We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food just not enough of it for the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmoriston Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glenmoriston Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Main Street, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food just not enough of it for the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We never stayed over just had a meal, the food and service were Good but for an active 15 stone adult man the portions were a bit skimpy and even after a pudding and some of my Mrs left overs I was still hungry!

Room Tip: We never stayed over just had a meal, the food and service were Good but for an active 15 stone man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    20
    16
    14
See reviews for
29
119
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

good sized room, comfortably furnished and with good bathroom, free parking on site, very good service, internet not particularly reliable (seemed to be weak signal strength unless in common room downstairs), free on site parking

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here one Friday night in August after visiting Loch Ness. We are both glad we did - it is a lovely little pub with accommodation and the food is great. Thanks to Trip Advisor as we went solely off the reviews.

At 94.50 for the two of us this is great value. The room we had was not in the main part of the hotel but off to one side in a block of 3 rooms which may have been stables or such. A King sized bed, brand new bathroom and all new fittings were a delight. The bathroom had a proper shower; after days of showers in baths this was great to have. Amenities included nice soap, gels and products and the bathroom also had cotton wool balls.

The bed was a King with a selection of pillows. Tea making facilities included along with a iron and board.

Whilst we had the room on the end, the road was barely used after about 9pm and sleep was good and deep. The room next door did transmit a fair amount of noise form their bathroom, but once they had finished we heard no more.
Only complaint about the room is it is a bit light, as one of the windows does not have a curtain; but this is a minor point.
Breakfast the next morning was good too. A selection of cereals with yoghurt and fruit and then the choice of numerous hot options. The girl attending the room was pleasant and efficient. The meal was not large but it was well cooked and not greasy and heavy.

I would certainly recommend this pub to anyone who does not want to be in the busy commercial part of Loch Ness. Small enough to show caring but big enough to sit in the lounge or the bar and not be disturbed. Wifi only worked in the main building but that just meant we sat in the lounge when needing internet.

I'd stay here again in an instant and recommend it totally. Plenty of interesting history spots within 10 minutes walk to satisfy the curious. The Invermoriston falls and right next door, a very old bridge and St Columbus well are all attractions we didn't find when looking at the area. Well worth the early morning walk to see and explore.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a long walk we needed food, but this is a hotel menu that promises to be great and doesn't deliver. In particular the Cullen Skink had been made with ingredients thrown together at the last minute, fish in (slightly off) cream. Not properly done at all. The rest of the meal was edible for the hungry: Small portions and tired salad.
There is no competition in the village, or this place would be long closed. If you need to eat out in Invermorriston then bring your camping stove.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Arriving on foot to stay at a nearby B&B, we stopped in here for a quick drink after our walk from South Laggan. Nice pub and staff so we chose this for a meal as it was within walking distance from our accommodation. As we were walkers and not dressed for a restaurant we chose to opt for a meal in the bar. The bar is small, quaint and clean and the window seats offered wonderful views. Surprisingly it's the same menu and prices for both the bar and the restaurant. Prices seemed reasonable for a restaurant but maybe not so for a bar meal. Staff were all very friendly and service was quick and good. The sea bass was delicious as was the minute steak ciabatta and although both were beautifully presented, the portions were on the small size. As we didn't want a big meal on this occasion it was not a problem for us but on another day it might have been! All in all it was a nice experience and we enjoyed our evening here so would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. We were in a twin standard room and although small was very comfortable. The staff were all outstanding and the food excellent although on Sundays and Mondays there is a limited menu. Would recommend this small hotel to anyone travelling around the highlands of Scotland. I had a wonderful massage by a local person who comes to the hotel. A room has been set aside for her use and would also recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to relax after a cruise, our room was in new block, very comfortable , clean and a super power shower.would certainly recommend to friends. Great base for touring Skye, Glencoe and Caledonian Canal

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenmoriston Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Invermoriston IV63 7YA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Invermoriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Invermoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel located in the Scottish Highlands by Loch Ness, on the road to the Isle of Skye. Perfectly placed to base yourself whilst touring the Highlands. This charming old Hotel, has 7 traditionally furnished bedrooms within the main building and 3 more contemporary styled external bedrooms. There is also an in-house therapeutic massage room with treatments by appointment. The Moriston Bar and restaurant delivers quality Scottish fayre, locally sourced wherever possible, and an extensive range of over 100 single malt whiskies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glenmoriston Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Arms Invermoriston
Hotel Glenmoriston Arms
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel Invermoriston, Scotland - Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmoriston Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.