We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing holiday I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildside Highland Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Highland Lodges
Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Most relaxing holiday I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Glenmorangie Lodge the location of the park and the lodge itself were just perfect. The fact there is no phone signal was a major bonus as work couldn't get in touch so got a proper break away.
The lodge has everything you would need so all the stuff we brought wasnt needed so we'll know for next time. They have thought of everything and even give you a wee welcome pack of essentials to get you started. We came up through Fort William and did a shopping there to stock up as the local shop at Foyers has limited stock but would cover any essentials needed.
We had my young daughter with us and she loved the hot tub, small park and going down to through stones at the river. There is a decent tv and wifi in the lodge which was good for chilling in the evening.
All in all this was one of the best breaks away I've had and we will definately be back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    16
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The lodge was beautifully appointed with everything in a home away from home you would need. The heating and insulation meant we never required log burner - a pity! There is a few brilliant walks around the area, in particular the walk over to Foyers and the canal walk from Fort Augustus. None of the lodges seems to overlook your neighbours and the wild/bird life watching was great (inc a woodpecker). As a quiet getaway we could not recommend highly enough.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I are just back from spending and idyllic week here. From the moment we stepped into our cabin we knew it was going to be just what we needed. We had booked last minute for the delayed second week of our honeymoon and we couldn't have wished for more. The lodge, Justine ( the owner) put us in was perfect, the hot tub was elevated on the decking and we overlooked the river and fabulous mountains. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the lodges are very clean and very well equipped. We loved it that much we are hoping to go back in April. It is for that 'get away from everything kind of break', you won't get a signal on your mobile but there is free wi fi which is great and you get a signal just up the road at the local hotel. Fort Augustus is only 9 miles away, it's a beautiful little village. You can catch boat trips round Loch Ness from here. Inverness is also about 30-40 mins drive away its good to get provisions here and stock up because once your here you wont want to leave the comfort of your lodge....or that hot tub!!! Thanks again to everyone at Wildside.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in the osprey (highland park) lodge, during feb half term with our two boys (9 &7) for a week and had an amazing holiday. All of these lodges are finished to a high standard, (we saw in a couple) and are very clean, with attention to the needs of holiday makers and families (well equipped kitchen, including flute glasses, pint glasses and plastic glasses for those relaxing nights under the stars in the hot tub)!! The location is idyllic too, with a beautiful river and amazing walks and wild life right on your doorstep! We have told all our friends and family that they would be hard pushed to find a better location and holiday base in the uk. We'd highly recommend it (although my husband wants to keep the place secret, he loved the escape from technology - no cellphone signal). Great history, and places of interest, not least the general wade bridge at the entrance, and the pub up the road with a pool table and good food, who don't mind children. There's heaps of good info on the area and ideas for walks etc, and the family who own the place gave us the warmest welcome, and pointed us in the right direction for seeing loads of red deer stags!!! Amazing!!! Thank you Jason, justine and family for a perfect break full of fabulous memories. In arnie's words:"we'll be back" !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were blown away with Wildside Highland Lodges. We booked the lodges to have a well-needed break, away from busy life and with stunning surroundings...and this is exactly what we got. Much of our ability to totally relax and enjoy our surroundings was down to the fabulous upkeep and presentation of the lodges.
We booked a Tomatin Lodge and got Pinemarten. It was spotlessly clean (much to my delight!) and they seemed to think of everything you could need! I've stayed in self-catering before where I've needed to bring my own tea towel and washing-up liquid, but Wildside provided more than the basics and plenty of crockery and glasses. We found it refreshing to stay somewhere where they seemed to really care about guests and where customer servuice was second to none.

There was free book and DVD rental and great advice on beautiful walks nearby. We would recommend going to view Lough Ness from Fort Augustus as this is a great view-point.

We really recuperated during our 7night stay and still miss the log-burner and delightful hot-tub!

Room Tip: Some of the lodges were very close to others so if you would like privacy then ask about the locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS,ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed in the Eagle Lodge and had a wonderful time .Lovely touches with the fresh flowers,biscuits,mini whisky and fresh milk on arrival .The cabin was lovely and cosy and very homely,loved the woodburner and hot tub .We loved the position of our lodge it was peaceful and private with great views.The Whitebridge hotel was very friendly,just a couple of minutes walk with nice food,it was a shame that on a couple of occasions there was only us two in there but i think this was because of the bad weather as it had been snowing. Went on a lovely walk to Foyers, although it took a little longer than it would normally because i was going so slow on the icy ground :-) . Travelled to Inverness, Fort Augustus,Aviemore and around the lochs.Unfortunately we had to return home a day early due to the bad weather where we live and I was gutted!...never mind ,we hope to return soon, thanks for a wonderful break x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 4th-11th January. We stayed in a Glenmorangie Lodge.

The setting of these lodges is perfect. You are truly out of reach, which is great if that is what you are looking for. We had no phone reception at all, although there is wi-fi.
The lodge was spotless when we arrived and of a very good size. It was cosy and traditional, but with modern appliances. They have found the perfect balance here.

Our trip was about getting away and relaxing and that's exactly what we did. We spent most nights relaxing in the hot tub gazing up at the stars. Even saw a couple of shooting stars.

The staff are helpful and friendly and always greet you with a smile and a 'hello'. They are present on the park and are there if you need them.

We had a truly wonderful break and we will definitely return to these lodges.

Best wishes to all.

Ashley and JD

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildside Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Highland Lodges

Address: Whitebridge IV2 6UN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Whitebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Whitebridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildside is a small private holiday park of 16 self catering Lodges and log cabins set along a wooded bank of the River Fechlin that flows into Loch Ness at Foyers on the quiet and beautiful South side of Loch Ness, a scenic gem in the Scottish Highlands. Graded excellent, 4 star quality, by Visit Scotland. Located in the hamlet of Whitebridge off a picturesque B road 3 miles from Loch Ness, 9 miles from Fort Augustus and 24 miles from Inverness, the Highland capital, with excellent road, rail and air links. 200 metres from Wildside Highland Lodges is a country pub serving delicious meals. Information packs in the lodges suggest a variety of places to eat out in the area. Wildside is a great place to escape life, it appeals to those who appreciate a haven of peace and tranquility in a wild and natural setting, rich in wildlife, which is yours to enjoy. Wildside offers a choice of seven categories of lodge accommodating from 1-6 people. The Riverside Lodges are all situated along the river and enjoy private lawns to the riverbank. The spacious One Bedroom Lodges are ideal for couples, situated in the centre of the grounds and are set well apart in large lawns. Guests can wander on the paths to the water’s edge where there is a small beach, popular for barbecues, or a picnic on the riverbank. Our luxury Three Bedroom Log Cabins have open views to the mountains and are situated on the fringe of the holiday park in their own private grounds. All our lodges enjoy magnificent river or mountain views through large picture windows. We make pets welcome 2 per lodge in the riverside lodges and one small breed dog per lodge in the three bed and Hot Tub Lodges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildside Highland Hotel Whitebridge
Wildside Highland Lodges Whitebridge, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildside Highland Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wildside Highland Lodges to your Saves list