlands and the Isle of Skye without fretting about driving ourselves! His large van easily accommodated 8 adult passengers and saved us from renting 2 cars and dealing with driving on the left side of the road. George is a wonderful guide - friendly, sincere, knowledgable on absolutely any topic - a well-seasoned traveller himself. I can't say enough good things about our entire experience. He went well above and beyond to make sure we had ample time to see and do everything I had planned and researched ahead of time. Don't give driving in highlands a second thought - save yourself the stress - just call George!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Around Loch Ness, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Many thanks for this great review and I am glad you enjoyed your day out. We were blessed with good weather which is always a plus when visiting the Island of Skye. I did manage to capture a few memories of the day on Facebook if interested. Hope to see you again in the Highlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Around Loch Ness also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Around Loch Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Around Loch Ness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.